Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
180 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 41 to 50 of 180 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. ...
  9. 18
darker thab expected but tasty! Review by Jason
Rating
Key with this is be careful not to caramelize the malt too much on boil. Outside of that, letting it age the proper time allowed it to develop that fantastic banana flavor! (Posted on 10/25/13)
Pleasure to make, bigger pleasure to drink Review by Patrick
Rating
This beer was quite easy to make and behaved well in primary, secondary, and bottling. I added some extra Willamette hops to flavor. It came out with a delicious refreshing quality, a bit sweet and light with some great bitterness. (Posted on 10/13/13)
Easy and tastes good Review by Lens Larque
Rating
This is an easy kit with simple instructions. Added 1/2 of the LME and the DME at flame out. Also added lemon zest at 10 mins. Used the Wyeast 3068. Use a blowoff tube because this is an active fermentation. After 2 weeks in the carboy FG was spot on. Color is light orange and slightly opaque. Taste is bitter, and slightly sweet, but with a good yeast flavor. Very drinkable. (Posted on 10/10/13)
Good beer Review by Anthony
Rating
As others have said, it runs a little darker than the golden WBs that everyone has come to expect, but it's still good! 2 weeks primary, something like 5 secondary (I got lazy) and then to a keg for force carb. I used the dry yeast and stuck w/ the printed directions. It's a tiny bit sweet, but not much. Overall, not the very best thing I've drank in my life, but far from the worst! I'll be making this again. (Posted on 10/10/13)
Amazing kit Review by Stefan
Rating
This is such a no-brainer kit. Tasty and drinkable, this beer is ready in no time. This is the second time I've brewed this kit, and will not be my last! (Posted on 10/9/13)
easy, tasty Review by Ross
Rating
Easy brew, quick turnaround. I recommend using the danstar Munich dry yeast. Tasty and smooth (Posted on 10/9/13)
Not too bad Review by Kurt
Rating
Good beer (Posted on 10/5/13)
"Mit Hefe" Review by James
Rating
got my kit quick. ready to keg in a few days. thanks NB. (Posted on 9/28/13)
Alright Review by Tim
Rating
Not the first Hefeweizen recipe I've tried. This brew's best feature is the short amount of time it requires to be ready to drink. Definitely the simplest recipe I've ever done. Also had problems with it being messy more than any other kit I've done so far. Flavor was OK. Other recipes I've tried used white labs yeast, and were tastier and less messy. (Posted on 9/24/13)
Delicious flavors Review by Ben
Rating
Wow. I've only made a few other batches of home brew, and this one has turned out to be the best so far. Primary for 3 weeks. Bottle for 2 weeks. It fermented a little on the warm side, but there are no off-flavors. A little darker in color than the style, but otherwise perfect. I used all 5 oz. of priming sugar to try and get authentic carbonation for the style. Nice and fizzy, but not overbearing. I will definitely be making this kit again, not just for simplicity and turnaround time, but taste as well. (Posted on 9/23/13)

Items 41 to 50 of 180 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. ...
  9. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register