Dry Irish Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1100
Rating
134 Review(s)
Arguably Ireland's most famous export, dry stout has a loyal following all over the world. Our kit has a pronounced roasty, coffee-like flavor and aroma, imparted by a generous helping of roasted barley. Hop bitterness enhances the dryness, and the medium body makes for a very drinkable dark beer. This is one of the most popular styles among home brewers; after a few pints, you'll understand why.

Dry Irish Stout Extract Kit with Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 134 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 14
perfect beer Review by SethTheScientist
Rating
My name is Seth, and I love beer.
I made this stout with white labs Irish ale yeast, 3 weeks primary,3 weeks secondary. The kit makes perfect dry stout, and it is perhaps the easiest drinking beer I have ever had. I call it Break of Dawn Stout(TM) because I wake up thinking about.It's just that good. Hats off to NB. (Posted on 3/28/15)
Awesome stout made by a newbie Review by Patrick
Rating
First time brewer, simple instructions, well assembled, can't wait to make this with the .5 pound of dme suggested in other posts.

Followed instructions exactly and it is definitely stout, not Brown ale, a bit more bitter than Guinness, and nitrogen would be nice to charge it but definitely ordering again (Posted on 3/17/15)
Great beer Review by Nathan
Rating
Will brew again og hit the mark right on as it should taste great smooth on the pallet I would like to try it on nitro I think it would be awesome great beer easy try it! (Posted on 3/15/15)
Very Drinkable and Friendly Review by Dave
Rating
I brewed straight up per kit (no additions of fruit, dme, etc.) and found it to be true to a stout, but not so malted/coffee/etc. that a light-beer drinker wouldn't appreciate it. I'd call this a session stout or a light stout. I'll make it again next winter. (Posted on 2/16/15)
Very Dry, but Good! Review by Brandon
Rating
I didn't really understand how a beer could taste dry until I made this kit.

Don't know if it's the taste or the dryness, but as soon as I have one of these I find myself reaching for another! (Posted on 1/10/15)
I added raspberries Review by jon doe
Rating
I made this a few months ago and the recipe had an estimated abv slightly lower then i would have liked but i just threw four lb of raspberries in at flame out and and it turn in to a different beast all together. (Posted on 8/28/14)
One of my Go-to Brews Review by Wade
Rating
I've brewed this many times. I love stout, and this is my standard go-to stout recipe. I had an elderly friend from Australia taste it, and he commented that it was one of the best stout's he ever had - and I have to agree. I use filtered water, add a little gypsum, do a full-boil, and use a secondary fermentation, and keg it with standard CO2 (don't have nitrogen yet). It turns out perfect every time. Highly recommended. (Posted on 7/16/14)
Ale'ish Review by Geoff
Rating
I purchased this kit due to the quality and quantity of reviews. 4.5 stars at 126 reviews, indicated it would be a stout beer for sure. Irish stout, made me think it would be close to a Guiness. I enjoy Guiness and use it to compare all other stouts to.

Before purchasing I read through the reviews and noticed someone suggested adding 1/2 lb of a malted sugar to it (forgetting the name at the moment) to beef up the body. A recommendation by a master brewer at Northern Brewer.

The brew went just fine. I bottled using fizz drops, 2 per 750ml bottle. Upon first tasting it was nothing close to Guiness. Far more of a brown ale, which was my brew two batches ago. Slightly heavier than the Brown Ale, but definitely a brown ale. When I offer it to others, I tell them it's a brown ale.

I tried, I succeeded but it just wasn't what I felt it was advertised as. 3 stars here as I feel Northern is a great company, but may try to readjust the description a bit. (Posted on 7/13/14)
Great cold weather beer Review by Matt
Rating
I brewed this after a several month hiatus in early 2014. Was a solid, sessionable stout. Not as thick as many stouts, but definitely has the characteristic flavors (Posted on 7/3/14)
Very Guinness like! Review by Garth
Rating
Just drank the first bottle of this batch and I think it is as good, if not better than Guinness!! (Posted on 6/9/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 134 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 14

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register