Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
172 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 91 to 100 of 172 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 18
Good stuff Review by Justin
Rating
This is my 2nd home brew and I'm quite pleased. I do hope it gets better with time but either way, I'm still enjoying the Nut Brown Ale. My wife really liked the beer but not because of the taste...she said it smelled like cookies when I was brewing. (Posted on 11/13/12)
Kinda sorta like Newcastle Brown Ale Review by JohnG911
Rating
Great tasting easy beer. Even my daughter, who doesn't like my heavy beers, "loves it." It remindes me of Newcastle's Brown Ale. (Posted on 10/23/12)
Great Beer! Review by Mike
Rating
I've done about 6 different kits now and this one was definitely one of my favorites. I'm contemplating doing another batch of this. (Posted on 10/7/12)
Good Beer Review by Bryan
Rating
Like many others this was my first batch of homebrew and i decided to do a full boil instead of a partial. What i didn't know is that you need to adjust your hopps for the full boi so i think mine turned out a little more bitter than intended but i like it. I will have to say this beer doesn't have a big nutty flavor like some of my favorite nut browns but after reading some reviews comparing it to Sam Smith Nut Brown i tried mine next to it and was very suprised how close i got, actually i like mine better. Dont judge flavor of the green beer as mine tasted very watery, but after only 1 week in the bottle i am already really enjoying it. On to the Irish Dry Stout (Posted on 10/6/12)
now that is nice Review by Nick
Rating
So, before this beer, I didn't like brown ales, but I wanted to like them. And now, I do. I added .25 oz Magnum hops and boiled 60 minutes, other than that, followed the recipe right on. Added two gallons of distilled water to top it off after boil, fermented around 66F for one month, then kegged it. Let me say, this is not a super intense brown ale, but it is a great introduction to the style. My advice: add some more hops. (Posted on 8/9/12)
Not bad, easy to brew Review by John
Rating
VERY easy to brew, so a great one for a first timer. Also doesn't require much time for fermentation - 1-2 weeks.

Tastes very much like Leiny's Fireside Nut Ale and not really like Newcastle at all, as previous commentators mentioned. Don't pick up too much of the chocolate flavor (it is there though), but the nutty flavor is there for sure. (Posted on 7/13/12)
Good Beer wish it had more body Review by Sam
Rating
Good easy drinking beer, I with it had more body though, and next time im going to only do about a 30 to 45 min boil on the hops. I recommend waiting (if possable) at least 3 weeks to let it bottle condition. I tried it after two weeks and it still had a pretty good bite, now after 3 it has mellowed out alot and the flavours are getting better every day. (Posted on 7/13/12)
Great with cold brewed coffee Review by Benjamin
Rating
Add about 8 or 10 oz of cold brewed coffee to this beer a few days before bottling/kegging and this makes a fantastic coffee brown ale.

That has become my "House brew" (Posted on 7/5/12)
Good house beer! Review by Angel R
Rating
Very forgiving recipe that finishes into a great tasting beer. It was one of the favorites during my last beer club meeting. Definitely will be one of my house beers. (Posted on 5/9/12)
deliciousness Review by Jordan
Rating
So good the first time i bought it again! this flavorful but easy drinking brew is going to be a mainstay in the brewing cycle. The wife loves it too! (Posted on 5/5/12)

Items 91 to 100 of 172 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register