British Bitter Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1000
Rating
33 Review(s)
Don't be misled by the name; British bitters are actually well-balanced beers, with a moderate amount of bitterness and a blend of floral hop aromas and flavor paired with fruity, sweet character from English malt and yeast. This kit is low in gravity, making it a great session beer. For an extra touch of authenticity, serve at cellar temperature (about 55° F) in Imperial pint glasses.

Pic of U1000

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
An Authentic English Bitter Review by LeesburgHomeBrew
Rating
This was only my third home brew, and it's the best so far. This beer is much closer to what you would taste in a traditional English pub than any bottled English bitter I've ever had. (I have had fresh cask conditioned English bitter from a local brew pub that is also dead on). My wife also loves this beer. I highly recommend this! (Posted on 6/19/11)
Product Description: Don't be misled by the name; British bitters are actually well-balanced beers, Review by Nick
Rating
It amazes me that people have difficulty reading the product description. Bitter is an English term for pale ale. This kit is very true to the style of a British Bitter. Highly recommend this for anyone new to home brewing. Planing on making this again. (Posted on 5/25/11)
Fantastic Session Beer Review by Ashley
Rating
I believe this fits the English Bitter Style Guidelines perfectly. It has been very popular with my friends as well. I would brew this again, just to have to drink on a hot summer day. (Posted on 5/23/11)
the bitter was missing Review by Abandon dog brewing
Rating
a very light beer but the bitter was not there. i liked it but was ready to have a good british bitter but this wasn't it. was more amber then blonde. not bad but will not make this one again. (Posted on 5/11/11)
Best way to end a workday beer Review by Bry6140
Rating
You all are reading way to much into the name of this beer just because it has bitter in the name doesn't mean bitter. This quite possibly the most ballanced beer I have had in a long time this beer will be in regular rotation at my house bar!
It has got to be the best way to end a work day a very refreshing thirst quenching beer nothing exotic a just a real working mans beer. Easy to produce and even easier to drink so be ready it will be gone before you know it so order extra.

(Posted on 2/12/11)
Easy to Drink Crisp Beer Review by Mickey
Rating
This is a very goos everyday beer, very easy to drink crisp, fresh and floral I do not find it at all bitter as some have noted. i brewed it just as instructed, I will definately brew this one again. Do not agree with the low budget comment, you have to understand what you are brewing. This beer is everything it claims. (Posted on 1/16/11)
overall a light finish Review by Jimgobrew
Rating
I found it to be a pretty light beer and the bittering hops did not come through like I hoped. I give it 4 pints because my wife loves it. It's not what I call my domestic compensation ale. (Posted on 1/6/11)
Lawnmower or aged, it's a wonderful first beer. Review by GoodShelter
Rating
This was my first solo brew after a friend hooked me up with the equipment.

Following the instructions to the letter, like a nervous school-boy, the beer after two weeks in bottle was very light as other reviewers state--but had a lovely crispness that I fear is too often written off as being "lawnmower-esque".

The two cases only lasted about four weeks between my wife and I--but the over-all quality, head, nose and maturity of flavors had markedly improved by the end.

In conclusion I wish I had had the will power to save a few bottles and see what developed over a month or two.

I liked British Bitters enough to make it the fourth batch I ever brewed--in the bottles in the closet now. This time it will sit for four weeks before being cracked into and four bottles are being set aside for a minimum of four months. I'll report back on that.

Also fellas note above, my wife--not the biggest beer drinker--really enjoyed this brew.

Cheers and beers--
(Posted on 12/20/10)
Disappointing -- Tastes Cheap Review by Bob
Rating
I wasn't happy with this beer, at all; it tastes low-budget. There's nothing actively bad about it, but the only good thing I can say about it is that it quenches thirst. It had virtually no malty flavor, just a touch of bitterness and a mild hop aftertaste -- basically like old water. It might be nice for a day out in the boat, but there's nothing in it that gets me excited.

This is the first NB kit that I've been disappointed with, so maybe it's just not my thing, but I definitely will not be making this again. (Posted on 9/20/10)
Great First Brew & Excellent Beer!!! Review by Juice
Rating
I received the British Bitter kit along with my starter brewing kit for my anniversary this year. My wife had seen all of the reviews about the flavor and ease of producing it and thought it would be a great first brew for us. She was right! It is great! We decided to try a few two weeks after bottling and thought we'd follow the recommendations of the reviews and let the rest age for a bit before drinking. That didn't happen. We drank it down quickly, sharing with friends and family along the way. They've all loved it as well and I'm ordering another British Bitter kit today! (Posted on 9/19/10)

Items 21 to 30 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register