Dry Irish Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1100
Rating
128 Review(s)
Arguably Ireland's most famous export, dry stout has a loyal following all over the world. Our kit has a pronounced roasty, coffee-like flavor and aroma, imparted by a generous helping of roasted barley. Hop bitterness enhances the dryness, and the medium body makes for a very drinkable dark beer. This is one of the most popular styles among home brewers; after a few pints, you'll understand why.

Dry Irish Stout Extract Kit with Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 128 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 13
One of my Go-to Brews Review by Wade
Rating
I've brewed this many times. I love stout, and this is my standard go-to stout recipe. I had an elderly friend from Australia taste it, and he commented that it was one of the best stout's he ever had - and I have to agree. I use filtered water, add a little gypsum, do a full-boil, and use a secondary fermentation, and keg it with standard CO2 (don't have nitrogen yet). It turns out perfect every time. Highly recommended. (Posted on 7/16/14)
Ale'ish Review by Geoff
Rating
I purchased this kit due to the quality and quantity of reviews. 4.5 stars at 126 reviews, indicated it would be a stout beer for sure. Irish stout, made me think it would be close to a Guiness. I enjoy Guiness and use it to compare all other stouts to.

Before purchasing I read through the reviews and noticed someone suggested adding 1/2 lb of a malted sugar to it (forgetting the name at the moment) to beef up the body. A recommendation by a master brewer at Northern Brewer.

The brew went just fine. I bottled using fizz drops, 2 per 750ml bottle. Upon first tasting it was nothing close to Guiness. Far more of a brown ale, which was my brew two batches ago. Slightly heavier than the Brown Ale, but definitely a brown ale. When I offer it to others, I tell them it's a brown ale.

I tried, I succeeded but it just wasn't what I felt it was advertised as. 3 stars here as I feel Northern is a great company, but may try to readjust the description a bit. (Posted on 7/13/14)
Great cold weather beer Review by Matt
Rating
I brewed this after a several month hiatus in early 2014. Was a solid, sessionable stout. Not as thick as many stouts, but definitely has the characteristic flavors (Posted on 7/3/14)
Very Guinness like! Review by Garth
Rating
Just drank the first bottle of this batch and I think it is as good, if not better than Guinness!! (Posted on 6/9/14)
Good beer for the price Review by David
Rating
The dry Irish stout was fun to make, it is a good beer, just not what I was looking for, if you are looking for a Guinness type beer try one of the other stouts, this was more like a dark brown ale to me, but still a very good beer for the price, don't think I would make this one again, some of my IPA buddies did like this one a lot!! (Posted on 5/11/14)
Pretty good Review by Rayhat
Rating
Just kegged it and was pissed that I dumped the last few pints on the yeast cake. It tasted the best I've brewed. Novice kegged. (Posted on 2/12/14)
Great Place to Start Review by John
Rating
This kit is exactly as described. A good, basic Dry Irish Stout recipe, that results in an easy to drink and close to style stout. If you're looking to brew your first (or one if many) stouts, this is a good place to start.
(Posted on 2/8/14)
I love this kit Review by Kyle
Rating
This is my second brew of this kit and both have turned out fantastic. I used the dry yeast option both times.

The first brew followed the directions exactly. the result was a surprising light, very drinkable and excellent tasting stout. I'm usually a 2-3 beer person on a night and I found myself drinking 4-5 with this, so I went through the batch quickly. The beer was light enough that I would characterize it as a beer fit for summer.

For the second batch, I wanted to give it a bit more body so I asked the NB brew master if he had a DME he would recommend adding to the kit. I ended up putting in a 1/2 lb of Briess Golden Light DME in addition to what the kit required. No additional hops. The result is exactly what I wanted. A higher ABV but also a heartier beer, perfect for winter and early spring. I would not recommend adding more than a 1/2 lb. Kudos to the recommendation, NB.

I'll continue to brew this as one of my main beers and adjusting the recipe based on the season. (Posted on 2/7/14)
Blowoff Hose Essential! Review by Anton
Rating
Take Note: within 24 hours of pitching yeast this beer was very active, a blowoff hose is essential when brewing this beer. I used the Safale S-04 Ale Yeast and it did the job wonderfully. (Posted on 1/24/14)
Nice Review by Randall
Rating
Second time brewing this one. Added some vanilla and roasted oats. Drank the first one too soon (just like all the other brews I've done). But with a little time on it, the flavor is excellant
(Posted on 1/22/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 128 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 13

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register