Imperial Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1140
Rating
33 Review(s)
Imperial stouts were first brewed in England for export to the royal courts of the Russian Tsars. The Tsars are gone but the beer remains, the "War and Peace" of stouts. This kit yields a pitch black beer with tan head, resounding with burnt, bitter chocolate character, hops, and syrupy malt. A viscous, chewy body finishing with lots of roast grain and a warming alcohol note. A nice companion on a cold winter night or accompanying chocolate dessert. Recommended: 2-stage fermentation and yeast starter.

Pic of U1140

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Imperial Goodness Review by Anders
Rating
I added bourbon soaked Medium Toast Oak Spirals (2.5), bourbon soaked vanilla beans (2), and 2oz of vodka soaked cacao nibs to this beer. The result is pretty phenomenal. I wish I had saved some unadulterated, but alas. It makes for a great base for adding tasty extras. As I saw in a review I used a blowoff tube - DO THAT! Overall an easy kit - takes a while to be ready but it's worth the wait (Posted on 2/18/14)
Bottling day Review by Jeff
Rating
Brewed Thanksgiving weekend. Made an awesome mess during fermentation. I added a pound of dark Belgium candy at the end of the boil. Added coarse ground coffee last week. Samples have tasted great (Posted on 1/26/14)
On the repeat brew list Review by Tom
Rating
Just finished bottling my third batch. Not sure if my second batch will keep me in stock for the extra month I like to bottle age this beer. Will be making my forth batch soon so I have enough for my next party. This is one smooth beer it takes some time don't rush the aging process and you will be well rewarded. (Posted on 12/11/13)
Award winning brew. Review by Richard
Rating
I took two judges awards, and third over-all in a competition. (Posted on 12/8/13)
Yes! Blow off tube!!! Review by Steve
Rating
Brewed SOB #14 5/13. Put the primary in my closet and 24hrs later there was krausen coming out of the air lock. Ran and hooked up a blow off tube. All night I would wake up and here the blup...blup... of the yeasties doing their job. Primary for one month and straight to the bottle. 10% ABV. The alcohol was too much in the beginning. A cough-syrupy hit of alcohol on the front end followed by the great tastes of a dark stout or porter. It has been five months and the stout has mellowed some. The alcohol note is still there but not as face smacking as before, then the delicious taste of chocolate, caramel, coffee lingers after swallowing. This beer is great to sip on. Followed charts for the amount of priming sugar so I did not use the full 5oz. This beer has a great tan, thick head that lasts till the final drop. If you like alcohol and dark beer this is for you.! Will brew this one again. (Posted on 11/18/13)
Dying to try Review by Pete
Rating
My girlfriend and I brewed this beer a littl over a month ago and we both love imperial stouts and can't wait to finally crack into it. Be aware there is some activity in the airlock during secondary fermentation. I will definitely put another review after bottling and getting to drink one. (Posted on 10/20/13)
I call it "The Grudge" Review by anthony
Rating
I added 1lb dark Belgian candi sugar and got a og of 1.096. I went to Montana for work and suffered a blow off, lucky for me, my wife cleaned it up and only insisted I buy some fermcap, haha.
Racked to secondary (fg 1.024) and added cocoa nibs. It sat in the secondary for 5 months before I added some American medium plus oak soaked in Bulliet Rye Whiskey. Bottling after 2 months on oak. Yum yum yum! (Posted on 9/18/13)
use a blow off tube Review by mark
Rating
Just after 12 hours in my 6.5 gallon carboy it blew the air lock off , good thing I had a blow off tube , with the blow off tube in a bottle of water it sounded like a air hose being blown in there (Posted on 4/8/13)
Delicious Review by Sean
Rating
My favorite brews have always been the darker stouts. With that in mind, I bought this kit with high hopes. Was not disappointed. Smell great when brewed, tasted pretty good when transferred to the secondary, tasted great when bottling and is amazing after 3 weeks in the bottle.

One thing I would recommend to anyone looking to brew this; blow off tube. I have a 6.5 gallon carboy, filled to a little under 5gallons and suffered a blow out ( fortunately nothing serious, I caught it well before it made a huge mess ).

Highly recommended if you like the dark and offensive brews. (Posted on 1/29/13)
Superbly Aged Review by M. Shea
Rating
I brewed this kit 3 years ago, during an August heat wave. I drank all but one the following winter 2010. I just drank the last one here during a chilly Nebraska night. All flavors had blended together, not leaving your typical 5 part experience to tasting a young beer of this type. The alcohol bite long gone, replaced by the gentle mouth coating chocolate. Do age this beer. (Posted on 12/28/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register