Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
177 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 177 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
Made my first home brew a success Review by michael
Rating
This was my first attempt at a home brew. The kit came with high quality ingredients and flawless instructions. I followed everything exactly as written and ended up with a great finished product. All of my friends rate asking for more and i'm working on my third 5 gallon batch. Thanks for introducing me to my new favorite hobby! (Posted on 3/3/14)
Ein Schone bier- needs a finishing hop Review by Charles
Rating
Brewed this kit in a 5 gallon full boil and love almost everything about it. The Tettnang is just not enough bitter to carry the whole batch for my personal taste. My next batch I might switch to Hellertau Mittelfruh as a bittering hop and/or I'll add .25 oz of Saaz or Hellertau at 20 min. to balance the amazing plethora of tastes coming out of the Weihenstephaner yeast! The body of this beer is remarkable for an extract kit. Great head retention, perfect mouth-feel and lacing down to the bottom of the glass are indications of the quality ingredients NB keeps sending out. Well done, Northern Brewer!!






(Posted on 2/23/14)
Turned out great Review by Scott
Rating
This batch was my first. The beer turned out great fermented fast, and tasted alot like Hofbrau Hefeweizen. I used danstar munich yeast, and the priming sugar that came with the kit. During the bottling stage i tasted my beer after 4 days, the carb was okay but the taste was great, I tried another at 5 days and the carb/taste was amazing, at the 6 and 7 day the beer started to lose its flavor and only a very small hint of banana could be noticed. Im not sure what I did wrong but I would not carb that long again. I am now on my second batch using the white labs wlp300 yeast and now my entire hallway smells like banana bread bread and fermentation is going nuts. Hopefully a one week carbonation will not dry out this next batch but I will test it once a day after 3 before throwing it in the fridge. Any tips on why my beer started to get lighter in taste when carbonating some tips are more than welcome. (Posted on 2/19/14)
Everything I expected Review by Spencer
Rating
This turned out a good beer, easy to make. Cloudy, but that's how it is supposed to be. Great color, almost amber. No specialty grains, so the boil was quick to finish. It didn't blow my socks off, but it was everything I wanted from this kit. (Posted on 2/7/14)
Superb Review by Jon
Rating
This is an awesome Hefeweizen. It is definitely going into my rotation with my other favorites, so I can brew a batch of this aboout every 3 months. (Posted on 1/28/14)
Just like being in Germany Review by Patrick
Rating
Had my fist real hefeweizen in Germany in 2010. Haven't been able to have the same thing until now. Tastes just like. Great bannana-clove taste. Use Wyeast 3068 and ferment under 70 degrees! Nice! Lite! Will be brewing this one again for summer! Easy to brew! (Posted on 1/20/14)
Easy brew Review by Gary
Rating
Great aroma off fermentation, currently bottle conditioning, so I am expecting it to taste as good as it smells. (Posted on 1/18/14)
What is left to say Review by Todd
Rating
This was my 4th batch of home brew. Wanted something that didn't need secondary fermenting since my carboy was already housing something that had more aging requirements. Went the 3068 yeast smack pack as recommended by other reviewers. Didn't have any problems with the yeast being too aggressive and needing a blow off tube but perhaps that's because the room I keep it in is on the cool side with it being winter. Brewed it up, left it to ferment for 2 weeks and bottled. Just cracked one open yesterday, just a week after bottling and it already has great carbonation. As mentioned in many reviews prior to this one, the aroma of cloves and bananas hits your nose and the flavor is much the same with a yeasty bread finish. Great beer after only 3 weeks and if it continues to improve it will be awesome. Wanted something along the lines of a Hacker-Pschorr and this fills the bill. Very true to style. (Posted on 1/17/14)
Great flavor/aesy Review by ron
Rating
This was my first hefe after about 15 other 5 gallon kits. The flavor was spot on. The weihenstephan yeast is quite flexible as you can coax different flavors from it by fermenting at different temps. I fermented at 64*F and got just the right amount of banana and clove I was looking for. This batch was gone in about 3 weeks, and I gave away only about 2 sixers. Not to worry-got another batch in the fermentor now! Great job NB. (Posted on 1/12/14)
Easy Brew Review by Douglas
Rating
This one was an easy brew but wound up with a low OG of 1.040 at 75 deg. As some others have stated, the color is more orange than some true Hefs I have had in Germany. Followed the instructions for re-hydrating the Danstar Munich Wheat, if it comes out ok, may try a dry pitch next time. (Posted on 1/6/14)

Items 11 to 20 of 177 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register