Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
179 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 179 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
Great flavor/aesy Review by ron
Rating
This was my first hefe after about 15 other 5 gallon kits. The flavor was spot on. The weihenstephan yeast is quite flexible as you can coax different flavors from it by fermenting at different temps. I fermented at 64*F and got just the right amount of banana and clove I was looking for. This batch was gone in about 3 weeks, and I gave away only about 2 sixers. Not to worry-got another batch in the fermentor now! Great job NB. (Posted on 1/12/14)
Easy Brew Review by Douglas
Rating
This one was an easy brew but wound up with a low OG of 1.040 at 75 deg. As some others have stated, the color is more orange than some true Hefs I have had in Germany. Followed the instructions for re-hydrating the Danstar Munich Wheat, if it comes out ok, may try a dry pitch next time. (Posted on 1/6/14)
A very good recipe Review by darrin
Rating
I've brewed this one 2x.. the first brew, I used a secondary ferment, the second, I did not. I found that the secondary ferment help to being out the flavors much better and would suggest a second ferment.
The traditional flavors of banana and clove really came through, especially using a second ferment. As always, keep everything clean and sanitized and you wont go wrong. also, I am now a believer in using a yeast starter. makes a difference in EVERY brew.
cheers! (Posted on 1/4/14)
Great, simple Hef Review by Alex
Rating
This kit was my first hefeweizen. Very simple brewing, but a more complicated taste than many of the "simpler" beers. Banana flavor definitely shines through. As a few people here have said, the color is a bit darker than expected with a hef, but the taste is right on. (Posted on 12/30/13)
A little longer in the bottle Review by Chris
Rating
I tried to keep this one traditional and didn't rack to a secondary. It does have a cloudy appearance to it and a good amount of yeast in each bottle so it did come out good in that regards. At about 2 weeks after bottling the flavor didn't seem to be all that great and I was worried I had 2 cases of beer that I wouldn't enjoy. I gave it an additional week and the flavor seemed to change in the right direction and it is still getting better although not one of my top 5. (Posted on 12/18/13)
Delicous Beer Review by Robert
Rating
Great Kit. One of the best Hefeweizen beers I have ever tasted. I will defiantly buy this again. (Posted on 12/12/13)
Excellent Kit!!! Review by Kyle R.
Rating
This was my first beer brew and hefweizens are my favorite beer. This kit far exceeded my expectations with the final product. Absolutely delicious and spot on with how a hefeweizen should taste. Upgrade to the 3068 yeast as I did and you'll be glad you did. I fermented at 71 degree room temp and got a good balance of flavor. Kit instructions were great. Could not be happier. This hefeweizen is one of the best hefeweizens i've ever had. An easy 5 star review for me. Highly recommended kit if you enjoy a GOOD hefeweizen. (Posted on 12/9/13)
Full of Flavor Review by william
Rating
Tastes of clove or banana which you might think is an odd flavor for beer. It definitely works though. All the beers I've brewed so far have been far heavier (e.g., Caribou Slobber)' this kit is a pleasant departure, (Posted on 12/7/13)
Thanks NB Review by Tim
Rating
The Bavarian Hef is a very drinkable beer, people call it a lawn mower beer - being from Minnesota, I call it a "snowblower" beer. After an 18 year sabbatical from home brewing, I came out of retirement. Forgot a few things and have to say that the customer support ( by email and phone) I received from NB was far beyond a five star rating. (Posted on 12/6/13)
almost too easy Review by Jeremy
Rating
This extract kit has easy-to-follow instructions, and when paired with Wyeast 3068, it just turns out excellent. Great taste from the sweet wort on through the final product. (Posted on 12/3/13)

Items 21 to 30 of 179 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register