Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
176 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 176 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
Wow, smooth, clear - very nice brew. Review by Stickman
Rating
I don't have a Newcastle handy to do a taste test as I write this but I just cracked my first bottle of this brew and have to say I'm very impressed. The color, head, and taste are very smooth. Taste is light, good session style beer and from memory, I'd say very similar to a Newcastle. Of the last few brews I've done (all very different), this one stands out as the simplest and yielding the most satisfying result. Maybe I'm getting better at this hobby but I'll give most of the credit to the kit. Very well done and as others have said - THIS IS A GREAT BEGINNER KIT!! 30 days to the taste test. Doesn't get much faster. (Posted on 4/5/15)
Good malty beer Review by Nat
Rating
This is a good malty beer. (Posted on 3/20/15)
Great kit Review by Philip
Rating
I have been brewing for 18 years and this is the kit I have brewed most frequently. I am a big fan of Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar. I always add hazelnut flavoring to this kit and try to keep it on tap at all times. Delicious! (Posted on 2/13/15)
Love it Review by Jared
Rating
Brewed this several times. Better than Newcastle. Last brew added banana extract at bottling. Very interesting tastey brew. (Posted on 1/27/15)
Tastes good Review by Daniel
Rating
I added about 1 1/3 pounds light brown sugar with about 15 minutes left in the boil. The Danstar dry yeast was quite active for 1 1/2 weeks in primary, left about 2 1/2 weeks in secondary. Very low FG. Two weeks after bottling, beer tastes very good and just one gave me a buzz. This will only get better as it ages, would highly recommend for a quick/easy brew. (Posted on 1/24/15)
A great nut brown ale!!! Review by Brian
Rating
I just recently brewed this. The OG was 1.044 and FG was 1.008. The ABV was 4.7%. It is not too malty and not too hoppy. It was just right. It has a nice chocolate and toffee flavor that tastes great. I've had a nut brown ale from the local liquor store and that did not even compare to this. This is a fantastic tasting beer and one I will most definitely be making again! It's a PERFECT nut brown ale. (Posted on 1/23/15)
Good Kit Review by Dustin
Rating
This was an early attempt at HB but it turned out pretty smooth but I wish there was more to it. (Posted on 1/9/15)
Great mild taste Review by Tony
Rating
I really like this beer. The taste and body are much lighter than I expected, but that's not a criticism. Easy to make and easy to drink; the way every recipe should be! (Posted on 9/24/14)
Full Nutty and Smooth Review by Gavin
Rating
I am a new brewer also. This was my 4th batch. I used a full boil and racked to secondary for a week after the krausen had dissipated but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My OG came out a little higher than the recipe but temperature of the sample and/or my use of a refractometer may have acounted for that. I do not see the need for any additions of fermentables to the recipe. The result was a really smooth full flavored nutty ale with a deep brown color. The ABV was 5+/- 0.2%. I used a 1 liter starter and the Neobritannia Wyeast I had previously harvested from the NB oatmeal stout extract kit (Also good). Overall very pleased with the result and after just 4 weeks. (Posted on 8/13/14)
Tasty beer the Girls Love!! Review by Scott
Rating
I add 2lbs of light brown sugar at the boil, ferment for 2 weeks and just gets better as time goes. The girls love this one and I enjoy it from a 22ozer. Has a kick, if you know what I mean. Good buy...enjoy! (Posted on 8/4/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 176 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register