Dry Irish Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1100
Rating
123 Review(s)
Arguably Ireland's most famous export, dry stout has a loyal following all over the world. Our kit has a pronounced roasty, coffee-like flavor and aroma, imparted by a generous helping of roasted barley. Hop bitterness enhances the dryness, and the medium body makes for a very drinkable dark beer. This is one of the most popular styles among home brewers; after a few pints, you'll understand why.

Dry Irish Stout Extract Kit with Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 123 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 13
Pretty good Review by Rayhat
Rating
Just kegged it and was pissed that I dumped the last few pints on the yeast cake. It tasted the best I've brewed. Novice kegged. (Posted on 2/12/14)
Great Place to Start Review by John
Rating
This kit is exactly as described. A good, basic Dry Irish Stout recipe, that results in an easy to drink and close to style stout. If you're looking to brew your first (or one if many) stouts, this is a good place to start.
(Posted on 2/8/14)
I love this kit Review by Kyle
Rating
This is my second brew of this kit and both have turned out fantastic. I used the dry yeast option both times.

The first brew followed the directions exactly. the result was a surprising light, very drinkable and excellent tasting stout. I'm usually a 2-3 beer person on a night and I found myself drinking 4-5 with this, so I went through the batch quickly. The beer was light enough that I would characterize it as a beer fit for summer.

For the second batch, I wanted to give it a bit more body so I asked the NB brew master if he had a DME he would recommend adding to the kit. I ended up putting in a 1/2 lb of Briess Golden Light DME in addition to what the kit required. No additional hops. The result is exactly what I wanted. A higher ABV but also a heartier beer, perfect for winter and early spring. I would not recommend adding more than a 1/2 lb. Kudos to the recommendation, NB.

I'll continue to brew this as one of my main beers and adjusting the recipe based on the season. (Posted on 2/7/14)
Blowoff Hose Essential! Review by Anton
Rating
Take Note: within 24 hours of pitching yeast this beer was very active, a blowoff hose is essential when brewing this beer. I used the Safale S-04 Ale Yeast and it did the job wonderfully. (Posted on 1/24/14)
Nice Review by Randall
Rating
Second time brewing this one. Added some vanilla and roasted oats. Drank the first one too soon (just like all the other brews I've done). But with a little time on it, the flavor is excellant
(Posted on 1/22/14)
Easy to make Review by Matt
Rating
Easy to make dark beer! (Posted on 1/15/14)
Stout drinker - can't go wrong with this Review by Jeff
Rating
This was my first attempt at brewing a stout. My wife was after me since we had just returned from a trip to Dublin. She had developed a thirst for a very famous commercial stout. The timing just happened to coincide with the 14.92 columbus day promotion so I purchased two.

It is very easy to brew and the taste is very, very authentic. The color is off as is tends to be very dark and not the deep ruby of the almost mentioned stout. The only thing missing is the creamy head produced via the tap as I'm a bottler. I improvised a bit by using an aggressive glass pour to produce a little extra head.

For the price (normal price) you can't go wrong which makes the value of the $14.92 purchase incredible. (Posted on 1/11/14)
So far, so good Review by Joye
Rating
We brewed last week, so we are in primary fermentation. The SG was perfect, so we are looking forward to a great batch. (Posted on 1/10/14)
Dry Irish Stout is a definite 4.5 star - give it a try Review by Extract brewer
Rating
Definitely not a heavy stout, but has the definite smoky profile and dark color. A relatively easy brew with a partial mash. I found that adding an extra 1 lb of Light DME brought the O.G. near 1.060 to give yield a better final alcohol content. The Wyeast Smack pack was agressive with a 24 hr prep time and handled the higher gravitiy. For the price of this kit, you may or may not love this beer but you should not be disappointed, it does rival what you can buy in a Irish style 6 pack. I think giving this one an extra 2 weeks of aging may be a big benefit. Next time I plan on trying the dry yeast option to compare. (Posted on 1/9/14)
My Favorite Extract Brew Review by Ted
Rating
I've been brewing for nearly a decade now, and I mostly produce all-grain beers; however this is one kit that I make over and over again. It's an easy beer to make and produces a great session stout. 2-3 weeks in primary then kegged and carbed on beergas. Served on a nitro stout tap. This beer has a bit more bitterness and robust roasted barley flavor than Guinness, both of which I prefer. The head upon serving out of my nitro tap is darker than the creamy white Guinness head, but that is most likely due to how I have the tap system set up. (Posted on 1/9/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 123 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 13

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register