Dunkelweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1270
Rating
30 Review(s)
Its name means "dark wheat," and that's just what it is. An amber-colored version of a German hefeweizen, Dunkelweizen has the same spicy yeast and creamy wheat character of its pale counterpart, but with as much rich maltiness as a dark Bavarian lager. This kit produces an ale with a hazy mahogany color, medium-full body, and spicy, bready aromas and flavors.

Dunkelweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Don't Hesitate... Review by Steve
Rating
I've brewed this Dunkelweizen twice, and will be brewing it again. I didn't make any modifications to the recipe. I always keep an assortment of the different beers I've brewed on hand for family visits. The Dunkelweizen is always a favorite. It is a mild beer with a creamy, malt flavor. Medium brown color, good head retention. I've been proud of how this one turns out. (Posted on 5/3/14)
Shocked me Review by thomas
Rating
Spent some time in Germany and I have to say this beer took me back.... I'm more of an IPA drinker but this beer is incredible. I did add 8 oz Caramunich and 2 oz Chocolate Malt, and I have to say this is the best beer I have made. Everyone wants more of it, but I don't want to give it out. Lol. Enjoy - cheers (Posted on 12/29/13)
YUM! Review by Dustin
Rating
Good traditionals hefeweizen flavor with a more roasted caramel flavor. (Posted on 11/10/13)
Excellent Drink Review by Brewing Secrets
Rating
Great Beer. It is a very good crowd pleaser. My friends enjoyed it. The only thing I might do next time is add some extra hops just for a slight kick. (Posted on 11/8/13)
Good flavor Review by Bigfloppy
Rating
I added a lb of chocolate malt to this recipe and it comes out great. Good malty sweetness with a hint of hops. Great for a cold winter night. (Posted on 10/29/13)
Best Brew Yet Review by Robert
Rating
I have brewed around a dozen extract kits thus far. Not an expert yet but this is my best brew yet. Brewed twice already. (Posted on 8/29/13)
Good Review by Jean
Rating
Good, full beer.
Not the same taste as a Dunkel Hefeweizen in Germany, but still great!
(Posted on 8/24/13)
Excellernt. Wunderbar. Lecker! Review by Mark
Rating
Great Bavarian beer. Delicious. Always like having some on hand. (Posted on 7/16/13)
Needs something Review by James
Rating
This was a good brew, but it was missing something. I will be trying a few different grain options next time I brew. Still a real good beer if you never have tried this style. (Posted on 5/13/13)
Pretty good Review by Nick
Rating
I picked up 8 oz Caramunich and 2 oz Chocolate Malt and steeped for 30 minutes at 150F. Other than that, followed the recipe closely, using the liquid wyeast weiehnstephan 3068 and making a starter. Fermented at 68F for 2.5 weeks, then racked to secondary and left for 3 weeks. Primed with 7 oz corn sugar, had almost 5.5 gallons. Tasted after 1.5 weeks, delicious but no head. Overall, I'm pretty pleased with the results; it turned out pretty close to what a Bavarian dunkelweizen should be. (Posted on 8/9/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register