Therminator

SKU: 7516
Rating
26 Review(s)

The Therminator is a stainless steel plate-type wort chiller, a miniature version of the plate chillers that the pros use. It is, unquestionably, the fastest way to chill your wort to yeast pitching temperature. The Therminator can chill 10 gallons of boiling wort to pitching temperature within 5 minutes when using 58°F cooling water at 5 gpm. This super-efficient chiller uses less water than any other chiller on the market, and is especially great for brewers in southern climates! The plates and fittings are all 316 stainless steel; they have been brazed together with pure copper in an oxygen-free furnace. There is no potential for leaking, as in a gasketed unit. The fittings for the water are garden hose threads, and the wort side uses 1/2" male NPT fittings. This chiller has tremendously low restriction, making it ideal for gravity feed (no pumps required).

The Therminator™ Plate Chiller from Blichmann Engineering

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 26 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Would give Therminator 6 stars if category existed... Review by Curtis
Rating
Used the Therminator with ice-water and gravity feed and
the thing is an absolute animal! 10.5 gallons Boiling to 64 degrees in 15 minutes total. Went from immersion chiller (1.5hrs to get to 85 degrees) and an inferior plate chiller (45 minutes + to get to 78). Well worth the cost, especially when factoring in water use and time saved. (Posted on 12/1/14)
Outstanding Buy Review by JolietHomeBrew
Rating
This product is outstanding. My cooling water temperature is currently at about 44 degrees F. This plate cooler took 5 gallons of hot wort at about 215 degrees down to 68 in one pass (using a pump) in about one and a half minutes. I was pitching yeast within 4 minutes after I finished the boil. Great Product!! (Posted on 3/27/14)
100% worth every penny Review by neil buchelt
Rating
With an outside temp of 40, I cooled down 10 gallons of wort in less then five minutes with wort valve wide open (gravity fed) and water pressure less then 40% to 68, pitching temp. Easy to clean and sanitize. Highly recommended. (Posted on 12/5/13)
Works perfect Review by Edwin
Rating
I was pretty amazed at how awesome this chiller worked compared to my counter flow chiller. We took the wort from boiling to 70 degrees using 68 degree water. Wow!! (Posted on 12/2/13)
Works Great Review by James
Rating
Best wort chiller on the market hands down. (Posted on 11/26/13)
Awesome Chiller, Super Efficient Review by Comrock12
Rating
This past weekend was the first time I fired up my new steelhead pump and Therminator from Blichmann and I was impressed. I was able to bring 10 gallon batches of wort from boil to ~70 degrees using 55 degree groundwater in a single pass, which probably took 6-7 minutes. No more getting angry over my previous immersion chiller taking 20-30 minutes to cool wort down, limiting my turnaround on batches. A group of us brewed 60 gallons together, and all used this chiller, and the time it took to chill, back flush and clean then get ready to chill another batch was quicker than it used up tale my old immersion chiller to cool a single batch. Wish I had pulled the trigger on this sooner! (Posted on 11/6/13)
Amazing! Review by Alton
Rating
Worth every penny. It was taking me 1-2 hours to chill my wort to pitching temp using an immersion chiller. I'm going from boiling to 62 degrees in like 15 min with this thing! I fill an ice chest with water and ice - i have a sump pump in there that pumps cold water into my therminator - hot water comes out the other end - i direct that into my now defunct immersion chiller which is sitting in a bucket filled with ice - the water comes out of the immersion chiller at about room temp and is directed back into the cooler with the sump pump in it. I'm using less than 10 gallons of water to chill my beer in about 15 min. Sump pump was $30 - old garden hose (free) - couple hose fittings $10. (Posted on 10/21/13)
Water and Time saver Review by Colin
Rating
My friend bought a Steelhead Pump recently. I also bought the Therminator plate chiller. My friend suggested the quick connectors between the kettle, pump, and Therminator.

The quick connectors are a huge help. It cuts down on the time and trouble to start a whirlpool in the kettle, switching back over to the Therminator and back flushing the Therminator.

Using a 15 gallon kettle and 10 gallons or wort, I have been able to bring the 10 gallons into two 6 gallon carboys at 70 degrees in 20 minutes. Using garden hose tempature (~60 degrees). This has been a constant time measurement over my last three batches.

In the past it would have taken me over 50 minutes or more and much more water in the copper coil wort chiller.

One interesting thing I have to fix/adjust is to develop a method to push out the remaining work in the Therminator and hoses/pump. If i cut off the wort to the carboys when I lose volume in my kettle to the Steelhead pump (losing the priming in the hose to the pump - and then possibly burning it out) I have 1/2 a gallon or more of wort in the hose and Therminator. I'll more than likely disconnect from the kettle, prime the hose, and flush clean water behind the wort to get those last drops. (Posted on 10/18/13)
Better than advertised Review by Thomas
Rating
Count me among the satisfied. I chilled my wort from over 200 degrees F to 68 degrees in under five minutes with hose/tap water. Shortened my brewing time considerably, along with reducing the risk of infection from swirling around an immersion chiller.

The only downside is that it adds to your cleanup time (backflush, soak in PBW and rinse), but definitely worth it. (Posted on 10/2/13)
Fantastic Review by Gil
Rating
In just minutes I was able to take 16 gallons of boiling wort down to 50F by pumping ice-water through my Therminator. No other device will do this for you! It's a great device! (Posted on 9/15/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 26 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register