Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
174 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 174 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
Everything I expected Review by Spencer
Rating
This turned out a good beer, easy to make. Cloudy, but that's how it is supposed to be. Great color, almost amber. No specialty grains, so the boil was quick to finish. It didn't blow my socks off, but it was everything I wanted from this kit. (Posted on 2/7/14)
Superb Review by Jon
Rating
This is an awesome Hefeweizen. It is definitely going into my rotation with my other favorites, so I can brew a batch of this aboout every 3 months. (Posted on 1/28/14)
Just like being in Germany Review by Patrick
Rating
Had my fist real hefeweizen in Germany in 2010. Haven't been able to have the same thing until now. Tastes just like. Great bannana-clove taste. Use Wyeast 3068 and ferment under 70 degrees! Nice! Lite! Will be brewing this one again for summer! Easy to brew! (Posted on 1/20/14)
Easy brew Review by Gary
Rating
Great aroma off fermentation, currently bottle conditioning, so I am expecting it to taste as good as it smells. (Posted on 1/18/14)
What is left to say Review by Todd
Rating
This was my 4th batch of home brew. Wanted something that didn't need secondary fermenting since my carboy was already housing something that had more aging requirements. Went the 3068 yeast smack pack as recommended by other reviewers. Didn't have any problems with the yeast being too aggressive and needing a blow off tube but perhaps that's because the room I keep it in is on the cool side with it being winter. Brewed it up, left it to ferment for 2 weeks and bottled. Just cracked one open yesterday, just a week after bottling and it already has great carbonation. As mentioned in many reviews prior to this one, the aroma of cloves and bananas hits your nose and the flavor is much the same with a yeasty bread finish. Great beer after only 3 weeks and if it continues to improve it will be awesome. Wanted something along the lines of a Hacker-Pschorr and this fills the bill. Very true to style. (Posted on 1/17/14)
Great flavor/aesy Review by ron
Rating
This was my first hefe after about 15 other 5 gallon kits. The flavor was spot on. The weihenstephan yeast is quite flexible as you can coax different flavors from it by fermenting at different temps. I fermented at 64*F and got just the right amount of banana and clove I was looking for. This batch was gone in about 3 weeks, and I gave away only about 2 sixers. Not to worry-got another batch in the fermentor now! Great job NB. (Posted on 1/12/14)
Easy Brew Review by Douglas
Rating
This one was an easy brew but wound up with a low OG of 1.040 at 75 deg. As some others have stated, the color is more orange than some true Hefs I have had in Germany. Followed the instructions for re-hydrating the Danstar Munich Wheat, if it comes out ok, may try a dry pitch next time. (Posted on 1/6/14)
A very good recipe Review by darrin
Rating
I've brewed this one 2x.. the first brew, I used a secondary ferment, the second, I did not. I found that the secondary ferment help to being out the flavors much better and would suggest a second ferment.
The traditional flavors of banana and clove really came through, especially using a second ferment. As always, keep everything clean and sanitized and you wont go wrong. also, I am now a believer in using a yeast starter. makes a difference in EVERY brew.
cheers! (Posted on 1/4/14)
Great, simple Hef Review by Alex
Rating
This kit was my first hefeweizen. Very simple brewing, but a more complicated taste than many of the "simpler" beers. Banana flavor definitely shines through. As a few people here have said, the color is a bit darker than expected with a hef, but the taste is right on. (Posted on 12/30/13)
A little longer in the bottle Review by Chris
Rating
I tried to keep this one traditional and didn't rack to a secondary. It does have a cloudy appearance to it and a good amount of yeast in each bottle so it did come out good in that regards. At about 2 weeks after bottling the flavor didn't seem to be all that great and I was worried I had 2 cases of beer that I wouldn't enjoy. I gave it an additional week and the flavor seemed to change in the right direction and it is still getting better although not one of my top 5. (Posted on 12/18/13)

Items 11 to 20 of 174 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register