Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1250
Rating
175 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Bavarian Hefeweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 41 to 50 of 175 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. ...
  9. 18
easy, tasty Review by Ross
Rating
Easy brew, quick turnaround. I recommend using the danstar Munich dry yeast. Tasty and smooth (Posted on 10/9/13)
Not too bad Review by Kurt
Rating
Good beer (Posted on 10/5/13)
"Mit Hefe" Review by James
Rating
got my kit quick. ready to keg in a few days. thanks NB. (Posted on 9/28/13)
Alright Review by Tim
Rating
Not the first Hefeweizen recipe I've tried. This brew's best feature is the short amount of time it requires to be ready to drink. Definitely the simplest recipe I've ever done. Also had problems with it being messy more than any other kit I've done so far. Flavor was OK. Other recipes I've tried used white labs yeast, and were tastier and less messy. (Posted on 9/24/13)
Delicious flavors Review by Ben
Rating
Wow. I've only made a few other batches of home brew, and this one has turned out to be the best so far. Primary for 3 weeks. Bottle for 2 weeks. It fermented a little on the warm side, but there are no off-flavors. A little darker in color than the style, but otherwise perfect. I used all 5 oz. of priming sugar to try and get authentic carbonation for the style. Nice and fizzy, but not overbearing. I will definitely be making this kit again, not just for simplicity and turnaround time, but taste as well. (Posted on 9/23/13)
Darker than pictured, but excellent Review by Doug
Rating
A very nice drinker, guests loved it, simple to brew and carbonated beautifully. Will definitely do it again. My wife really liked this one. (Posted on 9/21/13)
The yeast makes this beer Review by Randy
Rating
As with any hefe the yeast is what makes it. Nice wheat character from the extract as well. NB always has the freshest extract. Very good and very simple recipe (Posted on 9/19/13)
Darker and sweeter than a real Bavarian hef Review by David
Rating
Somewhat disappointed in this kit. I followed the earlier recommendations of not putting any extract in until 45 minutes into the boil (so hops only for 45 minutes). Fermented at ~66 degrees. Weihenstephan yeast.

But still, it came out a lot darker (a more opaque orange where it should be a more transparent yellow/gold), and, a lot sweeter (almost cloying) than a Hefeweizen should be. I wouldn't call it a Hefeweizen at all. (Posted on 9/16/13)
quick, easy, good Review by Jeff
Rating
Easy extract kit that has a quick turn around and produces a quality Hefe. Did side by side with some of the best German Hefe and it held its own. Good summer time brew or great brew if looking for fast turn around. Carbs nicely and has just the right amount of yeast in the pour. (Posted on 9/14/13)
Crisp and Refreshing Review by Tyler
Rating
A very flavorful Hefeweizen with a good amount of alcohol. (Posted on 9/6/13)

Items 41 to 50 of 175 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. ...
  9. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register