Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
159 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 159 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 16
great way to start brewing - nice rounded brown Review by jennifer
Rating
like many other, this was my first brew with NB - Brewed 1/23 with the nottingham yeast , I followed the directions to the letter, kept it in primary for 3 weeks and bottled. After 2 weeks it was a good brown, a little bitter at the finish. 6 weeks in the bottle and now it tastes amazing - definitely rivals any standard brown ale at the local microbrews. No bells and whistles on this one, just a nice, well rounded brown ale, with a caramel sweetness to it that keeps it balanced without overwhelming - the fruitiness is also starting to come out. I've already brewed 4 other ales since this one, so I think it's safe to say this hooked me :) (Posted on 3/16/14)
Great Starter Review by Matthew
Rating
A nicely rounded beer, with light yet full flavor. Also has a great caramel aroma. This was my first batch ever, and and it came out as good as expected. (Posted on 3/9/14)
Fantastic and lasting taste with perfect carbonation. Review by Michael
Rating
This is the first brew I've done from Northern Brewer. Love Nut Brown Ale and this is by far the best I've ever had. Added 8 oz. of light brown sugar and bumped the abv. to 5.5 %. Great lasting flavor and would recommend this Ale to anyone. My wife is no beer drinker but she flipped over the great taste. Never thought it would be this easy to brew. (Posted on 3/6/14)
Nice little brown Review by Bugaboo Brew
Rating
This is a nice little brown ale. Mild, and very drinkable. I've put mine thru a 1wk 2nd fermentation (mainly for clarity). Everyone seems to like this one, even those who do not drink darker beers. (Posted on 3/5/14)
Solid starter kit but no wow factor Review by Alex
Rating
This was my first brew having finally purchased my own set of equipment. It was very easy to brew and I'd say the results are solid, but nothing that knocks my socks off.

I used the Wyeast 1098 strain (via a yeast starter) and only modification I made to the recipe was to add 1lb of dark brown sugar (based on previous reviews) with 15min left in the boil. I also did a 1 week secondary after 9 days in the primary. O.G. was 1.055 and F.G. was 1.010 upon racking to secondary. Ended up with a beer that had Aprox ABV of 5.9%, which was a little higher than I expected/aimed for even with the addition of the extra dark brown sugar.

I like beers with some body and while the flavor profile on this brew is OK (aka similar to its formal description), I think the higher alcohol content may have impacted the overall flavor/body of the beer.

As of the writing of this review its been in the bottle for about 5 weeks and I think its still improving, so hopefully as it ages more it will simply get that much better and fill in the blanks that I feel it has currently..fingers crossed! (Posted on 3/5/14)
This was my first and it got me hooked! Review by Ken in MN
Rating
I received this kit as a Christmas gift from my wife, along with the Northern Brewer Deluxe Starter kit. Everything went according to the directions, with one week in primary, one week in secondary and two weeks of bottle conditioning. Great clarity, great color and great taste! Easy drinking, yet flavorful with a slightly bitter finish and perfectly carbonated, which yielded a thick, creamy head and bubbles that lasted until the last drink. Low ABV means I can enjoy several of these a night without any regrets. Now I'm hooked on home brewing, and will definitely make this kit again! (Posted on 2/20/14)
great taste Review by Jesse
Rating
This taste just like a local micro brews beer. It has a solid taste, and is very drinkable. Fitting for a fall beer. Everyone seemed to like it! (Posted on 2/16/14)
Great with age Review by Russell
Rating
I brewed with the Danstar Nottingham, steeped the grains for a full 30 mins, added 2/3 lb of light brown sugar with 20 mins left, 9 days primary, 7 days secondary. Strong fermentation, took a little over 3 weeks to fully carbonate. The beer came out dark and dry with an amazing nose (everyone so far comments on how great this one smells). It's very good young, but even after only a few weeks of aging this one has turned out great. Let this one sit for a few months and you've got an absolute winner. (Posted on 2/15/14)
Really Great Review by Kyle
Rating
Made this with the Wyeast Thames Valley strain, and it came out fantastic. Primary for two weeks, and then bottled. I was impatient, and tried it after only 7 days of bottle conditioning--it was already great! I go to the NERAX (New England Real Ale) festival twice a year, and try all those great cask-conditioned ales from the UK. This ale compared favorably with those. I would say flavor-wise it's about halfway between a standard bitter and a porter or stout. When I bottled it, I thought it was a little thin, but after a week of conditioning I didn't notice that--although it's still in the range of a session ale, I'd say. In keeping with the style, I went very light on the priming sugar to keep the carbonation low, and it came out just like I hoped. Just a great English pub ale. (Posted on 2/8/14)
Very nice Review by Patrick
Rating
I did not like it quite as much as the Caribou Slobber but still a nice brown ale. I might go a little bit higher on the priming sugar next time, as the recommended dose came up a little light on carbonation. (Posted on 2/3/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 159 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 16

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register