American Wheat Beer Extract Kit

SKU: U1260
Rating
204 Review(s)
Like their German cousins, American wheat beers feature large proportions of malted wheat in the grain bill and are naturally a bit cloudy in appearance. Unlike German Hefe Weizen, though, American wheat beers have a bit more hop character and are fermented with a milder-tasting yeast, resulting in a more clean, neutral finish. With a spicy noble hop aroma and tart finish, it's a spritzy, refreshing crowd-pleaser.

American Wheat Beer Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 204 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 21
Great beer Review by Andy
Rating
This came with my essential brewer kit. I probably would not have chosen it, but it turned out to be a really great beer. It was simple to brew. I managed to scortch a little malt extract on the bottom of my kettle, but otherwise a smooth operation for my first brew experience. I will repeat, but I might try something like adding citrus... the beer was terrific as is, but tinkering is in my nature. (Posted on 2/23/15)
First timer Review by M. Fic
Rating
Got this with my deluxe brewing kit and I went 3 weeks primary, and then straight to the bottles. Just tried them after a week of bottle conditioning and I am shocked by the flavor and carbonation. It is quite a different color than what it is shown, but it was very tasty! Nice hops up front, mellow easy to drink after taste! (Posted on 2/17/15)
Great Beer Review by william
Rating
Brewed this beer with 2 ounces of orange bitters for last 15 minutes of boil. Everyone loved it, only problem is that it was gone too fast (Posted on 2/16/15)
Better than expected Review by JC
Rating
Not expecting much, I bought this kit from NB as it was only $15 on a promotional deal plus $4 for yeast. I added orange peel and 12 oz. honey during the last 15 minutes of the boil. 1.042 OG, 1.002 final for 5.25% abv. Turned out to be one of the more enjoyable beers I've made. Mine came out much darker than the picture on the NB web site, and the flavor has been full with perfect head at 10 psi in the keg at 42F. I've made much better, fancier beers. But for the price, I will definitely make this again. (Posted on 2/16/15)
final product Review by cary
Rating
11 days primary, 4 days secondary, 16 days bottle conditioning had a hot alcohol taste. Let it bottle condition for 3 more weeks.opened today. Beer is really good a little light on body but overall a good session beer. Light amber in color 4.86 % ABV. After adding 1 lb.of honey last 7 minutes of boil. Going to save about half of it for the summer. Fermenting a Scottish Ale for my next attempt. (Posted on 12/15/14)
Excellent every day beer Review by Froc
Rating
I brewed according to the directions except added an extra pound of clover honey at flameout and an ounce of Citra hops in the secondary 5 days before bottling. I got ansy and tried at about 1 week-BIG mistake. It had a funky off flavor that almost made me throw the batch out. I'm glad I didnt, because about 2 weeks later everything mellowed out nicely and is really smooth with a great hop aroma and very little bitterness. Will probably be going back to this as my summer beer. (Posted on 12/14/14)
Pleasant Surprise Review by Highwayman
Rating
I'm not a wheat-beer lover, and I probably never would have ordered this kit except for the fact that it came along with the essential starter's set. But since I had it, I brewed it. Gave it a month in primary and then bottled. The first bottles I sampled, after one and two weeks conditioning, were not to my taste, they just didn't taste quite right—in fact, after slowly working my way through a six-pack I had refrigerated after two weeks and forcing myself to finish them, I was considering dumping out the rest and salvaging the bottles for a new batch of something else.
But it seemed like a shame to do that without giving some of the other bottles, which had over a month of bottle conditioning at this point, one last try. I am so happy I did, because something magical happened in the intervening weeks. The funky flavors cleared up, and I was left with a crisp, refreshing, full-bodied beer with a warm honey aftertaste. I literally could not believe that it was the same beer I was turning my nose at just days before.
Lesson learned—be patient and let time do its work.
One other note, due to the maillard reaction during the boil, my batch came out an amber color, not the pale yellow pictured above. I don't know if that impacted the flavor or not, but I've learned it's quite common with extract beers and partial volume boils. (Posted on 11/10/14)
great start Review by cary
Rating
Directions are great easy to follow first batch is already fermenting. Used only half the cascade hopes and added 1 lb. Of clover honey. 1.035 first hydrometer reading. Took 3 hours from the time I started including clean up. Took 35 minutes to cool wart kitchen sink and ice. A wort chiller would have been easier. (Posted on 10/26/14)
Fantasitc Product Review by Billy
Rating
This beer is great! This one was my first brew and I couldn't be happier with how well it turned out. Kept fermentation temp at ~64 degrees. 3 weeks primary and 2 weeks bottle conditioning @ 68 degrees - very smooth beer that's slightly hoppy. Great for all my Busch light drinking buddies! Thanks NB! Brew on! (Posted on 10/16/14)
Great product Review by Hank
Rating
This is the best kit beer, so far. Big hit with the neighbors. Easy drinking beer with a good finish. Loved it! (Posted on 9/9/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 204 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 21

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register