Safale US-05 Ale Dry Yeast

SKU: Y014
Rating
115 Review(s)

A dried American Ale strain with fermentation properties resembling that of Wyeast 1056 (American Ale) or White Labs WLP001 (California Ale). Produces well-balanced beers with low diacetyl and a very clean, crisp palate. Sedimentation is low to medium, and final gravity is medium. Optimum temp: 59°-75° F

Pic of Y014

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 115 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 12
Great all purpose yeast Review by Rod
Rating
This has been my "go to" yeast for the past couple years. It ferments cleanly in the low to mid 60 degree range and makes a great tasting beer with no fuss. Just dump it in and it does the job.

Having said that, the price has crept up to where it's getting harder to choose it over a liquid yeast. I will likely keep a packet in the fridge as an insurance policy but am planning to use more liquid yeasts in the future. (Posted on 4/21/15)
Solid safe yeast for ales Review by Rob
Rating
So far I've only used it in one brew, but it was my first home brew and it helps me take second prize in a small local competition. I was able to get approx. 76% apparent attenuation (OG 1.052 vs. FG 1.012) having done nothing more complex than a straight dump pitch at 72°F (no rehydration, no starter). We used it in a red ale (the West Coast Radical Red kit here). Nice balanced flavor with low diacetyl and some light caramel notes. I will definitely use this again. (Posted on 11/26/14)
Best ale/IPA yeast! Review by Todd
Rating
I love this yeast! It works great on a wide variety of beers. This is my go to yeast. I brew mainly pale ales and IPA'S. (Posted on 5/31/14)
Works Well Review by Uncle Jimmy
Rating
Thought I would try dry yeast after using liquid for so long and seeing good reviews here. I used it for a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale clone (same strain). Hydrated according to Safale. Fermentation started fast (activity within a few hours, full tilt in 24) and progressed quickly. On day 4, it started to slow down a bit. This was my first time adjusting water and I think it really helped. It smelled good but not quite as good as liquid of same strain - this has a more pungent aroma coming from the airlock. The fermentation looked to be cleaner than any I have seen - nice bright almost white colored krausen on the top. I will be using this again. So much less expensive and easier to deal with than liquid. (Posted on 1/23/14)
Works as expected Review by Trevor
Rating
Everything worked as expected. (Posted on 1/18/14)
worked every time Review by Timothy
Rating
Good yeast did two batches at the same, showed different activity each carboy, but both batches turned out fine. (Posted on 1/15/14)
said earlier, it just works Review by Karl
Rating
this yeast has given me no problems. I consider my self a NOOB. This is my 7 batch and I have not had a problem yet. (Posted on 1/13/14)
Great all purpose yeast Review by Paul
Rating
I use this yeast for everything. Amazing in IPAs because it doesn't mute the hop character. Very clean and neutral. Always should keep some on hand. (Posted on 1/12/14)
Good stuff Review by David
Rating
Use this all the time and it works, no issues.
I bought this because I brewed a bourbon barrel so I added a extra pack of yeast. (Posted on 1/12/14)
Excellent Review by Chris
Rating
I'm in central Florida so even the winter months can be challenging keeping ambient temperatures in the range for various yeast strains. I used this yeast for a batch of Dead Ringer that I brewed 12-23-13 and have been thoroughly impressed. I'm one week in the secondary carboy and I still have some sparatic bubbling in the airlock. (Posted on 1/9/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 115 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 12

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register