Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
164 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 151 to 160 of 164 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 13
  4. 14
  5. 15
  6. 16
  7. 17
As good or better than commercial comps. Review by Rich
Rating
Ordered 2 kits. Both were great the second was slightly better than the first. Probably, because I had it in secondary for 2 weeks. Top notch home brew everyone enjoyed. (Posted on 10/8/10)
Ehhh Review by Michelle in Parkton
Rating
This was our first nut brown. I've only ever tasted a commercial nut brown once. It was good, but not something I'm chomping at the bit to make again. (Posted on 9/29/10)
Great!!! Review by Louie728
Rating
I did one week Primary one week secondary and two weeks in the bottle... Almost didn't measure the priming sugar and used the whole package, but then read directions and used 2/3 cup.... Came out great... Everyone who tries it loves it... Will brew again.. (Posted on 9/15/10)
Great Dark beer Review by Homebrew
Rating
Dark and delicious. I highly reccommend this ale as my dad and i successfully brewed it as out first beer making kit and it tasted great. It carbonated very nicely as well after about 2 weeks of the priming sugar in the bottle. (Posted on 8/8/10)
Great beer Review by Slainte23
Rating
I made this to be ready for the 4th and glad I did. I was the most popular guy at the neighborhood party. This is a great beer, similar to popular amber ales. I will absolutely make this again. (Posted on 7/10/10)
Another favorite among friends Review by Jon
Rating
Great flavor, malty with smooth aftertaste. Medium color, not overhopped. Used the dry nottingham yeast and had a nice, active fermentation. First batch didn't last long, and I am brewing batch 2 of this tonight. Probably going to be another that is kept on tap at all times. 5 pints here! (Posted on 5/17/10)
very good Review by cajastu
Rating
I bought this kit wanting something quick that didn't require much time aging. I used the wyeast and fermented it around 63 deg. F. After 1 1/2 weeks in primary and 10 days in the keg it far exceeded my expectations, very, very good. I will definitely do this one again. (Posted on 5/6/10)
good Review by bobedobe
Rating
This is the second beer that i have ever brewed from northern brewer, the 1st one I did was the extra pale ale and it came out excellent.

I couldnt beleive that making the extra pale ale with the dry us-05 yeast came out as good as it did.

Ok now to the Nut Brown Ale... The nut brown ale has just finished fermentation and has now been in the bottles for 5 days, I think this will turn out really smooth and easy to drink because after only 5 days in the bottle the flavor is right on it just needs more carbonation.


To any new extract brewer out there one thing i can tell you is that when bottling your beer never use table sugar always use corn sugar, I have found you get a better ending product if you use corn sugar. (Posted on 4/27/10)
My brother and I loved it! Review by Garry
Rating
I brewed the Nut Brown for my little brother who is in the navy. I knew that he was coming home and brewed it about 5 months ahead of time. I kept one case back (as hard as it was to do) for his return. It was the second home brew of mine that he had had. Though he loved the Irish Red that I had before, he told me that this beer was amazing. He couldn't get over how much better it was than store bought beer. Needless to say, we destroyed the case and relived some good ol' days. Thanks Northern Brewer! (Posted on 4/26/10)
Great Beer Review by Eric
Rating
This was my first brew and it turned very well. Surprisingly complex malt character with a scrumptous nutty finish and aftertaste. They just keep getting better as they age (which isn't much because I can't seem to stay out them). I will most certainly brew this beer again. (Posted on 4/21/10)

Items 151 to 160 of 164 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 13
  4. 14
  5. 15
  6. 16
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register