British Bitter Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1000
Rating
33 Review(s)
Don't be misled by the name; British bitters are actually well-balanced beers, with a moderate amount of bitterness and a blend of floral hop aromas and flavor paired with fruity, sweet character from English malt and yeast. This kit is low in gravity, making it a great session beer. For an extra touch of authenticity, serve at cellar temperature (about 55° F) in Imperial pint glasses.

Pic of U1000

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Classic Review by Kyle
Rating
If you're looking for the latest, hippest, hop-explosion American craft brew----this ain't it. If you want a nice, simple, classic English session ale, this is your kit. Holy cow, I don't know what happened when I was making this. I got this kit in the early spring, but didn't have time to make it and was going to wait until fall, but then we got a stretch of low 70's weather this August, so I brewed it. Maybe it was that Danstar Windsor yeast, but I pitched the yeast when the wort was in the low 70's, and the whole thing pretty much fermented out in 48 hours! I left it in the primary for another three days, then bottled it. Five days bottle conditioning, stuck them in the fridge---awesome! So ten days from brewing to drinking---that's a new record for me. Like a lot of low gravity session ales, it seemed kind of thin when I bottled it, but that wasn't so noticeable after some conditioning. Great kit if you're looking for a simple, classic, easy-to-brew bitter. (Posted on 8/31/14)
Good session beer Review by Linden
Rating
Easy brew well balanced low gravity with a hint of bitterness at the finish. Used the Wyeast 1945 NeoBritannia yeast 2.5 weeks primary, 2 weeks bottle conditioning and it was ready to go. If your looking for a session beer this is a very good option.
(Posted on 3/2/14)
quick and easy Review by Booms
Rating
This is a very simple "lawnmower" beer that goes down smooth and easy. Looking forward to doing this one again for the summer. (Posted on 2/2/14)
Good session beer Review by Robert
Rating
I really enjoyed this beer, but could of used a bit more alcohol. Hop flavor was pretty subtle, but good. Would recommend doing full volume boil if your equipment permits to get as much flavor out of this kit. (Posted on 11/15/13)
Easy and excellent Review by Ryan
Rating
This was my second homebrew attempt and I'm frankly puzzled at how quickly the beer was ready.

One week in the primary
Chilled overnight in a walk-in fridge
Three days in the secondary (with gelatin for clarity)
One week in bottles

It's fully carbonated and delicious, the only surprise is the yeast in the bottle is very white/flaky, so I need to be careful when pouring.

I tend to agree that a wee bit more hop at the end of each sip would be nice, but I understand that's not this beer. (Posted on 9/13/13)
It tastes like a better Budweiser Review by Robert
Rating
Though I did add 2 extras:
English Maris Otter Malt - 1 lb. crushed (seeped 45 min)
1/3 cup of corn sugar

2 weeks in the primary and 2 weeks bottle conditioning

This taste test comes in at the early stages of the brew so I am thinking it can only get better from here BUT its off to a good start! (Posted on 7/13/13)
Special Session Beer Review by Locust Avenue Brew Works
Rating
I brewed this ale on 1/26/13 and kegged on 2/19. This is the third time I have brewed this (very good the first two times), but I think the Maris Otter extract really makes a big difference. English ales are my favorite beer style of beer, and this is excellent.

Not too bitter, not too malty, this is a really good beer if you are looking to have one (or a few) simply to enjoy a beer.

Now I'm probable going to catch some grief for this, but I always like to get my wife to sample the beer that I brew (she is definitely not a beer lover). There have been some that she thought were OK, a couple that she disliked, but her usual response is "Tastes like beer". This is one that she really liked, saying this is one she could easily drink on a warm summer day. To me, this says a lot about the quality of the recipe and product. (Posted on 2/22/13)
very good low gravity beer Review by Dan
Rating
This beer is everything it was sold as. Does not need any tinkering with it is well balanced as described. If you need more hops there are others available to fulfill that need.
I will be keeping this kegged all the time with a hoppier beer in another keg. Nice to change off.
I bought into the buy one get one free keg deal at christmas and was the best move I have made so far, makes this a lot more fun with only a few days to carb instead of weeks !! (Posted on 1/24/13)
Very good. Review by Rick - JC,MO
Rating
Tried this one as my first homebrew. Easy to make, no drama during fermentation w/Danstar Nottingham yeast. Primed and bottle conditioned for 3+ weeks. Easy drinking, crisp, malty, this should be perfect during the summer or while watching all 3 games on Sunday. I just got another kit in yesterday, I intend to keep this one around at all times. You can put a few of these away without upsetting SWMBO. (Posted on 12/13/12)
good beer but great with a little tweak Review by Blaine
Rating
Fantastic recipe and the NeoBrittania yeast really ferments vigorously! I added another 3lbs of LME at flameout and a half ounce each of UK Northdown hops at 45 minutes and 30 minutes. A nice session beer that was an easy drinker. Clean with some nice bitterness. Made for a nice 5% final product. The extra hops gave it some nice flavor to balance the bitterness. (Posted on 9/26/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register