Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
176 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 176 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
Great, simple Hef Review by Alex
Rating
This kit was my first hefeweizen. Very simple brewing, but a more complicated taste than many of the "simpler" beers. Banana flavor definitely shines through. As a few people here have said, the color is a bit darker than expected with a hef, but the taste is right on. (Posted on 12/30/13)
A little longer in the bottle Review by Chris
Rating
I tried to keep this one traditional and didn't rack to a secondary. It does have a cloudy appearance to it and a good amount of yeast in each bottle so it did come out good in that regards. At about 2 weeks after bottling the flavor didn't seem to be all that great and I was worried I had 2 cases of beer that I wouldn't enjoy. I gave it an additional week and the flavor seemed to change in the right direction and it is still getting better although not one of my top 5. (Posted on 12/18/13)
Delicous Beer Review by Robert
Rating
Great Kit. One of the best Hefeweizen beers I have ever tasted. I will defiantly buy this again. (Posted on 12/12/13)
Excellent Kit!!! Review by Kyle R.
Rating
This was my first beer brew and hefweizens are my favorite beer. This kit far exceeded my expectations with the final product. Absolutely delicious and spot on with how a hefeweizen should taste. Upgrade to the 3068 yeast as I did and you'll be glad you did. I fermented at 71 degree room temp and got a good balance of flavor. Kit instructions were great. Could not be happier. This hefeweizen is one of the best hefeweizens i've ever had. An easy 5 star review for me. Highly recommended kit if you enjoy a GOOD hefeweizen. (Posted on 12/9/13)
Full of Flavor Review by william
Rating
Tastes of clove or banana which you might think is an odd flavor for beer. It definitely works though. All the beers I've brewed so far have been far heavier (e.g., Caribou Slobber)' this kit is a pleasant departure, (Posted on 12/7/13)
Thanks NB Review by Tim
Rating
The Bavarian Hef is a very drinkable beer, people call it a lawn mower beer - being from Minnesota, I call it a "snowblower" beer. After an 18 year sabbatical from home brewing, I came out of retirement. Forgot a few things and have to say that the customer support ( by email and phone) I received from NB was far beyond a five star rating. (Posted on 12/6/13)
almost too easy Review by Jeremy
Rating
This extract kit has easy-to-follow instructions, and when paired with Wyeast 3068, it just turns out excellent. Great taste from the sweet wort on through the final product. (Posted on 12/3/13)
Easy Brew/Easy Drink Review by Mike
Rating
I generally don't like wheat beers but my wife does, so this brew was for her. It was the easiest kit thus far. It also took the least time from brew to bottle to drinkable. I used the dry yeast and let ferment in the basement at around 64 degrees. Nice, steady, non-volatile fermentation. Tried a bottle after 1 week in the bottle - very drinkable. Looking forward to even better flavor once it has had more time to bottle condition. (Posted on 11/29/13)
awesome and easy Review by joseph
Rating
I Added Sweet Orange Peel At The Last 15, You Can't ReallyTaste It But Smoothed It Out Even More I Think. Am About To Order ItAgain But AmGonna Try Putting A Honey In This Time (Posted on 11/28/13)
Good Beer! Review by AJ
Rating
Great summer beer! When carbonation came around it got a lot better. I used bavarian wheat 3638 and it came out really smooth. I'll have to use Weihenstephaner yeast next time. (Posted on 11/25/13)

Items 21 to 30 of 176 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register