Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
167 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 167 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17
Tasty beer the Girls Love!! Review by Scott
Rating
I add 2lbs of light brown sugar at the boil, ferment for 2 weeks and just gets better as time goes. The girls love this one and I enjoy it from a 22ozer. Has a kick, if you know what I mean. Good buy...enjoy! (Posted on 8/4/14)
GREAT fall beer! Review by Ed
Rating
I know the subject header is "GREAT fall beer!" but in all honesty, this could be enjoyed 12 months/year. It was my 10th or so extract kit and I was told by others who have sampled all the other kits that this was the best I've done thus far. I did the NeoBritania liquid yeast (no starter) and added a pound of honey at flameout. I conditioned it in secondary for 3 weeks and at 3 weeks in the bottle it was fully carbed, mellow and had a WONDERFUL flavor. My brother-in-law is already talking about brewing this kit after sampling mine. GREAT beer kit for football season and a great value from NB given its low price! (Posted on 8/4/14)
A Fast Brew for First-Timers Review by Kirk in NC
Rating
Like most folks here, this was my first batch with a new kit from NB. Four weeks total from start to prying off my first bottle cap...not a bad turnaround for new homebrewers excited - and impatient - to get things going. Like many of the other reviewers suggested, I added dark brown sugar with 10 minutes left in the boil, and used NB's priming sugar calculator (super handy!) to measure more dark brown sugar as a primer on bottling day 2 1/2 weeks later. 1 1/2 more weeks of conditioning, and the first beers taste great. Can't wait to try a few more another couple weeks down the road. Brews #2 and #3 are already in the works. Thanks NB...what an awesomely satisfying hobby. (Posted on 7/31/14)
A nice brown ale Review by Tim
Rating
My boil came in at 1.050 (I added 0.5 pound of brown sugar at flame out), and I used the Nottingham yeast and left the beer for three weeks in the primary at 68F. The gravity was 1.009 at the end. I bottled with corn sugar (4 oz) and things carved up in about a week at 70F. This was an easy brew, and a fast turn around. The product was excellent. It had a great aroma, and tasted really good after about 2 weeks in the bottle. I had lots of compliments from friends on this one, as the flavor is light enough that even fans of light beer can enjoy it. It would have been good to have a little more of a full mouthfeel, but I think my brown sugar probably thinned the taste a bit. Overall, it is a very good kit and makes a fast and delicious beer. (Posted on 7/3/14)
On the lighter side. Review by Dave
Rating
My american light lager drinking friends really enjoyed this one. Easy brew, great toasty/nutty flavors, but a bit too light bodied for me personally. Perfect as a session brew in late summer/early fall. You might want to consider the Caribou Slobber for a higher gravity, brown, crowd pleasing ale. (Posted on 5/30/14)
First home brew since 1991 Review by Kyle
Rating
The instructions were easy to follow and the end result was a tasty Nut Brown Ale. I plan to brew this batch again and add some brown sugar to the boil as recommended by other reviewers. All I kept saying after tasting was"My beer is good, my beer is actually good!" Unlike the batch in '91 that tasted like a mixture of feet and Flintstone vitamins. (Posted on 5/16/14)
Interesting take on a Nut Ale Review by Erik
Rating
I brewed this kit with a different strain of yeast than was recommended due to not finding the recommended at my local brew shop. The brew turned out very clean and tasted good however I wish it was a little nuttier. Next time I plan on using the recommended yeast. (Posted on 5/9/14)
nice brown ale Review by Patrick
Rating
i just brewed this for the second time. this time, i added 1 lb of gambrinus honey malt to the specialty grains and 2 lbs of honey at flameout. it turned out awesome, a little bit of sweetness to round out the nuttiness. this is a popular ale with all who try it. (Posted on 5/4/14)
great way to start brewing - nice rounded brown Review by jennifer
Rating
like many other, this was my first brew with NB - Brewed 1/23 with the nottingham yeast , I followed the directions to the letter, kept it in primary for 3 weeks and bottled. After 2 weeks it was a good brown, a little bitter at the finish. 6 weeks in the bottle and now it tastes amazing - definitely rivals any standard brown ale at the local microbrews. No bells and whistles on this one, just a nice, well rounded brown ale, with a caramel sweetness to it that keeps it balanced without overwhelming - the fruitiness is also starting to come out. I've already brewed 4 other ales since this one, so I think it's safe to say this hooked me :) (Posted on 3/16/14)
Great Starter Review by Matthew
Rating
A nicely rounded beer, with light yet full flavor. Also has a great caramel aroma. This was my first batch ever, and and it came out as good as expected. (Posted on 3/9/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 167 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register