Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
181 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 171 to 180 of 181 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 15
  4. 16
  5. 17
  6. 18
  7. 19
good Stuff Review by wadeo
Rating
I just wanted to say that I and all who have drank this delicious treat are in agreement that it is very good. If you like Hefeweizen you will not be disappointed.
Try to keep this in the low 60's like 62-63,make a yeast starter and this one will turn out great.

Two thumbs up...

WadeO
PGH (Posted on 7/21/10)
great kit, great beer Review by Fish
Rating
Turned out very good for the simplicity of this kit. Would make a great first beer to brew. (Posted on 7/18/10)
awesome Review by plankeye
Rating
This is one of many NB kits I've made and it was terrific. Just 2 weeks in primary and 1 in the carboy, it was bottled and quickly consumed! This is very similar to the great German wheat beers! Thanks NB (Posted on 7/17/10)
My First Review by Spatrat
Rating
My first ever brew and it turned out great, I was paranoid the entire 6 weeks but it was all good in the end. I wanted a traditional hefe like the ones I had in Germany and this one hit the mark. I was a little disapointed in the carbonation, I used table sugar (table sugar Bad, Dectrose Good), Rookie mistake. Flavor is great and I have received thumbs up reviews from the experts in our HB club. Trouble is it is going way too fast. I guess it is time to place an order. Great kit NB. thanks
(Posted on 7/12/10)
excellent with modifications Review by ninjy
Rating
My brother brewed this after calculating a few minor adjustments. We were going for a bolder beer, so we added a pound of dry light malt and an ounce of Saaz, and went with the easy Munich dry yeast. The banana/clove smell and taste are there, just subtle. The taste at first is average, but after the palet gets coated a bit, the spiciness really jumps out and makes for an excellent brew! He bottled this and the beer is very clear for a weizen, possibly because the wheat/barley ratio was off? Either way, excellent beer! (Posted on 5/31/10)
Very nice Hefe Review by Otis from Mayberry
Rating
I have used this kit several times and it has never disappointed. I do like to substitute the selected yeast with White Labs WLP 300 as I prefer the more pronounced banana and clove esters. I use a v-vessel but have never found a reason to rack this beer. I leave it on primary for 10 days, keg it, then bottoms up. I've tried various bottled Hefeweizen beers between batches and none measure up. The nasty Sam Adams Hefeweizen is one of 3 "drain-pour" beers I have encountered in 30+ years of consumption. It's too quick & easy to make you own to tolerate bad bottled beer. (Posted on 5/18/10)
My Favorite Brew Review by Timothy
Rating
Wheat Beer is my thing and this one is the best. Two weeks in the primary and a week in the second carbouy. I make this beer every other brew I make and still can't keep it in the house. This is the one my friends ask for when they visit. I have tried other kits from other brew shops but the Northern Brew kits always come out the best. (Posted on 5/15/10)
gulpable Review by Adam
Rating
could sit down with an iced down12 and sqash the whole thing. I used the dry yeast and ferminted at about 66-68 degrees and it turn out perfect. thanks NB (Posted on 4/16/10)
Holy Sh@T Awesome Brew Review by Rush Limbaugh
Rating
Just wanted to say. If you like a traditional wheat beer this is the one for you. This was my first time brewing this Hefe and I must say it was delicious. I am going to order it again and again. No playing around with this recipe. I even used the dry yeast and is was great. Its not overly hopped, just smooth and tasty. (Posted on 4/4/10)
Best homebrew yet Review by Andy
Rating
Far and away the best beer I have brewed so far. It tastes like commercial Hefe's I have sampled. It is slightly darker than I expected, but I attribute that to scorching during the boil. It is also the clearest beer I have ever made. Not sure how that happened but I assume it is due to operator error. Just tell people it's a Kristall-Weizen.

I used the dry yeast and performed a full wort boil. Gave it one week in a primary, racked to secondary for two weeks, bottled and conditioned for two weeks. Only recipe modification was use of 1 cup vs. 3/4 cup of priming sugar (wanted a dense head).

Will definately be ordering this kit again. (Posted on 2/27/10)

Items 171 to 180 of 181 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 15
  4. 16
  5. 17
  6. 18
  7. 19

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register