Extra Special Bitter Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1020
Rating
21 Review(s)
Think of this as a British Bitter squared - more malt and more hops equals higher gravity, bigger body, more bitterness, and more intense flavors and aromas. A more complex beer than an "ordinary" low-gravity bitter, an ESB is a showcase for high-quality hops and brewing skill, meant to be enjoyed with consideration rather than merely quaffed. Our kit pours with a rich red color and white head and pronounced aromas of hop and fruit.

Pic of U1020

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 21 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Great beer that seems to please everyone. Review by Thaddeus Michael
Rating
Tasted upon racking to secondary and can't wait for the final product! Already tastes good. I'm not a huge fan of the style, but then again commercial ESB's are all I've ever had. When I tried my friend's ESB from NB I had to brew it!! Him and I did an order together and this is one of the two kits I ordered. Hit the OG right on the money. (Posted on 1/17/14)
Good ESB Review by Leland
Rating
Turned out pretty decent. I'd recommend keeping the fermentation temps at the low end of the allowance. Mine was around 66 and finished with more fruity esters than desired. Still a tasty beer. (Posted on 11/19/13)
We loved this recipe. Review by Steve836
Rating
Brewed this recipe this August (my second solo homebrew), and served most of it this month at my son's wedding party. Needless to say, it was just about all gone during the first two hours. Will order this one again. (Posted on 10/1/13)
Awesome Review by Thomas
Rating
I'm not sure what I did, but I ended up with an OG of 1.071. The FG ended up at 1.011. I ended up with an incredible ESB with an elevated Abv, with a delightful aroma of banana bread. This kit is next in line to be made again to see what I end up with....either way it's a win..win for me! (Posted on 9/24/13)
Great ESB Review by Washoe
Rating
Great brew kit! I bumped it up to a 5 gal boil and it turned out great a little darker then expected but all around great beer. I didn't use a clearing product and it came out a little cloud but no effect on the taste. Fermented at around 68F for 1 week in primary then racked to a secondary for 2 weeks OG 1.051 Kegged at FG 1.015. (Posted on 9/23/13)
great beer Review by Barry
Rating
My first from NB and first bitter.Used dry 04. Great flavorful beer.Nice mild hop bite and a nutty toast like malt flavor.Can drink this anytime.Also,thanks for your veterans discount.Over my 24 years its those discounts,handshakes at airports,someone paying for your coffee at Dunkin that made all the deployments and hardships worth it. Thanks guys (Posted on 9/23/13)
Definitely extra special! Review by EJO
Rating
Really like the ESB style, but they can be hard to come by around where I'm from. I saw this kit and just had to buy it. This kit is excellent! Used the 1986 London ESB yeast and also dry-hopped with 2oz. of UK Kent Goldings for a week just for experimentation sake. I gave it the full 6 weeks and man is it good! If you are a fan of ESBs or bitters in general, pick this one up stat! If you like experimenting, try the dry hops too! (Posted on 8/27/13)
Good stuff Review by Benjamin
Rating
Great Kit! Better than I expected. I liked this beer immediately. Good balance of bitter & hop, with a nice alcohol kicker :-) Recipe says ready in about 6 weeks, and it was (7 for me as I gave it 3 weeks in the secondary fermentation tank). My basement says at a very steady 68 F, which seems to be perfect for this brew’s fermentation. This beer is so good, I whish I were drinking it right now...and its not 5 o'clock. (Posted on 7/18/13)
recommended Review by jose
Rating
Excellent kit, came out a lot darker , smooth and pleasant bitter.next time will do a full boil to compare. (Posted on 7/9/13)
This kit is delicious! Review by Keith
Rating
First off, this kit is delicious. I made it using the Wyeast 1968 strain that’s suggested. Here’s the reason for the summary line I used; this kit is packaged to accommodate a late-addition of the LME and so includes 2 of the 3.15 lb. containers of extract. When I made this I did a mini-mash of 5 lbs. of Maris Otter and 1 pound of Carahell along with the pound of Crystal malt that is supplied in the kit. Using the wort collected from the mash and the 1 lb. bag of DME that was in the kit, I had a 4 – 4.5 gallon boil volume that was pretty close to what the gravity would be if I’d used one of the containers of LME. From this point I followed the directions as far as hop schedule and the late addition of one of the packages of LME. I measured my O.G. at 1.058 for a 5.5 gallon primary fermentation.
So here’s where the bonus comes in. I still had the second 3.15 lb. container of LME that was unused (a $10.99 value). For the price of the grain, DME and another yeast pack I could make a second batch as I already had suitable hops in my supplies at home. Not exactly 2 for the price of 1 but hey, I’ll take any savings I can get and it’s a great excuse to make 10 gallons of this ESB instead of just 5!
(Posted on 5/26/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 21 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register