Imperial Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1140
Rating
36 Review(s)
Imperial stouts were first brewed in England for export to the royal courts of the Russian Tsars. The Tsars are gone but the beer remains, the "War and Peace" of stouts. This kit yields a pitch black beer with tan head, resounding with burnt, bitter chocolate character, hops, and syrupy malt. A viscous, chewy body finishing with lots of roast grain and a warming alcohol note. A nice companion on a cold winter night or accompanying chocolate dessert. Recommended: 2-stage fermentation and yeast starter.

Pic of U1140

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
***Read Reviews: Use Blow off tube*** Review by Tyler
Rating
The top on my brewing bucket shot off about 12-14 hours into fermentation.

I brew at my girlfriends place so she wasn't too thrilled when she woke up this morning to the mess, but the dog loved it.

After I cleaned everything up I returned the top to the brewing bucket and put a new airlock on. Within a minute krausen started spewing from the airlock.

Went back on my lunch break today after reading some reviews and beer forums on using a blow off tube.

Seem to have the eruption under control and the beer that collected on the top of the lid is already pretty good.

Looking forward to seeing how it turns out.
(Posted on 2/16/15)
Super Simple, High OG, Smells Great Review by Thomas O'Brien
Rating
Brewed this on 1.25.15 and I must say that it was super easy, and smelled great! Topped off the Carboy to make it 5gal and got an OG of 1.111 temp corrected to 60*F. I Used White Labs WLP007 Dry English Yeast with a starter and fermentation and WOW! Use a Blow-off hose with this yeast. I'm on day 4 of fermentation and things seem to be slowing down a bit. Did a taste test before pitching the yeast and this is a bold complex recipe with prominent dryness, coffee, and mild chocolate flavors that will definitely mellow out and blend together nicely once in secondary for a couple months. The Hops gives it a nice mild bitterness and very subtle warming comforting aroma. This beer should be ready to drink early May 2015, but I'll probably let half the batch age until October or so as it's flavor profile is more in-line with the cooler months. I'll keep you updated in a few months. Cheers!! (Posted on 1/29/15)
Brewed April 2011, shared the last bottle with friends January 2015. Review by Tom
Rating
This beer ages amazingly well. I see plenty of reviews talking about how great it is after a year, and it IS, but it really comes into it's own at around the 2-3 year mark. If you can wait it out you'll thank yourself. Make sure you use Oxygen absorbing caps and wax your bottles to seal them up tight before stashing them away to grow up.

Cheers. (Posted on 1/14/15)
Imperial Goodness Review by Anders
Rating
I added bourbon soaked Medium Toast Oak Spirals (2.5), bourbon soaked vanilla beans (2), and 2oz of vodka soaked cacao nibs to this beer. The result is pretty phenomenal. I wish I had saved some unadulterated, but alas. It makes for a great base for adding tasty extras. As I saw in a review I used a blowoff tube - DO THAT! Overall an easy kit - takes a while to be ready but it's worth the wait (Posted on 2/18/14)
Bottling day Review by Jeff
Rating
Brewed Thanksgiving weekend. Made an awesome mess during fermentation. I added a pound of dark Belgium candy at the end of the boil. Added coarse ground coffee last week. Samples have tasted great (Posted on 1/26/14)
On the repeat brew list Review by Tom
Rating
Just finished bottling my third batch. Not sure if my second batch will keep me in stock for the extra month I like to bottle age this beer. Will be making my forth batch soon so I have enough for my next party. This is one smooth beer it takes some time don't rush the aging process and you will be well rewarded. (Posted on 12/11/13)
Award winning brew. Review by Richard
Rating
I took two judges awards, and third over-all in a competition. (Posted on 12/8/13)
Yes! Blow off tube!!! Review by Steve
Rating
Brewed SOB #14 5/13. Put the primary in my closet and 24hrs later there was krausen coming out of the air lock. Ran and hooked up a blow off tube. All night I would wake up and here the blup...blup... of the yeasties doing their job. Primary for one month and straight to the bottle. 10% ABV. The alcohol was too much in the beginning. A cough-syrupy hit of alcohol on the front end followed by the great tastes of a dark stout or porter. It has been five months and the stout has mellowed some. The alcohol note is still there but not as face smacking as before, then the delicious taste of chocolate, caramel, coffee lingers after swallowing. This beer is great to sip on. Followed charts for the amount of priming sugar so I did not use the full 5oz. This beer has a great tan, thick head that lasts till the final drop. If you like alcohol and dark beer this is for you.! Will brew this one again. (Posted on 11/18/13)
Dying to try Review by Pete
Rating
My girlfriend and I brewed this beer a littl over a month ago and we both love imperial stouts and can't wait to finally crack into it. Be aware there is some activity in the airlock during secondary fermentation. I will definitely put another review after bottling and getting to drink one. (Posted on 10/20/13)
I call it "The Grudge" Review by anthony
Rating
I added 1lb dark Belgian candi sugar and got a og of 1.096. I went to Montana for work and suffered a blow off, lucky for me, my wife cleaned it up and only insisted I buy some fermcap, haha.
Racked to secondary (fg 1.024) and added cocoa nibs. It sat in the secondary for 5 months before I added some American medium plus oak soaked in Bulliet Rye Whiskey. Bottling after 2 months on oak. Yum yum yum! (Posted on 9/18/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register