Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
172 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 172 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
Tastes good Review by Daniel
Rating
I added about 1 1/3 pounds light brown sugar with about 15 minutes left in the boil. The Danstar dry yeast was quite active for 1 1/2 weeks in primary, left about 2 1/2 weeks in secondary. Very low FG. Two weeks after bottling, beer tastes very good and just one gave me a buzz. This will only get better as it ages, would highly recommend for a quick/easy brew. (Posted on 1/24/15)
A great nut brown ale!!! Review by Brian
Rating
I just recently brewed this. The OG was 1.044 and FG was 1.008. The ABV was 4.7%. It is not too malty and not too hoppy. It was just right. It has a nice chocolate and toffee flavor that tastes great. I've had a nut brown ale from the local liquor store and that did not even compare to this. This is a fantastic tasting beer and one I will most definitely be making again! It's a PERFECT nut brown ale. (Posted on 1/23/15)
Good Kit Review by Dustin
Rating
This was an early attempt at HB but it turned out pretty smooth but I wish there was more to it. (Posted on 1/9/15)
Great mild taste Review by Tony
Rating
I really like this beer. The taste and body are much lighter than I expected, but that's not a criticism. Easy to make and easy to drink; the way every recipe should be! (Posted on 9/24/14)
Full Nutty and Smooth Review by Gavin
Rating
I am a new brewer also. This was my 4th batch. I used a full boil and racked to secondary for a week after the krausen had dissipated but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My OG came out a little higher than the recipe but temperature of the sample and/or my use of a refractometer may have acounted for that. I do not see the need for any additions of fermentables to the recipe. The result was a really smooth full flavored nutty ale with a deep brown color. The ABV was 5+/- 0.2%. I used a 1 liter starter and the Neobritannia Wyeast I had previously harvested from the NB oatmeal stout extract kit (Also good). Overall very pleased with the result and after just 4 weeks. (Posted on 8/13/14)
Tasty beer the Girls Love!! Review by Scott
Rating
I add 2lbs of light brown sugar at the boil, ferment for 2 weeks and just gets better as time goes. The girls love this one and I enjoy it from a 22ozer. Has a kick, if you know what I mean. Good buy...enjoy! (Posted on 8/4/14)
GREAT fall beer! Review by Ed
Rating
I know the subject header is "GREAT fall beer!" but in all honesty, this could be enjoyed 12 months/year. It was my 10th or so extract kit and I was told by others who have sampled all the other kits that this was the best I've done thus far. I did the NeoBritania liquid yeast (no starter) and added a pound of honey at flameout. I conditioned it in secondary for 3 weeks and at 3 weeks in the bottle it was fully carbed, mellow and had a WONDERFUL flavor. My brother-in-law is already talking about brewing this kit after sampling mine. GREAT beer kit for football season and a great value from NB given its low price! (Posted on 8/4/14)
A Fast Brew for First-Timers Review by Kirk in NC
Rating
Like most folks here, this was my first batch with a new kit from NB. Four weeks total from start to prying off my first bottle cap...not a bad turnaround for new homebrewers excited - and impatient - to get things going. Like many of the other reviewers suggested, I added dark brown sugar with 10 minutes left in the boil, and used NB's priming sugar calculator (super handy!) to measure more dark brown sugar as a primer on bottling day 2 1/2 weeks later. 1 1/2 more weeks of conditioning, and the first beers taste great. Can't wait to try a few more another couple weeks down the road. Brews #2 and #3 are already in the works. Thanks NB...what an awesomely satisfying hobby. (Posted on 7/31/14)
A nice brown ale Review by Tim
Rating
My boil came in at 1.050 (I added 0.5 pound of brown sugar at flame out), and I used the Nottingham yeast and left the beer for three weeks in the primary at 68F. The gravity was 1.009 at the end. I bottled with corn sugar (4 oz) and things carved up in about a week at 70F. This was an easy brew, and a fast turn around. The product was excellent. It had a great aroma, and tasted really good after about 2 weeks in the bottle. I had lots of compliments from friends on this one, as the flavor is light enough that even fans of light beer can enjoy it. It would have been good to have a little more of a full mouthfeel, but I think my brown sugar probably thinned the taste a bit. Overall, it is a very good kit and makes a fast and delicious beer. (Posted on 7/3/14)
On the lighter side. Review by Dave
Rating
My american light lager drinking friends really enjoyed this one. Easy brew, great toasty/nutty flavors, but a bit too light bodied for me personally. Perfect as a session brew in late summer/early fall. You might want to consider the Caribou Slobber for a higher gravity, brown, crowd pleasing ale. (Posted on 5/30/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 172 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register