American Wheat Beer Extract Kit

SKU: U1260
Rating
195 Review(s)
Like their German cousins, American wheat beers feature large proportions of malted wheat in the grain bill and are naturally a bit cloudy in appearance. Unlike German Hefe Weizen, though, American wheat beers have a bit more hop character and are fermented with a milder-tasting yeast, resulting in a more clean, neutral finish. With a spicy noble hop aroma and tart finish, it's a spritzy, refreshing crowd-pleaser.

American Wheat Beer Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 195 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 20
Great product Review by Hank
Rating
This is the best kit beer, so far. Big hit with the neighbors. Easy drinking beer with a good finish. Loved it! (Posted on 9/9/14)
It went too fast Review by jon doe
Rating
i made this some time ago added a few tweaks like cara red for color and some honey to kick up the abv, it turned out rather well and was gone far too fast. (Posted on 8/28/14)
What a SUPRISE! Review by Craig
Rating
Saw this kit and it had good reviews, but I actually bought it cuz it was cheap for my pig roast. We were all blown away at how much character and almost carmely sweetness it had , very unexpected and I will brew it again! (Posted on 8/22/14)
sweet deal Review by michael
Rating
alright people here we go ...... lol now i have brewed this beer and i have to say for the price and ease of this beer it is spot on . also i might add , my friends who have come over to drink ,or try our home brew have said this >>>( holy sh@ this is good YOU MADE THIS :_) and i have to yes with all my heart . lol thanks again northern home brew for making this kit for people to enjoy all around this great land :_) .... AMERICA F$CK YEA!!!!! (Posted on 7/27/14)
Peach Wheat Beer Review by John
Rating
Easy to brew. I added 4 ounces of Peach flavoring when bottling. My wife and I both love it. Good kit for the money and I will be ordering this kit again in the future. Good summertime beer. (Posted on 7/12/14)
Nice, easy brew Review by Josh
Rating
This beer was very easy to make. I added 1 table spoon of bitter orange peel to the last five minutes of the boil and transferred it to the primary fermenter. I also added mesquite chaff to the fermenter. I let it sit 2 weeks primary, racked into a secondary fermenter without any chaff or orange peel and let it sit 2 weeks. The beer turned out good except the orange was a little overwhelming. I would repeat the same brewing process but with only a teaspoon of orange peel next time. (Posted on 7/2/14)
Awesome, easy brew! Review by Tony
Rating
I'm a newbie at homebrew...This was my first attempt at it and I have to say that this is my go to HB. I have brewed it twice and about to do a third. Great brew to try different flavor sand additions....I just need to figure out how to bump up the AVB. Like I said.....newbie. Can't go wrong with this one! (Posted on 6/18/14)
Very pleasantly surprised! Review by James
Rating
I didn't expect a lot out of this beer. I am fairly new to this obsession and figured for the price if I messed up I could get some more experience without loosing much. I try to brew at least two to three times a month to get the basics down. Super easy to brew and I brewed per the instructions and left it in the fermenter for two weeks before bottling. I'm not a huge fan of wheat beers but this one is really really good! Even my wife who is a total beer snob really likes it. I will definitely be adding this to my regular brew schedule. Light, crisp, and very refreshing! Cheers! (Posted on 6/16/14)
Solid base kit Review by Ed
Rating
I did not brew this to have a pure wheat beer, so I can't really comment on it in that regard. I brewed it to make it a raspberry wheat and it has done so nicely. I let it sit in primary for about 10 days or so, I believe, and then racked 3 pounds of previously frozen, but then thawed raspberries. I didn't puree them or pour vodka over them or anything - just dumped 'em in straight from the bag into the secondary. Racked beer on top of them and let it sit for two more weeks. I now now to use a paint strainer bag when transferring fruit beer to the bottling bucket, but I didn't realize that on bottling day so my bottling wand got a little clogged with the little tiny raspberry "floaties" - some of which made it into the bottles, but most settled to the base of the bottle.

The beer - two weeks into bottle conditioning - is very good. I can definitely taste/smell the raspberries, so I can see myself coming back to this beer and experimenting with it in a different way down the road.

Some said the wheat is "too hoppy." My beer is a little tart, but that's due to the newness of the raspberries. I'm confident in one more week the tartness will mellow.

I have created a solid summer brew and it's due to the simplicity of this kit which serves as a solid foundation for brewing experimentation. (Posted on 6/16/14)
great beer for Me Review by Steve
Rating
I did a full boil followed recipe to a T except I used Safale us-05 and safbrew WB-06. The color is darker light amber with a little orange tint. I love the bitter is just right for me. It reminds Me of drinking Blue paddle which is 8 to 9 dollars a six pack 12 oz. bottles here in Arkansas. OG 1043 FG 1009 fermented at 70-72 F ABV 4.46% if my math is right. Over all great wheat Beer for Me (Posted on 6/15/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 195 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 20

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register