Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
181 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 181 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 19
we screwed up this recipe :( Review by Julissa
Rating
Things went wrong with my husband and I brewing this recipe :(
we followed the recipe step by step. Everything was going very well until right before adding the yeast. the recipe called for 5 gallons and said to add water to reach the 5 gallon. so after we added the water to reach our 5 gallons we took the reading for OG and it came out to 1.030 (totally off, of what it should be). anyhow, we continued and added the yeast to ferment which it did very well.
after 2 weeks we are ready to bottle and the FG is 1.012, the ABV came out to 2.36%. ahhh!!!
after reading a few comments about what couldve happened we realized we need to measure the gravity little by little before adding the total amount of water. our end result was to DUMP it! :(
well we learned something, but we had wished that NB had also out this in the instructions as a tip.
"beer lost is lesson learned" that is how we took this.
so, we will brew it again!!! never giving up!!!
cheers (Posted on 12/8/14)
Good Hef Review by William
Rating
Fast brew from boil to mouth. Everyone loves it, will do again. (Posted on 11/13/14)
Easy to brew, easier to drink Review by Tim
Rating
Started home brewing in April. Thought I would try a variety of styles for the experience and though I don't like hefeweizens I have family who enjoy the style. This is an easy recipe and surprisingly (to me) very enjoyable to drink. I used White Labs WLP351 Bavarian Hefe Yeast recommended by my local home brew shop. A vigorous ferment (first use of the blow off) at 64F and it was good to go. Bottled with recommended sugar amount. After 4 weeks in the bottle I shared with family. Initial clove flavors were followed by slight fruitiness then banana with great mouthfeel. Everyone who sampled it really enjoyed the mix of flavors. Will definitely brew this one again. (Posted on 9/18/14)
A Big Hit! Review by Kirk
Rating
Brewed this kit for my daughters wedding reception. Named it the "I Do Brew". Had people who normally don't drink beer try it just for fun....they loved it. Very subtle banana and clove notes with a nice spritzy finish. Even had guys ask if the could buy some from my next batch...that say's it all. (Posted on 9/15/14)
Easy to brew, more effort to ferment Review by Volrath99
Rating
Great flavors of banana, clove, and rich bread delivered in a silky mouth feel.

Very easy beer to brew. A lot of the flavors are developed during fermentation. I've brewed this before in the low 70s and got more banana and bubble gum flavors. This brew was high 60s and it was a balance of banana and clove with rich bread flavors.

Blow off tube was necessary. (Posted on 9/12/14)
Underwhelmed Review by Mike
Rating
As other reviewers have mentioned, there just seems to be something missing from this beer. I brewed it a second time (3068 yeast both times) to make sure it wasn't my process. I'm also a huge fan of the style. This beer smells great and has a decent aftertaste, but in between is lacking in substance. It's not hefeweizzy enough for my tastes., if you know what I mean. (Posted on 8/24/14)
This Bavarian Hef rocks! Review by Vince
Rating
I've been home brewing since just this past December and have recently made this beer for my wife who is a big BH fan. Extremely easy recipe and very enjoyable to drink, even for this IPA fan, especially on a hot summer's day. I used White Labs WLP351 Bavarian Hef Yeast and glad that I did - the banana and cloves flavors are there! Also, having a temp controlled chest freezer to both ferment and bottle condition, has turned this and other NB extract kits out perfect! I will make this again and again. Why? Because she LOVES it and you know what they say about a happy wife, right? (Posted on 8/11/14)
A very good wheat Review by Barry
Rating
Very easy kit. Really had a banana aroma and taste at first but has mellowed with age. I will brew this again. Great wheat beer! (Posted on 7/15/14)
Great brew! Review by Jabo
Rating
I am a big fan of wheat beers to start with. This brew was super easy & came out great. I used the Wyeast option. 2 weeks in primary & bottle conditioned. (Posted on 6/3/14)
2nd ever brew, 1st Hefe, Reordering!! Review by Jason
Rating
This was my second ever brew, and my first hefeweizen, and it has been a HUGE hit! I've even made believers out of non beer drinkers (including non home brew drinkers)! This batch is going fast, and I'm reordering it again. Get the Wyeast 3068, as people have recommended. I followed the instructions for the entire batch, except the priming sugar was confusing. The package says one thing (for general use, I'm sure), but the beer kit says another. I followed what the kit said to do. (Posted on 5/28/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 181 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 19

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register