Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
174 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 91 to 100 of 174 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 18
Super easy and good in 2 weeks! Review by Tim
Rating
I was amazed how fast I was able to brew this beer. There are no steeping grains which cut out quite a bit of time. I used Wyeast 3068 and love the banana notes I get from it. Great beer that you don't have to cellar. (Posted on 10/15/12)
awesome hydro sample..cant wait for finished product!! Review by Dale
Rating
pulled sample to check gravity, and, man it was the stuff!! I am a big wheat fan, and I believe this is going to be the bomb when finished!! GO WHEAT!! (Posted on 10/2/12)
Good Hefe for you! Review by Scott
Rating
Originally, I was going to give this beer 4 stars because I thought it was a good hefe but didn't knock my socks off. I bought some Paulaner (which I believe the recipe is based on) and did a side by side comparison. Both have almost the same smell. As for color, well with extract, you get brown or brown. Can't comment too much on the carbonation level, as I kegged it and sat it at 12 PSI which is a bit low for hefe. As for the taste, upfront everything is very, very close. The aftertaste is where I saw my differences. My beer seemed to need slight more attenuation, and was a bit more estery and the flavor was more long lasting. Maybe I fermented a bit warm. I also added all the hops into a full boil, probably should have cut that by 15% (Posted on 9/14/12)
Darn good beer! Review by htr230
Rating
Brewed this beer about a month ago, very easy. Thats why I chose it. It gets better every time I open one and will do this one again. I used the dry yeast last time and don't plan to change a thing. (Posted on 8/29/12)
Great!!! Review by kenneth
Rating
This is my second ever brewed beer. Came out outstanding. Family love it, first swallow has a strong kick but than it mellows out. Would recommend. (Posted on 8/26/12)
1st brew, disappointing carbonation, decent taste Review by Mike G
Rating
This was my 1st brew. I used the dry yeast option which I now realize was probably my mistake. While fermenting it had tons of banana and clove smell but the final taste has very little complexity or banana and clove taste. It has a strong wheat and yeast taste which is still a very good hefe. Unfortunately it has been bottle conditioning for about 2 months and is still slightly under carbonated. I think the problem might be that I followed the priming directions exactly, but I let the beer ferment for the entire 2 weeks though it seemed to have finished after 4 days. I probably should have put a full cup of corn sugar instead of 2/3 cup. Overall ok brew, I'm not too excited to try it again. (Posted on 8/8/12)
Amazing Summer Beer with Little Effort to Brew Review by volrath99
Rating
Every time I open a bottle of this beer I am amazed by it. I know it is going to be good but it still shocks me how good. This recipe is extremely easy. Beer is ready to drink very quickly. Long bottle conditioning not needed. Only problem I had is the krausen shot threw the airlock the 1st day of fermentation.

Banana aroma. Great taste. Starts off with a light wheat taste and finishes with a fruity flavor.
(Posted on 8/3/12)
Fantastic flavorful summer beer Review by dereksh
Rating
I brewed it last year with the recommended yeast, and this year with White Labs WLP380. It was very good last year, and wonderful this year! This is a very simple extract brew to make. Try it, and don't be afraid to experiment with different Hefeweizen yeasts. Next year, I'm going to increase my boil volume to try to lighten the color a bit. (Posted on 8/3/12)
Loved it. Review by Mark
Rating
Comparable to hacker pschorr weiss, perhaps better. Bottled mine in Grolsch pint bottles and really wish I had more right now! Time to reorder, but I have others in progress. (Posted on 8/2/12)
Fantastic Beer, anytime of year Review by G-Brew
Rating
I brewed this beer with the Whitelabs WLP351 Bavarian Weizen Yeast. Turned out to be one of the best beers I've ever brewed. I brought in some bottles for some German coworkers from Munich, and they were flat out amazed how good it was. Made my week, it always feels good when others enjoy your beer. (Posted on 7/13/12)

Items 91 to 100 of 174 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register