Safale US-05 Ale Dry Yeast

SKU: Y014
Rating
113 Review(s)

A dried American Ale strain with fermentation properties resembling that of Wyeast 1056 (American Ale) or White Labs WLP001 (California Ale). Produces well-balanced beers with low diacetyl and a very clean, crisp palate. Sedimentation is low to medium, and final gravity is medium. Optimum temp: 59°-75° F

Pic of Y014

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 113 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 12
Best ale/IPA yeast! Review by Todd
Rating
I love this yeast! It works great on a wide variety of beers. This is my go to yeast. I brew mainly pale ales and IPA'S. (Posted on 5/31/14)
Works Well Review by Uncle Jimmy
Rating
Thought I would try dry yeast after using liquid for so long and seeing good reviews here. I used it for a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale clone (same strain). Hydrated according to Safale. Fermentation started fast (activity within a few hours, full tilt in 24) and progressed quickly. On day 4, it started to slow down a bit. This was my first time adjusting water and I think it really helped. It smelled good but not quite as good as liquid of same strain - this has a more pungent aroma coming from the airlock. The fermentation looked to be cleaner than any I have seen - nice bright almost white colored krausen on the top. I will be using this again. So much less expensive and easier to deal with than liquid. (Posted on 1/23/14)
Works as expected Review by Trevor
Rating
Everything worked as expected. (Posted on 1/18/14)
worked every time Review by Timothy
Rating
Good yeast did two batches at the same, showed different activity each carboy, but both batches turned out fine. (Posted on 1/15/14)
said earlier, it just works Review by Karl
Rating
this yeast has given me no problems. I consider my self a NOOB. This is my 7 batch and I have not had a problem yet. (Posted on 1/13/14)
Great all purpose yeast Review by Paul
Rating
I use this yeast for everything. Amazing in IPAs because it doesn't mute the hop character. Very clean and neutral. Always should keep some on hand. (Posted on 1/12/14)
Good stuff Review by David
Rating
Use this all the time and it works, no issues.
I bought this because I brewed a bourbon barrel so I added a extra pack of yeast. (Posted on 1/12/14)
Excellent Review by Chris
Rating
I'm in central Florida so even the winter months can be challenging keeping ambient temperatures in the range for various yeast strains. I used this yeast for a batch of Dead Ringer that I brewed 12-23-13 and have been thoroughly impressed. I'm one week in the secondary carboy and I still have some sparatic bubbling in the airlock. (Posted on 1/9/14)
Yeast Review by J
Rating
So far so good on this yeast. Still a few days away from bottling day! (Posted on 1/8/14)
Good so far Review by BJ
Rating
So far so good. Fermentation has begun, and the yeast is doing its job. I can't wait for bottling day. (Posted on 1/3/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 113 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 12

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register