Extra Pale Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1040
Rating
71 Review(s)
One of our most popular kits for well over a decade, this American-style pale ale is clean, dry, and very hoppy. American hops are the driving force of this beer, featuring the unmistakable citrus (some say grapefruit) aroma of Cascade up front as well as its smooth bittering at the finish. Pale caramel malt counterpoints the hopping with a sweet grain aroma and gives this appetizing ale its medium body and deep gold color.

Pic of U1040

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 71 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8
Great all around beer, easy to brew. Review by Jeff
Rating
I've brewed the extra pale ale 4 times now, over the course of about 3 years. NortherBrewer has changed the recipe a bit here and there, and each batch has turned out great. Easy enough for a beginner to do without being intimated...great for an intermediate to use as a recipe to experiment with by adding/tweaking the ingredients on your own. (Posted on 1/10/14)
its good Review by Elliott
Rating
Its good! If you're a new brewer, follow the recipe EXACTLY and nothing can go wrong. If you want to dry hop it, thats your choice but you risk contamination if you put it in a secondary. If its your first brew, and you like hoppy beers, give it a go! (Posted on 11/22/13)
Great Recipe Kit Review by Brian
Rating
This is a very easy and tasty kit. Would definitely recommend and will definitely buy again. I brewed the extract version. Primary 2 weeks after a stable gravity reading. (Posted on 11/13/13)
Yum, Going to Do This Again! Review by Drew
Rating
This was a great kit. It was my first brew but it was straight forward which meant it was low stress and enjoyable. The result was a nice, tasty pale ale. I did dry hop with 1oz cascade leaf hops in secondary, just because I can't help myself when it comes to hops. They were from my first year crop, so next year when the crop comes in this will definetely be brewed again and likely with 2oz dry hops instead of 1. (Posted on 11/1/13)
Great Brew! Review by THOMAS
Rating
I love cascade hops. I brewed this before and came out good but felt like it needed more cascade. This is the second time I brewed this but this time I decided to dry hop an ounce of cascade. What a difference! This tastes fantastic! Thanks Northern Brewer!! (Posted on 10/10/13)
easy and tasty Review by Dave
Rating
Not as hop forward as an IPA but still interesting. I have found that just about everyone enjoys this beer regardless of what their typical style preference is. (Posted on 9/23/13)
Very good Review by Chris
Rating
One of the best kits in terms of value, drivability, and ease of brewing. It is fun to experiment with this kit as well! (Posted on 9/22/13)
BAM! Review by Chris
Rating
Just cracked the first bottle and WOW!!! Love this beer!!! I dry hopped 2oz of Cascade loose hops, not pellets, in the secondary and waited the full 4 weeks, one week in bottles, and this is by far my best batch! I will brew this one over and over!! (Posted on 7/8/13)
Super! Review by andy
Rating
Dry hopped with 2 ounces of Mosaic and an ounce of Cascade...yum yum yum! My brother in law brewed this and did it by the book, I liked it, but thought it was missing something. The dry hops did it. (Posted on 6/29/13)
Best Kit So Far Review by Brett
Rating
Turned out very good. I dry hopped with 1 oz cascade in secondary. Next time I would dry hop with 2 oz. My best beer yet. (Posted on 4/15/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 71 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register