Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
189 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 91 to 100 of 189 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 19
Great Kit Review by Keith
Rating
Easiest brew you can possibly do, and a pretty damn good beer. Perfect for a beginner or anyone looking for an easy afternoon (Posted on 6/2/13)
Easy Sessionable, Summertime beer Review by Matt
Rating
This was my 9th batch of beer, made in time for my graduation (I named it "GraduWeizen"). It was extremely easy to make, and turned out really well.
Since others have noted that this beer is a little bland, I added 0.5 oz dried lemon peel into secondary and it really gave it a crisp, refreshing aroma that blended nicely with the kit flavors. Definitely will brew again! (Posted on 5/17/13)
Good hef Review by James
Rating
The first time I brewed this, it was very bubble gum tasting. The second time a added 3 cups of corn suger and the bubble gum flavor was gone and it became more of a true hef. ( banana and clover) (Posted on 5/13/13)
Very good Review by thomas
Rating
Very good beer but even though it doesn't state to do a second fermentation i do recommend to do so. Just to get rid of that extra residue.
Also I used dry yeast next time I will use liquid yeast just to see the difference. I will order another kit soon. (Posted on 5/9/13)
Great Beer for the Price Review by Alexander
Rating
I fermented this with the liquid yeast and was very impressed with the final product. I used 3/4 cup of priming sugar and it was about right, but I would probably keg it next time and push the carbonation higher. I'll be ordering another kit since the batch went so quickly. (Posted on 5/3/13)
Easy kit to brew but a little heavy on the clove for me. Review by Tom
Rating
Well, it's a little over 4 weeks old and it's still way too clovey, if that's a word, for me. I thought it would be more balanced between the clove, banana and the wheat but it's just full clove flavor. I followed the directions to a T, fermented in the mid 60's. IDK, maybe it's just me. Easy kit to brew though. (Posted on 4/29/13)
I Didn't KNow Beer Could Taste This Good Review by Peter
Rating
An exceptionally easy kit to brew in which I followed the recipe exactly. I'm new to brewing and this was my 6th kit and 2nd beer ready to drink.

About three weeks ago was the first bottle I opened and it was strong in the banana smell and clove finish. But, each successive bottle opened was more settled and now it's smooth, tasty and more subtle. There is no doubt in my mind this will be in the constant rotation, hence the reason I am here today..... time to reorder.

Brew this kit. I don't think it matters who you are or what level of brewing you do, the flavors in this beer are out-of-this-world!!! I look forward to the All Grain, trying some tweaks here and there and seeing where it can go. (Posted on 4/26/13)
Good beer Bad Instructions Review by Ross
Rating
I brewed this beer following the exact instructions, it tastes good there is just one problem. It is under-carbonated!! The directions say to use 2/3 cup of sugar in 16oz of water. This is not nearly enough for the style!!!! Use at least the entire 5oz bag of corn sugar for priming. (Posted on 4/17/13)
Easy, quick, and delicious. Review by Daniel
Rating
Fermented for two weeks. Tried it five days after bottling (I was impatient), and it is delicious. Comparable to some of my favorite hefeweizens. It's hard to believe just how simple this recipe is and how good it tastes. I used the weihenstephaner yeast, and I think that really did the trick, as hefeweizen is such a yeast forward beer style. I might have to make this a regular in my beer rotation due to the insanely quick turnover, ease of brewing, low cost, and high drinkability. (Posted on 3/21/13)
Stop thinking about it -- order it right now!! Review by Jen M
Rating
This was my first batch of home brew, ever, and I cannot be more emphatic how easy to make and how delicious this {stuff} is. Followed some of the other reviewers recommendations of late addition of all of LME (I added hops @ 60 min and LME @ 15). Pitched at ~ 65*, with solid yeast activity in less than 24 hours, fermented @ ~ 63-65 F* and fully attenuated (no change in SG) in 8 days. Bottled straight from primary (at 8 days!!) with 5 oz. of priming sugar. First test bottle @ 1 week, with a bit of "skunky" aromas but nice flavor. Second taste test @ 2 weeks -- perfect carbonation, great flavor, with banana and cloves evident (no more "skunk"). Started drinking it with fervor @ 3 weeks -- flavor was amazing with strong yeast and bready flavors, nice cloudy appearance, carbonation was ideal, head was strong and high. This beer is very, very drinkable. You may want to order a second kit right now (as I am doing) so you don't have to go without a steady supply (as I have had to do).

This is just a very good hefe. Prost!! (Posted on 1/25/13)

Items 91 to 100 of 189 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 19

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register