British Bitter Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1000
Rating
32 Review(s)
Don't be misled by the name; British bitters are actually well-balanced beers, with a moderate amount of bitterness and a blend of floral hop aromas and flavor paired with fruity, sweet character from English malt and yeast. This kit is low in gravity, making it a great session beer. For an extra touch of authenticity, serve at cellar temperature (about 55° F) in Imperial pint glasses.

Pic of U1000

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Great session brew Review by scott in Michigan
Rating
Brewed this beer left in primary for 2 weeks two the day FG was 1.010. fermented at 64degrees and gave it a two day rest at 72. Kegged it and was drinking it two days later. Now its off to the wedding reception for the guest. Have to say good beer lots of hoppy bitterness but a bit thin in the mouth I would order some Malto dextrin to fix this. Still a great clean beer (Posted on 6/15/12)
Not quite there Review by Sean
Rating
While good, I think this one needs a little more. A little more DME or LME and a little more hop aroma and it would be a much better beer. (Posted on 6/3/12)
Great Session Beer. Lacks Hop Character Review by Thomas M.
Rating
This is a very easy brew and a perfect session beer. However it lacks some of the floral notes from the yeast (probably due to my mid range ferm temp). This recipe also lacks a noticeable hop nose. This would really shine with some dry hopping to pull out that aroma. Another pound or two or LME or DME would also bring the mouthfeel up just a tad to match it's lineage. (Posted on 5/15/12)
Exactly as described!! Review by Brian
Rating
This was my 4th batch. After brewing 3 bigger beers I decided to try a lighter beer for friends and family. This one fit the exact bill for what I was looking for. Everyone loves it. 1 week primary, 1 week secondary for clarity, force carbonated in keg for 3 days and it was ready. 2.5 weeks tops! A good beer to try if you are new and have no patience!!!! Enjoy it! (Posted on 4/3/12)
Easy, fast, perhaps a bit bland. Review by n8
Rating
This was drinkable quick and got clearly better with just an extra week in the bottle. Nice clarity and color. The fruity/yeasty character came through in the flavor, but not the hop contribution advertised. For my taste I'd go with another half ounce of hops early and late to balance the sweetness of this beer contribute some noticeable aroma. (Posted on 3/23/12)
Quick, Easy, so good Review by RyanL
Rating
This was a simple recipe that can get you two cases of beer in a couple of weeks. Incredibly easy to drink and your friends will love it. But remember, it's very low gravity, you aren't going to get a ton of flavor. (Posted on 3/1/12)
Smooth & Tasty Review by Keegster
Rating
This is the first 5 gallon extract batch that I have brewed so far. I bought an oat stout kit, and decided that I wanted to do a lighter, session-able beer as well. Upon first taste around two weeks after bottling, I was surprised how smooth this beer was and how drinkable it was even at cellar temperature, as I just pulled a bottle from my basement to check the carbonation status. It has subtle hints of caramel and a nice dry finish. I shared it with friends who liked it and even converted a
coworker back to home-brew after he had a bad previous experience. After exploring some other session beer kits to try, I will definitely be coming back to this one. (Posted on 12/19/11)
Fantastic English Bitter Review by Mickey
Rating
First let me say I am happy so many are home brewing, that said I wish they would educate themselves a little more on styles of beer before they brew them. This is a fantastic English Bitter, I used date a girl from England and have been there about 15 times, so I consider myself pretty knowledgeable on Bitters, This is it! Great Job and Great Price, way to go NB (Posted on 7/7/11)
Really good small beer Review by Pooter
Rating
This was the third batch I've brewed; always been curious about the style, and the lower a.b.v. don't ship well or get exported, so perfect for home brew. This has a nice, classically hopped taste (i.e. not bitter by newer American standards) and a lot of depth in both taste and smell. Everyone I have given this to has really liked it. Mine came in at a lower O.G. than the recipe, I think I was too conservative about trying to keep the sediment out of the carboy. Great beer, will do again! (Posted on 7/3/11)
An Authentic English Bitter Review by LeesburgHomeBrew
Rating
This was only my third home brew, and it's the best so far. This beer is much closer to what you would taste in a traditional English pub than any bottled English bitter I've ever had. (I have had fresh cask conditioned English bitter from a local brew pub that is also dead on). My wife also loves this beer. I highly recommend this! (Posted on 6/19/11)

Items 11 to 20 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register