Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
185 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 171 to 180 of 185 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 15
  4. 16
  5. 17
  6. 18
  7. 19
Great, easy to brew crowd pleaser Review by Rob
Rating
Followed a few reviewers suggestions (keep fermentation temp under 70, use liquid yeast, wait to add the liquid extract till later in the boil) and I just racked to secondary and gave it a taste. WOW! First time brewing this so can't say whether or not those techniques made a difference but based on the fact that this already beats the pants off of any mass-distributed wheat beer - I will be brewing this again and I probably won't change a thing about the way the I brewed it. Kudos to NB on a great kit recipe. (Posted on 10/17/10)
Great price, Easy to brew Review by Todd
Rating
So,

This beer is great for the beginner. It tastes great and it doesn't take that long to be able to drink it. I'd recommend making it to anyone. I have some recommendations though:

1) Use the liquid yeast. The dry yeast won't give you as much of a true hefeweizen taste and smell. Yeast, it's literally in the name. The yeast makes this beer.

2) Keep this baby cold. Do not let this thing get above 70. I've done this kit many times. If you let this thing get hot, its going to taste like bubblegum and it will take forever to balance out in the bottle. That said, do not let this thing get too cold. If you do, it's going to have a pungent peanut butter taste (50's). You are going to want to pitch cold (60's and keep it there). If you do keep it in the 60's, you will have a perfect balance of clove and banana.

3) If you follow the directions to the T, and pour the extract at the beginning of the boil, you are going to have a dark amber beer. Extract has already been boiled. Please add the liquid extract at the last 15 minutes. Late addition of the extract will give you more true hefeweizen color.

4) Wait awhile to open this beer. Even though this beer is amazingly simple, the taste isn't. Give it longer than 3 weeks before you drink a ton of it. You will be rewarded if you do.

5) Dump the yeast in there! So many people are afraid of the yeast getting in the glass. This is a hefeweizen, don't kid yourself and try to keep it clear. Drink up!

6) Don't waste your time with a secondary either. Let the yeast do there thing and clean up after them selves.


Lastly, I really wish this kit had a partial mash brother. There is a slight twang due to the extract and partial boil. Aww, who am I kidding. Go make some and try for yourself! (Posted on 8/26/10)
Great Beer Review by Jim Markley
Rating
I breweed this beer in the early spring and served most of it recently to a bunch of guys I served with in Germany a number of years ago. They loved it! (which is why I am almost out.) This "kit" turns out a great Hefeweizen beer, easily recognizable by those who have had teh the real thing in Bavaria. Much better than any store bought "American" Weizen and a lot more fun to make and drink :-)

I found the flavor improved with a few weeks of "lagering" at ~68F. (Posted on 7/29/10)
Excellent for a first timer or old pro Review by BillTheSlink
Rating
This was the first beer I brewed back in '08 and I have brewed it every early Spring since. A very easy kit to make and since it is a wheat beer fermentation is fast a vigorous. As a matter of fact it is so vigorous you want to keep an eye on your temperature control or the temperature of your fermenting beer will run away on you. See a good forum such as the one here or Homebrewtalk.com and look up "swamp cooler" which is just a simple way to keep every thing cool. High temps will make it taste like bubble gum.

This beer tastes great. I highly recommend using the liquid yeast as much of this beer's authentic flavor comes from the yeast strain specific to it. Dry yeast just won't give it the tart, banana, clove flavor you want from this beer. (Posted on 7/22/10)
good Stuff Review by wadeo
Rating
I just wanted to say that I and all who have drank this delicious treat are in agreement that it is very good. If you like Hefeweizen you will not be disappointed.
Try to keep this in the low 60's like 62-63,make a yeast starter and this one will turn out great.

Two thumbs up...

WadeO
PGH (Posted on 7/21/10)
great kit, great beer Review by Fish
Rating
Turned out very good for the simplicity of this kit. Would make a great first beer to brew. (Posted on 7/18/10)
awesome Review by plankeye
Rating
This is one of many NB kits I've made and it was terrific. Just 2 weeks in primary and 1 in the carboy, it was bottled and quickly consumed! This is very similar to the great German wheat beers! Thanks NB (Posted on 7/17/10)
My First Review by Spatrat
Rating
My first ever brew and it turned out great, I was paranoid the entire 6 weeks but it was all good in the end. I wanted a traditional hefe like the ones I had in Germany and this one hit the mark. I was a little disapointed in the carbonation, I used table sugar (table sugar Bad, Dectrose Good), Rookie mistake. Flavor is great and I have received thumbs up reviews from the experts in our HB club. Trouble is it is going way too fast. I guess it is time to place an order. Great kit NB. thanks
(Posted on 7/12/10)
excellent with modifications Review by ninjy
Rating
My brother brewed this after calculating a few minor adjustments. We were going for a bolder beer, so we added a pound of dry light malt and an ounce of Saaz, and went with the easy Munich dry yeast. The banana/clove smell and taste are there, just subtle. The taste at first is average, but after the palet gets coated a bit, the spiciness really jumps out and makes for an excellent brew! He bottled this and the beer is very clear for a weizen, possibly because the wheat/barley ratio was off? Either way, excellent beer! (Posted on 5/31/10)
Very nice Hefe Review by Otis from Mayberry
Rating
I have used this kit several times and it has never disappointed. I do like to substitute the selected yeast with White Labs WLP 300 as I prefer the more pronounced banana and clove esters. I use a v-vessel but have never found a reason to rack this beer. I leave it on primary for 10 days, keg it, then bottoms up. I've tried various bottled Hefeweizen beers between batches and none measure up. The nasty Sam Adams Hefeweizen is one of 3 "drain-pour" beers I have encountered in 30+ years of consumption. It's too quick & easy to make you own to tolerate bad bottled beer. (Posted on 5/18/10)

Items 171 to 180 of 185 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 15
  4. 16
  5. 17
  6. 18
  7. 19

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register