Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
177 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 177 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
Easy to brew, more effort to ferment Review by Volrath99
Rating
Great flavors of banana, clove, and rich bread delivered in a silky mouth feel.

Very easy beer to brew. A lot of the flavors are developed during fermentation. I've brewed this before in the low 70s and got more banana and bubble gum flavors. This brew was high 60s and it was a balance of banana and clove with rich bread flavors.

Blow off tube was necessary. (Posted on 9/12/14)
Underwhelmed Review by Mike
Rating
As other reviewers have mentioned, there just seems to be something missing from this beer. I brewed it a second time (3068 yeast both times) to make sure it wasn't my process. I'm also a huge fan of the style. This beer smells great and has a decent aftertaste, but in between is lacking in substance. It's not hefeweizzy enough for my tastes., if you know what I mean. (Posted on 8/24/14)
This Bavarian Hef rocks! Review by Vince
Rating
I've been home brewing since just this past December and have recently made this beer for my wife who is a big BH fan. Extremely easy recipe and very enjoyable to drink, even for this IPA fan, especially on a hot summer's day. I used White Labs WLP351 Bavarian Hef Yeast and glad that I did - the banana and cloves flavors are there! Also, having a temp controlled chest freezer to both ferment and bottle condition, has turned this and other NB extract kits out perfect! I will make this again and again. Why? Because she LOVES it and you know what they say about a happy wife, right? (Posted on 8/11/14)
A very good wheat Review by Barry
Rating
Very easy kit. Really had a banana aroma and taste at first but has mellowed with age. I will brew this again. Great wheat beer! (Posted on 7/15/14)
Great brew! Review by Jabo
Rating
I am a big fan of wheat beers to start with. This brew was super easy & came out great. I used the Wyeast option. 2 weeks in primary & bottle conditioned. (Posted on 6/3/14)
2nd ever brew, 1st Hefe, Reordering!! Review by Jason
Rating
This was my second ever brew, and my first hefeweizen, and it has been a HUGE hit! I've even made believers out of non beer drinkers (including non home brew drinkers)! This batch is going fast, and I'm reordering it again. Get the Wyeast 3068, as people have recommended. I followed the instructions for the entire batch, except the priming sugar was confusing. The package says one thing (for general use, I'm sure), but the beer kit says another. I followed what the kit said to do. (Posted on 5/28/14)
Great Kit! Review by Drew
Rating
Great extract kit! Used the 3068 yeast w/3 weeks in primary then straight to keg. Had quite a bit of Krausen for the first few days. Turned out similar in color to Franziskaner Dunkel Weizen. Fermented at 64-66F and banana/clove flavors are nicely balanced but more to the spicy side (my preference). Will be brewing this again soon! (Posted on 5/24/14)
Banana Beer Review by Tony
Rating
I experienced a very fast and aggressive fermentation as others have noted. Switched to a blow-off tube when I saw the yeast ramp up quickly, and even that clogged and popped the lid off my fermenter!
The beer is very unique and flavorful, but the strong banana characteristics is not to my liking (yet?). The fruitiness is softening with age, and is growing on me somewhat, but I'm not looking forward to drinking 5 gallons of this. Fortunately, others like it a lot, and it's a great beer to give to those looking for something new and different. (Posted on 5/18/14)
Wyeast 3068 gets aggressive! Review by Bradley
Rating
Just bottled today so I will leave another review in a week when I get a taste.

Let me first say that this is/was my first 5gal batch, having just moved up from 3 batches of mr. beer kits.

I went with the Wyeast 3068 after reading the reviews here. It came in a smack pack, which took quite a few smacks because I didn't want to accidentally pop the whole bag at first. The pack was completely ballooned in about 2 hours. I pitched after about 3 hours.

Woke up the next morning and had steady bubbles coming through the airlock. Came back from work that day and the airlock was getting overwhelmed. I watched as it started to get clogged up. Since this was my first batch, I didn't know how to set up a blow off tube. Originally, I took the 6' tube that connects to the auto siphon and taped it to the top of the airlock, with it ending in a pot half full of sanitizer water. That didn't last long because the weight of the tube was pulling the airlock to the side and the tape wasn't working for various reasons as well. So I just took the airlock off and put the tube straight into the bung. That worked out well, and I'll probably do that for now on. The blow off setup was only needed for another 24 hours at most, but I left it for 2 or 3 days to be safe. After that, I cleaned the airlock and continued with that.

I kept in primary a total of 18 days, but it could have been bottled much sooner. Maybe even as early as 8 or 9 days. I was hoping the banana aroma would punch me in the nose, but it was moderate. That might have to do with my inconsistent fermentation temperature. I ended up with 4.5 gallons, 1 of which I am aging/conditioning (maybe with orange peels). 3.5 gallons should be ready for drinking in about a week. (Posted on 4/26/14)
Delicious Review by Chandler
Rating
This was mine and my boyfriends second brew (first being irish red) and we loved it! Fermented in primary for three weeks, skipped secondary, and bottle conditioned for two weeks. They tasted incredible! Even my boyfriend's parents were surprised. And they were pretty strong too, maybe around 6% (estimation). (Posted on 3/25/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 177 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register