Sweet Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1130
Rating
25 Review(s)
A jet-black ale with a roasted-malt character that's offset by residual sweetness and full body - think of sweetened black coffee. De-bittered black and chocolate malts yield a pronounced - but not harsh - roast grain quality, while lactose (an unfermentable milk-based sugar) yields a rich sweetness and creamy mouthfeel. Very nice as an after-dinner drink instead of coffee, or with chocolate desserts.

Pic of U1130

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 25 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Best Dark Beer I Have Brewed Review by rob
Rating
Not a big dark beer drinker but love variety so I thought I'd try this one. Gave it 4 weeks in the bottle and brewed exactly to NB guide. Without a doubt my best dark brew ever. My friends love it and it won't last long. Time in the bottle is important. Like Yum its in my rotation. Really great brew. Head is perfect when poured right not too sweet but not at all bitter. (Posted on 5/2/14)
Great Brew Review by beersnob
Rating
This is an excellent winter beer but I also enjoy it in the summer time. I do add a double batch of the syrup recipe on the Hershey's Coco can for an extra hit of the chocolate flavor. (Posted on 3/8/14)
Great beer-absolutely one of my favorites Review by Bob
Rating
This beer is always extremely popular with anyone who tries it. I have even had friends who don't like beer tell me this is really a good beer-and they have a couple to prove the point. This is my standard winter beer. (Posted on 12/31/13)
Great Beer Review by JM
Rating
I didn't let it ferment as long as I normally like, but I brewed as a Christmas gift for my brother and he loved it. Easy to make too! (Posted on 12/25/13)
Fantastic Stout! Review by Mike
Rating
first off, I added 5 vanilla beans to secondary for a nice vanilla stout...that said, this stout is fantastic. Addition of lactose give it a creamy mouthfeel, similar to Guiness without having to be carbed with nitrogen. Smooth as silk and tasty! Will brew again. (Posted on 12/10/13)
For those who don't care for stout Review by Andy
Rating
I've shared this brew with non-stout drinkers. After reluctantly trying it, they agree it is not like other stouts they've had. It is smooth with a pleasant dark chocolate finish.
I think of this as a dessert beer, if there is such a thing.
Very pleasant and enjoyable. (Posted on 11/19/13)
Sufficiently Subtle Sweetness Review by Timothy
Rating
Beer such as this was meant to be enjoyed throughout the long winters of the northern Midwest! This is my favorite brew (and beverage) from now through March! The subtle sweetness, the ample body and alcohol content are sufficient to keep me warm in the coldest evenings. (Posted on 10/23/13)
Better than other Milk Stout kits I've used Review by David
Rating
This is a really solid extract kit. I love the dark, roasty, chocolaty flavors behind the moderate sweetness of the beer. I wouldn't adjust anything if I could in this recipe - the sweetness is perfect. It's not overdone and doesn't distract from the rest of the flavors. Two weeks after bottling and it's good to drink. After reading the previous comments, I can't wait to see how much better this will get.

(Posted on 6/3/13)
Not quite sweet enough. Review by dean
Rating
We have been brewing for 5 or 6 years now and have tried many kits from Northern and have liked them all with very few exceptions. This one is an exception. I think the sweetness may be the reason but we love our beer here and this one just didnt work for us. love the St Paul Porter though (Posted on 5/20/13)
YUM Review by RX
Rating
this is going into rotation. thick, a little sweet and just a slight bite at the end. black as night.
YUM! (Posted on 3/19/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 25 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register