Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
164 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 164 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17
A nice brown ale Review by Tim
Rating
My boil came in at 1.050 (I added 0.5 pound of brown sugar at flame out), and I used the Nottingham yeast and left the beer for three weeks in the primary at 68F. The gravity was 1.009 at the end. I bottled with corn sugar (4 oz) and things carved up in about a week at 70F. This was an easy brew, and a fast turn around. The product was excellent. It had a great aroma, and tasted really good after about 2 weeks in the bottle. I had lots of compliments from friends on this one, as the flavor is light enough that even fans of light beer can enjoy it. It would have been good to have a little more of a full mouthfeel, but I think my brown sugar probably thinned the taste a bit. Overall, it is a very good kit and makes a fast and delicious beer. (Posted on 7/3/14)
On the lighter side. Review by Dave
Rating
My american light lager drinking friends really enjoyed this one. Easy brew, great toasty/nutty flavors, but a bit too light bodied for me personally. Perfect as a session brew in late summer/early fall. You might want to consider the Caribou Slobber for a higher gravity, brown, crowd pleasing ale. (Posted on 5/30/14)
First home brew since 1991 Review by Kyle
Rating
The instructions were easy to follow and the end result was a tasty Nut Brown Ale. I plan to brew this batch again and add some brown sugar to the boil as recommended by other reviewers. All I kept saying after tasting was"My beer is good, my beer is actually good!" Unlike the batch in '91 that tasted like a mixture of feet and Flintstone vitamins. (Posted on 5/16/14)
Interesting take on a Nut Ale Review by Erik
Rating
I brewed this kit with a different strain of yeast than was recommended due to not finding the recommended at my local brew shop. The brew turned out very clean and tasted good however I wish it was a little nuttier. Next time I plan on using the recommended yeast. (Posted on 5/9/14)
nice brown ale Review by Patrick
Rating
i just brewed this for the second time. this time, i added 1 lb of gambrinus honey malt to the specialty grains and 2 lbs of honey at flameout. it turned out awesome, a little bit of sweetness to round out the nuttiness. this is a popular ale with all who try it. (Posted on 5/4/14)
great way to start brewing - nice rounded brown Review by jennifer
Rating
like many other, this was my first brew with NB - Brewed 1/23 with the nottingham yeast , I followed the directions to the letter, kept it in primary for 3 weeks and bottled. After 2 weeks it was a good brown, a little bitter at the finish. 6 weeks in the bottle and now it tastes amazing - definitely rivals any standard brown ale at the local microbrews. No bells and whistles on this one, just a nice, well rounded brown ale, with a caramel sweetness to it that keeps it balanced without overwhelming - the fruitiness is also starting to come out. I've already brewed 4 other ales since this one, so I think it's safe to say this hooked me :) (Posted on 3/16/14)
Great Starter Review by Matthew
Rating
A nicely rounded beer, with light yet full flavor. Also has a great caramel aroma. This was my first batch ever, and and it came out as good as expected. (Posted on 3/9/14)
Fantastic and lasting taste with perfect carbonation. Review by Michael
Rating
This is the first brew I've done from Northern Brewer. Love Nut Brown Ale and this is by far the best I've ever had. Added 8 oz. of light brown sugar and bumped the abv. to 5.5 %. Great lasting flavor and would recommend this Ale to anyone. My wife is no beer drinker but she flipped over the great taste. Never thought it would be this easy to brew. (Posted on 3/6/14)
Nice little brown Review by Bugaboo Brew
Rating
This is a nice little brown ale. Mild, and very drinkable. I've put mine thru a 1wk 2nd fermentation (mainly for clarity). Everyone seems to like this one, even those who do not drink darker beers. (Posted on 3/5/14)
Solid starter kit but no wow factor Review by Alex
Rating
This was my first brew having finally purchased my own set of equipment. It was very easy to brew and I'd say the results are solid, but nothing that knocks my socks off.

I used the Wyeast 1098 strain (via a yeast starter) and only modification I made to the recipe was to add 1lb of dark brown sugar (based on previous reviews) with 15min left in the boil. I also did a 1 week secondary after 9 days in the primary. O.G. was 1.055 and F.G. was 1.010 upon racking to secondary. Ended up with a beer that had Aprox ABV of 5.9%, which was a little higher than I expected/aimed for even with the addition of the extra dark brown sugar.

I like beers with some body and while the flavor profile on this brew is OK (aka similar to its formal description), I think the higher alcohol content may have impacted the overall flavor/body of the beer.

As of the writing of this review its been in the bottle for about 5 weeks and I think its still improving, so hopefully as it ages more it will simply get that much better and fill in the blanks that I feel it has currently..fingers crossed! (Posted on 3/5/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 164 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register