Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
177 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 91 to 100 of 177 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 18
Good beginner beer Review by Kyle
Rating
This was the second batch that I ever made and it was pretty good compared to my usual nut brown I drink. I compared it to New Glarus Fat Squirrel, and it is a very close comparison. Left 2 weeks in primary and 10 days in bottle before first taste and was good. A good quick beer to make. (Posted on 1/21/13)
Nice Brown Ale Review by Brent
Rating
Really enjoyed this beer with the Maris Otter extract. Easy drinking session beer. I brewed this one, threw it in a fermenter bucket for about 3 weeks. I usually rack into a secondary, but didn't with this as I was running out of beer. Straight into the keg, force-carbed and the beer was really good immediately. Good easy brew session, would be a nice beer for a first-timer. Recommend this kit. (Posted on 1/16/13)
Great smooth brown ale Review by Craig
Rating
This kit was easy to brew. It's very smooth and easy to drink. I gave out some as Christmas gifts this year, and everyone has loved it, even those who prefer light beer. (Posted on 1/7/13)
Best one yet Review by Whitney
Rating
This was our first brew. It was easy and amazingly tasty. Better than any commercial nut brown--even better than our local brewer's. This will be an annual purchase. (Posted on 1/4/13)
Great easy to drink brown ale Review by Kevin
Rating
Couldn't be happier! I haven't brewed or drank much brown ale in years. This was a perfect re-introduction. Brewed on 11/25, racked to keg on 12/2, drinking on 12/5.

Note that I tweeked this recipe a bit- to boost body I added .5lb of Carapils, and to boost alcohol .5lb of light brown sugar. Highly recommend both. Also, as always, made a starter, which is a good idea on any beer not just lagers and high alcohol beers. And like other extract kits, I did a late boil addition of the wort, with ~10 minutes left in the boil...not that a little scorching of wort would hurt this beer.

End result is a beer that is smooth, with hints of chocolate and toasti-ness, and not too heavy but not too light. The single hop addition means a low-key and not assertive hop character.

While this beer won't make hop-heads happy, if you like brown ales you should be more than happy with this recipe. (Posted on 12/10/12)
Good stuff Review by Justin
Rating
This is my 2nd home brew and I'm quite pleased. I do hope it gets better with time but either way, I'm still enjoying the Nut Brown Ale. My wife really liked the beer but not because of the taste...she said it smelled like cookies when I was brewing. (Posted on 11/13/12)
Kinda sorta like Newcastle Brown Ale Review by JohnG911
Rating
Great tasting easy beer. Even my daughter, who doesn't like my heavy beers, "loves it." It remindes me of Newcastle's Brown Ale. (Posted on 10/23/12)
Great Beer! Review by Mike
Rating
I've done about 6 different kits now and this one was definitely one of my favorites. I'm contemplating doing another batch of this. (Posted on 10/7/12)
Good Beer Review by Bryan
Rating
Like many others this was my first batch of homebrew and i decided to do a full boil instead of a partial. What i didn't know is that you need to adjust your hopps for the full boi so i think mine turned out a little more bitter than intended but i like it. I will have to say this beer doesn't have a big nutty flavor like some of my favorite nut browns but after reading some reviews comparing it to Sam Smith Nut Brown i tried mine next to it and was very suprised how close i got, actually i like mine better. Dont judge flavor of the green beer as mine tasted very watery, but after only 1 week in the bottle i am already really enjoying it. On to the Irish Dry Stout (Posted on 10/6/12)
now that is nice Review by Nick
Rating
So, before this beer, I didn't like brown ales, but I wanted to like them. And now, I do. I added .25 oz Magnum hops and boiled 60 minutes, other than that, followed the recipe right on. Added two gallons of distilled water to top it off after boil, fermented around 66F for one month, then kegged it. Let me say, this is not a super intense brown ale, but it is a great introduction to the style. My advice: add some more hops. (Posted on 8/9/12)

Items 91 to 100 of 177 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register