Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
185 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 91 to 100 of 185 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 19
Great Beer for the Price Review by Alexander
Rating
I fermented this with the liquid yeast and was very impressed with the final product. I used 3/4 cup of priming sugar and it was about right, but I would probably keg it next time and push the carbonation higher. I'll be ordering another kit since the batch went so quickly. (Posted on 5/3/13)
Easy kit to brew but a little heavy on the clove for me. Review by Tom
Rating
Well, it's a little over 4 weeks old and it's still way too clovey, if that's a word, for me. I thought it would be more balanced between the clove, banana and the wheat but it's just full clove flavor. I followed the directions to a T, fermented in the mid 60's. IDK, maybe it's just me. Easy kit to brew though. (Posted on 4/29/13)
I Didn't KNow Beer Could Taste This Good Review by Peter
Rating
An exceptionally easy kit to brew in which I followed the recipe exactly. I'm new to brewing and this was my 6th kit and 2nd beer ready to drink.

About three weeks ago was the first bottle I opened and it was strong in the banana smell and clove finish. But, each successive bottle opened was more settled and now it's smooth, tasty and more subtle. There is no doubt in my mind this will be in the constant rotation, hence the reason I am here today..... time to reorder.

Brew this kit. I don't think it matters who you are or what level of brewing you do, the flavors in this beer are out-of-this-world!!! I look forward to the All Grain, trying some tweaks here and there and seeing where it can go. (Posted on 4/26/13)
Good beer Bad Instructions Review by Ross
Rating
I brewed this beer following the exact instructions, it tastes good there is just one problem. It is under-carbonated!! The directions say to use 2/3 cup of sugar in 16oz of water. This is not nearly enough for the style!!!! Use at least the entire 5oz bag of corn sugar for priming. (Posted on 4/17/13)
Easy, quick, and delicious. Review by Daniel
Rating
Fermented for two weeks. Tried it five days after bottling (I was impatient), and it is delicious. Comparable to some of my favorite hefeweizens. It's hard to believe just how simple this recipe is and how good it tastes. I used the weihenstephaner yeast, and I think that really did the trick, as hefeweizen is such a yeast forward beer style. I might have to make this a regular in my beer rotation due to the insanely quick turnover, ease of brewing, low cost, and high drinkability. (Posted on 3/21/13)
Stop thinking about it -- order it right now!! Review by Jen M
Rating
This was my first batch of home brew, ever, and I cannot be more emphatic how easy to make and how delicious this {stuff} is. Followed some of the other reviewers recommendations of late addition of all of LME (I added hops @ 60 min and LME @ 15). Pitched at ~ 65*, with solid yeast activity in less than 24 hours, fermented @ ~ 63-65 F* and fully attenuated (no change in SG) in 8 days. Bottled straight from primary (at 8 days!!) with 5 oz. of priming sugar. First test bottle @ 1 week, with a bit of "skunky" aromas but nice flavor. Second taste test @ 2 weeks -- perfect carbonation, great flavor, with banana and cloves evident (no more "skunk"). Started drinking it with fervor @ 3 weeks -- flavor was amazing with strong yeast and bready flavors, nice cloudy appearance, carbonation was ideal, head was strong and high. This beer is very, very drinkable. You may want to order a second kit right now (as I am doing) so you don't have to go without a steady supply (as I have had to do).

This is just a very good hefe. Prost!! (Posted on 1/25/13)
Pretty good Review by Corey
Rating
This is a very easy to brew kit and one that ferments quite quickly. Despite following the santitization rituals to the letter, it still came out with a off flavored funk that is slowly fading after weeks in the bottle. It's still enjoyable, but has that taste of something not quite right. It has awesome banana and clove smells when fermenting and when drank the citrus is very noticeable so if you like the small orange slice, it goes well with this beer. I have another kit on the way and plan to do a blackberry addition this time, should come out really well this time.A huge thanks to the great Northern Brewer guys for helping me with the original issues I had. (Posted on 1/11/13)
Excellent! Review by DocPro_Brewhouse
Rating
This was my second batch of beer ever made. It came out excellent as far as the flavor. It was quite dark for a Hefe, my cousin (fellow brewer) was amazed how dark it was versus his Hefe (same kit). Not sure if he didn't anything different but I followed the directions. Regardless it still came out tasting like a Hefe should. It is my wife's favorite beer of the 4 I've made so far.

All for Brew & Brew for All (Posted on 12/29/12)
Good Stuff!!!! :) Review by steve
Rating
this was my first brew and 2nd . i got to say i was not happy with it (at first) . i was expecting a brew tasting like a widmer . i had never had a brew like this. the beer came out fine for the type of beer it is. now that i know what a Bavarian Hefeweizen is. its just about all gone now, pulled one out of the cold box tonight and got to say this is a damn good beer (3-4 weeks after bottleing) it really took on an awesome flavor !!! i will buy another kit of this and not be in such a hurry to drink it right away and let it do its thing! :) (Posted on 12/14/12)
Great and flavorful Hefe Review by Pratzie
Rating
This was my fourth kit from NB and one that I am really enjoying. Very flavorful, def spot on with some of the best Hefe's i've tasted from big name breweries. Used a yeast starter and kept the temp towards the high side of the Weihenstephan spectrum to get it more towards my tastes; also used a yeast starter with it. Carbed slowly but after 3 weeks it was spot on. Just make sure if you give it away, you tell your friends to swirl the great yeasty goodness off the bottom so they don't miss out. (Posted on 12/11/12)

Items 91 to 100 of 185 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 8
  4. 9
  5. 10
  6. 11
  7. 12
  8. ...
  9. 19

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register