German Alt Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1060
Rating
35 Review(s)
Alt refers to an old-school, top-fermented style of brewing ale rather than a relatively modern bottom-fermented lager. Altbier is especially associated with the city of Düsseldorf. Alts are a bit difficult to explain to the uninitiated - kind of like a hoppy Oktoberfest? A very malty pale ale? You’ll just have to try a glass of coppery-brown, rich, caramelly, and bitter ale to get the idea.

Pic of U1060

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 35 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Too long to age Review by Andreas
Rating
Brewed this back in September mainly because my dad loves alt's. I was a little let down by this beer at first. Kegged the beer after 6 weeks, and upon tasting it was rather disappointed compared to when I tasted it during the transfer. The bitterness was rather sharp for the style. Considering I'm big on IPAs this shouldn't have been an issue, but it surprised me. Luckily I also bottled 10 beers to save for later. Tasted them between November-January and I was pleasantly surprised by the last month. This beer had become 100x better. Unfortunately that is a long time for a beer that should be great by 8 weeks. I would give the last bottle a 5, but because I was let down by the time it took for this beer to really peak, I can only give it a 3 for those previous months. (Posted on 2/11/14)
excellent beer Review by Edward
Rating
Made this to have something different than an octoberfest. This beer is very good. Followed directions to the letter. Kegged it and did not tap it for a month. It was perfect when first tapped. It is better after another month in the keg. Like the decription it is like a hoppy octoberfest. Nice after taste of hops but not bitter. (Posted on 2/11/14)
Awesome Review by Gabriel
Rating
On my second batch now favorite thus far. (Posted on 1/21/14)
Best Kit I've Ever Brewed Review by Tim
Rating
Followed the recipe pretty closely but I kept in the primary for about 6 weeks. It has turned out great. Nice noble hop nose and great malty taste. Also easily the best color and clarity I've gotten to date. (Posted on 1/5/14)
Excellent alt Review by Marc
Rating
Second batch of alt I have brewed. This one got a taste test by my father who grew up drinking alt in Duesseldorf. Not quite the same as Uerige alt, but he still liked it enough to keep going back to the keg - for me that's a ringing endorsement and I will be brewing this again. Also got rave reviews from the Amis at a recent party. (Posted on 11/30/13)
Nice and Balanced Review by DB
Rating
Recently put this one in bottles for holiday gifts. So far so good, can't wait for it to sit a little longer. I'm sure it will be a hit. Balanced malt and hop flavor. I just ordered the Super Alt recipe kit cuz I want something a little heavier and maltier to keg. (Posted on 11/19/13)
Great German Session Beer! Review by Cidafa
Rating
This is a great German Style Session beer. It has great flavor, not too heavy, easy drinking. Will not last long in my fridge. Not a real high ABV, which is nice once in a while. I will do this one again sometime. I recommend this to anyone.

It was a very easy kit, great for beginners, which I am still consider myself. I also used the WLP036 liquid Yeast, I was impressed with the liquid yeast as compared to the dry as far as taste goes. But, beware to the beginners it does take a bit longer to see fermentation bubbles in your airlock as compared to the dry yeast. Enjoy!!
(Posted on 11/5/13)
Fall at its best Review by Kirt
Rating
Love this beer. I skipped secondary fermentation and did three weeks primary at around 71 degrees rather than the recommended 68 or so. Turned out great. Brewing again but this time with secondary to see the difference. Unique, clean and rare beer. Easily a favorite ! (Posted on 8/6/13)
Fantastic Review by Kyle
Rating
I'm generally prefer more yeast/malt/grain flavors in my beer rather than heavy hop bitterness, so I find a lot to like in German beers in general. This Alt just came out perfect. I'm not sure if it was the malt or specialty grain, but it ended up with this awesome biscuity/grain taste at the end that was perfect, with just enough hops to add a balancing bitterness. I bottle conditioned about 10 days, and then put in the fridge. While it was good after a week in the fridge, after a month in the fridge it was superb! Next time I would be a little more patient and bottle condition it longer. If anyone has ever been to the Cape Ann Brewing Company in Gloucester, MA, this tastes very much like their "Navigator" beer (even though that's a German bock). (Posted on 7/26/13)
Just great Review by RAM5EY
Rating
So hard to describe, but this is a great beer! Make sure to ferment cool and steady and this will turn out well. I used the wyeast in a starter at 62 and this turned out great. (Posted on 6/10/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 35 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register