Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1030
Rating
169 Review(s)
Styled after southern English brown ales, our Nut Brown Ale kit is a great all-around beer: it's easy to brew (its dark color and rich flavor make it forgiving of mistakes), it's mild enough for light beer drinkers, but characterful enough for more experienced brewers and beer lovers. The finished product exhibits a deep copper color, fruity/caramelly flavor and aroma with toasty, chocolaty notes; and it tastes great after just a few weeks.

Nut Brown Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 169 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17
great holiday beer Review by Sean
Rating
This is a well balanced beer. I brewed this back in October to have it ready for the holidays. I started a new job and decided to bottle it and take a case to work and pass some around as a Christmas gift and it was a big hit with the commercial lite beer drinkers. hopefully I converted some of them to drink better beer. I added a 1/2 pound of brown sugar at boil that gave it a nice flavor. I'm ordering another one to make and put into a keg so my wife and I can enjoy. (Posted on 1/27/14)
Complex taste Review by Teresa
Rating
My first brew! Very easy, the wort smelled amazing. Is a smooth drinking beer. (Posted on 1/18/14)
Drinks easy Review by brian
Rating
The beer turned out pretty decent. It's easy to brew and produces and very drinkable beer. It's not real hoppy or malty but has a very good balance. Typical brown ale alcohol level. Mine came out at 4.5abv. I didn't add anything extra to it. (Posted on 1/14/14)
easy cooker Review by Nate
Rating
Used this mix as my starting point in the art. Not a bad brew but not big on flavor. Tweaked it a bit and now it.is perfect. (Posted on 1/9/14)
Follow Recipe not Bag of Priming Sugar Review by Erik
Rating
This goes for all recipes not just this one. The recipe sheet says mix the priming sugar with 16oz water. The package of priming sugar itself says mix with 12 oz of water.

12 oz makes an extremely viscous liquid that doesn't pour or mix well with the beer.

I have mixed 16oz of water to 5oz priming sugar with all other recipes and have had excellent carbonation. I mixed 12oz of water to 5oz priming sugar for this beer (not having the recipe sheet close by during bottling and took the instructions on the side of the priming sugar for face value) and got inconsistent carbonation. I believe this came from the priming liquid not fully incorporating into the entire beer as it was so sludgy.

Not a knock to this recipe, it was actually a really nice flavorful balanced beer. However, follow the directions on the recipe sheet, not the bag of priming sugar! (Posted on 1/6/14)
Not bad for my first NB batch. Review by Brendan
Rating
Very clean and crisp, but it was a tad light for my taste. My wife likes it. It was an easy brew for someone like me who was only making his third batch ever. (Posted on 1/4/14)
Good & Drinkable Beer Review by Jeff
Rating
I decided to brew this kit as a lighter (yet still flavorful) alternative for those family and friends that don't appreciate the IPAs and dark beers as much as I do. The beer came out good and has a nice smooth character but isn't nearly as flavorful as I had expected based on the description and other reviews. It's definitely drinkable but this is one of those kits that I most likely won't brew again. (Posted on 1/2/14)
Lighter than expected Review by Michael
Rating
I thought it should have stronger malt profile. Maybe adding some brown sugar or molasses. But friends found a very drinkable beer. (Posted on 12/30/13)
Great flavor Review by Christopher
Rating
This beer has great flavor and fermented fast. cant wait to drink it once it carbonates. gave a few away as Christmas gifts. (Posted on 12/22/13)
pleasantly surprised Review by Garrett
Rating
I got this kit on sale and didn't expect it to turn out as good as it did. It is probably the favorite of all the brown ales I've made so far. It doesn't compare to the expensive kits like the White House honey ale, but for the price, it's awesome.. I always throw in a little brown sugar during the boil to pump up the alcohol. I also cut the hops in half since I don't really like strongly hopped beers. I carb my kegs with 5 oz of brown sugar for extra flavor. This will be one on my regularly brewed kits. (Posted on 12/20/13)

Items 21 to 30 of 169 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register