Dunkelweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1270
Rating
30 Review(s)
Its name means "dark wheat," and that's just what it is. An amber-colored version of a German hefeweizen, Dunkelweizen has the same spicy yeast and creamy wheat character of its pale counterpart, but with as much rich maltiness as a dark Bavarian lager. This kit produces an ale with a hazy mahogany color, medium-full body, and spicy, bready aromas and flavors.

Dunkelweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Good dark wheat Review by AJ
Rating
This beer is good, just not great. It was my first batch so it might have been my fault. I used some specialty grains like other people suggested. It's good but there is just something missing. (Posted on 4/20/12)
Expected better... probably my fault Review by Nick
Rating
Good initial flavor and great color, slight aftertaste that I cannot pinpoint. I could all be my fault though. I have noticed differences between bottles and it may have something to do with my daughter dropping an unknown amount of carb tabs into every bottle as we bottled it up. I love a good dark beer and this has the strong flavors I am looking for....... hopefully next time will be better. (Posted on 4/12/12)
Another great brew! Review by Big Red
Rating
Everything went well here except that I added a bit too much sugar for bottling so it is a bit too carbed. I wanted it to be more carbed to fit the wheat style but I went overboard. Still tastes great! (Posted on 2/3/12)
Good - not great Review by Andy - Charlotte NC
Rating
A decent beer, but I was hoping for a darker color and deep maltier taste than what was the end product. While a good beer, both session and with food, it wasn't great. I think there needs to be some specialty grains added or maybe a tweek to the hops to get the taste right. If its your first beer, try it and maybe add 1/2 pound of darker, munich grains to help it out. (Posted on 11/19/11)
My first Homebrew Review by Sgt. Shultz
Rating
I started brewing just over a year ago. This kit was my first attempt at brewing. I just pulled the last bomber out of my beer stash and it is a great beer even after a year in storage. If you like Dunkelweizen then this kit is for you. Always use a liquid yeast for German wheats. (Posted on 11/12/11)
Great beer! Review by Josh
I modified the kit with 1/2lb chocolate wheat, 1/2 Caramunich. I made a great beer and I will be brewing it again but in the All-Grain method next. (Posted on 10/12/11)
Good base but needs grains Review by Josh
Rating
After add some special grains it made a great beer! (Posted on 10/6/11)
slight modification makes this really good Review by Paul
Rating
Since this kit doesn't have any specialty grains I added a pound of crushed chocolate wheat steeping for 20min before the boil at 70C. This adds more complexity and makes it quite notable. Not exactly the Franziskaner I was looking for, but almost there! (Posted on 3/26/11)
Add this and enjoy Review by Dave
Rating
After reading the reviews I decided to beef up this dark wheat a bit. I steeped one pound of dark wheat,one pound of carawheat, and 1/2 pound of chocolate wheat grains in the boil before I added the extract. Doubled up on the liquid yeast. Used Coopers carbonating drops.After tasting I had to go buy a Franziskaner to see if I was as close as I think I am. Simply delicious. This one needs to sit down for a few weeks before you drink it. (Posted on 3/25/11)
Something is not quite right... Review by dvb
Something is not quite right with this kit. Adding water to bring the total volume to 5 gallons, as indicated on the inventory sheet, resulted in an OG of 1.044 and a reading of 1.008 when racking to secondary. The result? A pale, watery, slightly astringent mess that ended up in the drain. If I were to make this again, I would not simply top off the wort to 5 gallons in the fermenter. Rather, I would add water to the kettle after cooling until I reached the anticipated original gravity of 1.049. (Posted on 3/20/11)

Items 11 to 20 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register