Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
164 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 164 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17
Not bad for my first NB batch. Review by Brendan
Rating
Very clean and crisp, but it was a tad light for my taste. My wife likes it. It was an easy brew for someone like me who was only making his third batch ever. (Posted on 1/4/14)
Good & Drinkable Beer Review by Jeff
Rating
I decided to brew this kit as a lighter (yet still flavorful) alternative for those family and friends that don't appreciate the IPAs and dark beers as much as I do. The beer came out good and has a nice smooth character but isn't nearly as flavorful as I had expected based on the description and other reviews. It's definitely drinkable but this is one of those kits that I most likely won't brew again. (Posted on 1/2/14)
Lighter than expected Review by Michael
Rating
I thought it should have stronger malt profile. Maybe adding some brown sugar or molasses. But friends found a very drinkable beer. (Posted on 12/30/13)
Great flavor Review by Christopher
Rating
This beer has great flavor and fermented fast. cant wait to drink it once it carbonates. gave a few away as Christmas gifts. (Posted on 12/22/13)
pleasantly surprised Review by Garrett
Rating
I got this kit on sale and didn't expect it to turn out as good as it did. It is probably the favorite of all the brown ales I've made so far. It doesn't compare to the expensive kits like the White House honey ale, but for the price, it's awesome.. I always throw in a little brown sugar during the boil to pump up the alcohol. I also cut the hops in half since I don't really like strongly hopped beers. I carb my kegs with 5 oz of brown sugar for extra flavor. This will be one on my regularly brewed kits. (Posted on 12/20/13)
Everyone Loves This Review by Jared
Rating
I bottled my first Nut Brown about two months ago. I dumped a pound of light brown sugar in about 15 minutes until the end of boil.

I got just under %6.5 alcohol and a nutty/molasses flavor.

After two weeks of conditioning this beer was easily drinkable and became my fiance's favorite. Everyone rants and raves about it and asks for more after their first.

If you let it sit a while longer the beer only gets better. I took other reviewer's advice and stashed some away. Now we open 1-2 on a weekly basis and it seems to just get better and better.

Slight warning, if you put a whole pound of brown sugar in be ready for a nearly jet black and dryer beer. (Posted on 12/19/13)
i luv this kit! Review by steve
Rating
great kit, cant talk bad about this... i did change a few things on this last kit ! 1 lb of brown suger 15mins left in boil, 1/2 tsp of wyeast nutrient 10 mins left in boil, added coca nibs the last week of ferment. also changed the hops. bought and used (Willamette Hop Pellets 1 oz) 60 mins, then used the 1 oz of fuggle hops that comes with this kit 2-5 mins left in boil. Thanks to steve from N.B for the tips on a few questions i had! this brew is in the cony keg and waiting for the other cony keg of Honey Kolsch to finish! (Posted on 12/11/13)
Drinkable first time brew. Review by Andy
Rating
Plenty of rookie mistakes on my part as this was my first batch ever. Came out good, not great. Will order again and update this review to give a more accurate and fair assessment. (Posted on 12/9/13)
Simple and Delicious Review by levi
Rating
This is a great quick and easy beer to keep the beer flowing when you don't have a lot of time. I brew this when I am overloaded at work and just need some good beer. (Posted on 12/5/13)
Good Beer Review by Dave
Rating
Good straight forward kit, I ordered 2. First one made good beer. Maybe a little lighter than I expected. 1.5 lbs of turbinado (unrefined cane sugar) was added to the second batch. Can't wait to give that a try. It's still fermenting and I will give that 3-4 weeks before bottling. (Posted on 12/1/13)

Items 21 to 30 of 164 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register