Kolsch Extract Kit

SKU: U1080
Rating
37 Review(s)
This pale, light-bodied golden ale is copyrighted by, brewed in, and named for the German city of Köln. Kölschbier is traditionally given a long, cold aging period like a lager, which makes for a very smooth and clean beer. A small dose of German Hallertau hops cuts the richness of the malt. "Spritzy" is a word often used to describe Kolsch - very refreshing, and a popular lawnmower beer for beer snobs!

Pic of U1080

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 37 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Great Beer! Review by Joel
Rating
Nice and easy to brew. Very straight foward, I didn't rack to a secondary, just left 3 weeks in the primary. Nice easy drinking beer, would brew again. (Posted on 12/9/13)
Very easy to brew but great tasting beer Review by Steven
Rating
This beer as very simple in the ingredients for someone new to brewing. It is a very balanced refreshing beer for hot summers. I would recommend this beer for first time brewers that don't want to tackle very complex dark beers. (Posted on 11/17/13)
Everyone Loves IT! Review by Kram Sanecam
Rating
I've brewed this one two times now and everyone loves it. Kolsch is so easy and very drinkable. The ladies seem to really take a liking to it as well. (Posted on 10/29/13)
Love it. Review by Jean
Rating
As a new-ish brewer I use kits exclusively and this is one of my favorites. My husband and I came back from Germany and wanted to try replicating the brews. This is a great one. (Posted on 10/22/13)
Excellent summer beer.... Review by Jen M
Rating
Lesson learned: I should have heeded the advice for a blowoff tube. After a three day trip, I came home to the lid of my fermenter blown off, with a mess all over the walls of my closet. So, I have no idea how long the lid was off, but it didn't affect the final taste or quality in the least. After fermentation was over, I bottled it anyway, and it is great. As the description says, this is very "spritzy", much as with champagne. I also added the zest of one lemon at 5 minutes before flameout. It added a very nice fresh, zesty quality.

The brewing and drinking of this beer is a bit of a paradox. You need cooler temps to ferment (mine was about 58-60), but it really tastes best on a very hot day. My advice is to brew in early Spring for later in the summer. I'm brewing a second batch now, but I'm having to cool down the fermenting bucket by keeping it in a larger bucket of cooler water. A bit more work than the first batch.

Anyhow, this is very very good. Even with the extra efforts needed to keep fermentation cool, it is worth it. (Posted on 5/21/13)
Cream corn Review by James
Rating
I didn't like this one, it tasted like cream corn. Friends that drink light beers liked it. The only time I had any enjoyment out of drinking it was when I was eating fried chicken. Maybe it's because I usually eat cream corn when eating fried chicken. (Posted on 5/13/13)
Perfect Summer Brew Review by James
Rating
This is the beer your commercial beer swilling friends will like. It's light, clean, and refreshing. This batch isn't going to last long. (Posted on 5/7/13)
awesome! Review by Paul in Los Gatos
Rating
I'm German, born and raised less than 30 miles from Köln. So I was looking forward brewing this recipe more than anything else. The problem is that I don't really have a controlled temperature fermenting environment, so I had to wait to January to have the basement somewhere close to the recommended 55F. Patience paid off! After a long and slow fermentation using the Wyeast yeast with not touching it for 6 weeks (no secondary) and having it bottled for 3 weeks, it's finally here! Awesome and very close to my favorite Kölsch beers! If you expect something hoppy and crisp like a Northern German Pilsener you will be disappointed though. Kölsch ist mellow and not very hoppy, but at the same time fresh and having lots of malt flavors, just right for a California spring weekend, enjoyed outside on the porch in the sun! (Posted on 4/19/13)
Go To Brew Review by Greg
Rating
This kit holds a permanent spot in my standard rotation (along with the Sierra Madre and Cali Common). I've been brewing this one for about 2 to 3 years and it always turns out great. It's a pretty basic/simple kit but yields some really nice flavors that always please a range of tasters - Even those who "don't like homebrew".

I usually do +/- 10 days in primary @ ~58 degrees. Then rack straight to a keg. Carb @ 11psi. and refrigerate for 2 weeks. It is totally drinkable at that point, but as many others have said, it gets better with a bit of age on it. Generally, I think it hits it's stride around 8 to 10 weeks.

If you are looking for an easy drinking, crowd pleasing brew, you cant go wrong with this one. (Posted on 4/9/13)
Let it age Review by Rob
Rating
I started drinking this too soon. It went from not bad to really enjoyable about the time the last bottle disappeared. I should have let it age an extra month before bringing it out. (Posted on 1/17/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 37 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register