Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
188 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 171 to 180 of 188 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 15
  4. 16
  5. 17
  6. 18
  7. 19
Great Hefe Review by Tanker MG
Rating
I was stationed in Schweinfurt Germany for 3 years and really wanted to start with a Hefe. Got this as my first extract brew and it turned out great. Darker than I would have wanted, I would add the extract in the last 15 minutes as suggested by earlier reviews. Fermented at 68 and it had an amazing banana nose from the airlock. I kept it in primary for 3 weeks and then straight to bottle. Nice clove taste. Definitely a hard beer to keep around, everyone loved it! Highly recommend as a first brew to start with. (Posted on 1/15/11)
something missing Review by meat803
Rating
After 3 weeks in the bottle, the carbonation is starting to kick but the flavor has changed from bottling and the previous 2 weeks. When i first bottled and for a couple weeks thereafter, it had an amazing banana floral smell and I was excited about what it would taste like after carbonation kicked. Now that it is carbonated, the flavor and aroma have seriously mellowed out and are disappointing. Not sure if maybe I should have re-yeasted at bottling or what. But the signature hefeweizen aroma and flavor have retracted. I am an amateur at brewing so maybe I have something to do with this and not the kit itself. I followed the instructions to the T though.

Like others have noted, this is a darker hefe. I would have thought something was wrong if I didnt know any better, but dark hefe's do exist. Not a bad beer by any means, just not what I was expecting in the end result. (Posted on 1/2/11)
Not Bad Review by Hefehead
Rating
Brewed thinking it would come out like Weinstaphaner sp? or Hacker, or Franziskaner, or Paulaner.. I was looking for that yellow, cloudy, banana flavor with a big creamy head. I know I probably messed up a little on the recipe, but this came out dark and amber with more tart and malty flavor than sweet and fruity..It is defiantly drinkable, but am disappointed in it a little bit. I want creamy, cloudy, and a nice foamy head. I guess Ill try it again, and use the last suggestions about when to add the extract.. (Posted on 11/3/10)
Great, easy to brew crowd pleaser Review by Rob
Rating
Followed a few reviewers suggestions (keep fermentation temp under 70, use liquid yeast, wait to add the liquid extract till later in the boil) and I just racked to secondary and gave it a taste. WOW! First time brewing this so can't say whether or not those techniques made a difference but based on the fact that this already beats the pants off of any mass-distributed wheat beer - I will be brewing this again and I probably won't change a thing about the way the I brewed it. Kudos to NB on a great kit recipe. (Posted on 10/17/10)
Great price, Easy to brew Review by Todd
Rating
So,

This beer is great for the beginner. It tastes great and it doesn't take that long to be able to drink it. I'd recommend making it to anyone. I have some recommendations though:

1) Use the liquid yeast. The dry yeast won't give you as much of a true hefeweizen taste and smell. Yeast, it's literally in the name. The yeast makes this beer.

2) Keep this baby cold. Do not let this thing get above 70. I've done this kit many times. If you let this thing get hot, its going to taste like bubblegum and it will take forever to balance out in the bottle. That said, do not let this thing get too cold. If you do, it's going to have a pungent peanut butter taste (50's). You are going to want to pitch cold (60's and keep it there). If you do keep it in the 60's, you will have a perfect balance of clove and banana.

3) If you follow the directions to the T, and pour the extract at the beginning of the boil, you are going to have a dark amber beer. Extract has already been boiled. Please add the liquid extract at the last 15 minutes. Late addition of the extract will give you more true hefeweizen color.

4) Wait awhile to open this beer. Even though this beer is amazingly simple, the taste isn't. Give it longer than 3 weeks before you drink a ton of it. You will be rewarded if you do.

5) Dump the yeast in there! So many people are afraid of the yeast getting in the glass. This is a hefeweizen, don't kid yourself and try to keep it clear. Drink up!

6) Don't waste your time with a secondary either. Let the yeast do there thing and clean up after them selves.


Lastly, I really wish this kit had a partial mash brother. There is a slight twang due to the extract and partial boil. Aww, who am I kidding. Go make some and try for yourself! (Posted on 8/26/10)
Great Beer Review by Jim Markley
Rating
I breweed this beer in the early spring and served most of it recently to a bunch of guys I served with in Germany a number of years ago. They loved it! (which is why I am almost out.) This "kit" turns out a great Hefeweizen beer, easily recognizable by those who have had teh the real thing in Bavaria. Much better than any store bought "American" Weizen and a lot more fun to make and drink :-)

I found the flavor improved with a few weeks of "lagering" at ~68F. (Posted on 7/29/10)
Excellent for a first timer or old pro Review by BillTheSlink
Rating
This was the first beer I brewed back in '08 and I have brewed it every early Spring since. A very easy kit to make and since it is a wheat beer fermentation is fast a vigorous. As a matter of fact it is so vigorous you want to keep an eye on your temperature control or the temperature of your fermenting beer will run away on you. See a good forum such as the one here or Homebrewtalk.com and look up "swamp cooler" which is just a simple way to keep every thing cool. High temps will make it taste like bubble gum.

This beer tastes great. I highly recommend using the liquid yeast as much of this beer's authentic flavor comes from the yeast strain specific to it. Dry yeast just won't give it the tart, banana, clove flavor you want from this beer. (Posted on 7/22/10)
good Stuff Review by wadeo
Rating
I just wanted to say that I and all who have drank this delicious treat are in agreement that it is very good. If you like Hefeweizen you will not be disappointed.
Try to keep this in the low 60's like 62-63,make a yeast starter and this one will turn out great.

Two thumbs up...

WadeO
PGH (Posted on 7/21/10)
great kit, great beer Review by Fish
Rating
Turned out very good for the simplicity of this kit. Would make a great first beer to brew. (Posted on 7/18/10)
awesome Review by plankeye
Rating
This is one of many NB kits I've made and it was terrific. Just 2 weeks in primary and 1 in the carboy, it was bottled and quickly consumed! This is very similar to the great German wheat beers! Thanks NB (Posted on 7/17/10)

Items 171 to 180 of 188 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 15
  4. 16
  5. 17
  6. 18
  7. 19

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register