Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
164 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 164 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17
This was my first and it got me hooked! Review by Ken in MN
Rating
I received this kit as a Christmas gift from my wife, along with the Northern Brewer Deluxe Starter kit. Everything went according to the directions, with one week in primary, one week in secondary and two weeks of bottle conditioning. Great clarity, great color and great taste! Easy drinking, yet flavorful with a slightly bitter finish and perfectly carbonated, which yielded a thick, creamy head and bubbles that lasted until the last drink. Low ABV means I can enjoy several of these a night without any regrets. Now I'm hooked on home brewing, and will definitely make this kit again! (Posted on 2/20/14)
great taste Review by Jesse
Rating
This taste just like a local micro brews beer. It has a solid taste, and is very drinkable. Fitting for a fall beer. Everyone seemed to like it! (Posted on 2/16/14)
Great with age Review by Russell
Rating
I brewed with the Danstar Nottingham, steeped the grains for a full 30 mins, added 2/3 lb of light brown sugar with 20 mins left, 9 days primary, 7 days secondary. Strong fermentation, took a little over 3 weeks to fully carbonate. The beer came out dark and dry with an amazing nose (everyone so far comments on how great this one smells). It's very good young, but even after only a few weeks of aging this one has turned out great. Let this one sit for a few months and you've got an absolute winner. (Posted on 2/15/14)
Really Great Review by Kyle
Rating
Made this with the Wyeast Thames Valley strain, and it came out fantastic. Primary for two weeks, and then bottled. I was impatient, and tried it after only 7 days of bottle conditioning--it was already great! I go to the NERAX (New England Real Ale) festival twice a year, and try all those great cask-conditioned ales from the UK. This ale compared favorably with those. I would say flavor-wise it's about halfway between a standard bitter and a porter or stout. When I bottled it, I thought it was a little thin, but after a week of conditioning I didn't notice that--although it's still in the range of a session ale, I'd say. In keeping with the style, I went very light on the priming sugar to keep the carbonation low, and it came out just like I hoped. Just a great English pub ale. (Posted on 2/8/14)
Very nice Review by Patrick
Rating
I did not like it quite as much as the Caribou Slobber but still a nice brown ale. I might go a little bit higher on the priming sugar next time, as the recommended dose came up a little light on carbonation. (Posted on 2/3/14)
great holiday beer Review by Sean
Rating
This is a well balanced beer. I brewed this back in October to have it ready for the holidays. I started a new job and decided to bottle it and take a case to work and pass some around as a Christmas gift and it was a big hit with the commercial lite beer drinkers. hopefully I converted some of them to drink better beer. I added a 1/2 pound of brown sugar at boil that gave it a nice flavor. I'm ordering another one to make and put into a keg so my wife and I can enjoy. (Posted on 1/27/14)
Complex taste Review by Teresa
Rating
My first brew! Very easy, the wort smelled amazing. Is a smooth drinking beer. (Posted on 1/18/14)
Drinks easy Review by brian
Rating
The beer turned out pretty decent. It's easy to brew and produces and very drinkable beer. It's not real hoppy or malty but has a very good balance. Typical brown ale alcohol level. Mine came out at 4.5abv. I didn't add anything extra to it. (Posted on 1/14/14)
easy cooker Review by Nate
Rating
Used this mix as my starting point in the art. Not a bad brew but not big on flavor. Tweaked it a bit and now it.is perfect. (Posted on 1/9/14)
Follow Recipe not Bag of Priming Sugar Review by Erik
Rating
This goes for all recipes not just this one. The recipe sheet says mix the priming sugar with 16oz water. The package of priming sugar itself says mix with 12 oz of water.

12 oz makes an extremely viscous liquid that doesn't pour or mix well with the beer.

I have mixed 16oz of water to 5oz priming sugar with all other recipes and have had excellent carbonation. I mixed 12oz of water to 5oz priming sugar for this beer (not having the recipe sheet close by during bottling and took the instructions on the side of the priming sugar for face value) and got inconsistent carbonation. I believe this came from the priming liquid not fully incorporating into the entire beer as it was so sludgy.

Not a knock to this recipe, it was actually a really nice flavorful balanced beer. However, follow the directions on the recipe sheet, not the bag of priming sugar! (Posted on 1/6/14)

Items 11 to 20 of 164 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register