American Amber Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1070
Rating
40 Review(s)
One of the few styles that American brewers can legitimately call their own. This classic beer brings together brisk hop flavor and a coppery golden color to make a refreshing pint that is still flavorful enough to enjoy year-round. Our American Amber features a firm malty base supporting assertive American hops, a reddish-amber hue and a lingering off-white head of foam. Not quite a pale ale and not quite a brown, this well-balanced beer has a smooth and versatile flavor that you'll want to come back to again and again. Try pairing this ale with anything from pizza to seafood.

Pic of U1070

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 40 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Easy Drinker Review by Aaron
Rating
This is not typically one of my favorite styles but the recipe is well balanced and pleases most who have tried it. (Posted on 7/16/13)
Best session beer that I have ever made! Review by James
Rating
This kit is the best session beer kit that I have ever made. It has a really nice flavor profile and a little more hop kick than you would expect. I brew very often, and I make a lot of really big(giant) beers. I have made this kit twice and I plan to always keep a keg on tap and another ready to go. Keeping a really enjoyable session beer on hand is imperative when having people over of differing tastes, or when you want to drink more than two big beers and function the next day. I have tried many of NB's session type beers and although there is not a bad kit in the lot, I can lose interest in it if it can't grab my taste bud's attention. Every person, craft beer drinker or not has raved about this beer. It will be popular and it will go fast! (Posted on 7/12/13)
Awesome Amber! Review by Steve D.
Rating
This is an easy , simple recipe, with just two hop additions (all Cascade) and the US-05 yeast and it makes a beautiful example of this style. I did just 1 week in the primary, 1 week in the secondary, and after 2 weeks in the bottle I tried it out this past weekend; it's my best brew yet! Some of the comments here say it's too hoppy, but I didn't find that at all. I don't like overly-hopped beers (read IPAs) either, but this beer is well-balanced, with enough malt sweetness to standup to the bitterness. Nice head retention and lacing in the glass too, and oh that beautiful citrus aroma. Another 2 weeks or so in the bottle and I'll be knocking my friends' socks off with this beer. My first kit from Northern Brewer, and I will definitely brew this one again. (Posted on 5/13/13)
OK Flavor Review by Stephen
Rating
This was my first brew...It is a little too 'hoppy' for my taste. Would like to figure out how to make it less 'hoppy' and do this again. My friends who have tried it love the flavor. This one is going to stay on my list of beers that I will brew. I will brew it again after I gain little more experience on playing with flavors. (Posted on 1/26/13)
First Brew Review by Alex
Rating
This was my first brew, done using the basic starter kit and wyeast. It turned out alright, but was far too hoppy for my tastes. My father liked it, however. I did let it condition in the bottle for a week or two beyond the recipe to try and let it mellow some more. I may come back around and try this brew again but not use all the hop pellets called for at some point in the future. (Posted on 1/23/13)
First attempt turned out great! Review by Kris
Rating
This was my first attempt at homebrewing and turned out great! After 2 weeks in the bottle, I was a bit concernced b/c I had no carbonation. At the advice of other homebrewers, I gave the bottles a little shake and moved to a warmer location. After the 3rd week, I tried the beer again and voila - carbonation! My Ale made it's debut at a bbqwith friends to rave reviews. This is a great beer that I will make again. (Posted on 5/30/12)
not a bad Amber Review by J
Rating
I love amber Ale and this one was pretty good. Good flavor but a little too much carmel flavoring. I will try to increase the abount of brew water up to 3.5 gallons and watch the bottom of the pot as it tends to cook some of the malt syrup and leave a burner ring on bottom. One of the draw backs of an electric stove. Will brew again (Posted on 5/3/12)
Flavorful But Not Overpowering Review by Lee
Rating
I brewed this kit as my second attempt in the realm of home brewing; my first attempt was a Kolsch recipe I got from a friend and I made some mistakes in the process and ended up pouring out most of it. With this batch I utilized that which I had learned and this came out fantastic.

I find it has a flavor that is hoppy (but not too much) and smooth with a slight malt note. I've given out several bottles to friends and family and the unanimous verdict is that this recipe is a winner. I'll definately be making more of this in the future but for now, my next batch is the Un-Kolsch limited edition kit.

I followed the recipe directions exactly and used the Wyeast for this batch. Fermented at a constant 68'. Table sugar as the primer at bottling time. It spent 9 days in the primary, 2 weeks in the secondary and a month before I tried the first bottle. OG measured at 1.047, FG came in at 1.010 which Beer Smith tells me is 4.8% ABV. (Posted on 4/29/12)
A mainstay in my beer inventory Review by Carlsbad Jeff
Rating
This is a great amber ale and is very drinkable. I tweaked it a little by taking out one ounce of Cascade in the boil and dry hopping with an ounce of Amarillo. The Amarillo dry hop was a great addition, but I think the next time I make this, I will leave both ounces of Cascade in at the beginning of the boil for a little more bitterness. I will have to keep this in stock at all times. (Posted on 4/17/12)
Great kit Review by William
Rating
This was my first home brew attempt. Very simple brewing day. I used the dry yeast. 2 weeks primary, 2 weeks secondary, and then bottled. First taste was 2 weeks in the bottle and I found the Cascade hops a little strong and too bitter for my taste. Now that it has been conditioning for 1 month the bitterness mellowed out and it is much more enjoyable. This is a great beer kit and I recommend giving it a little extra time in the bottle to condition (1 month). If I was to brew this kit again, I would probably not add the full 2oz of Cascade h ops. (Posted on 3/25/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 40 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register