Dunkelweizen Extract Kit

SKU: U1270
Rating
31 Review(s)
Its name means "dark wheat," and that's just what it is. An amber-colored version of a German hefeweizen, Dunkelweizen has the same spicy yeast and creamy wheat character of its pale counterpart, but with as much rich maltiness as a dark Bavarian lager. This kit produces an ale with a hazy mahogany color, medium-full body, and spicy, bready aromas and flavors.

Dunkelweizen Extract Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 31 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Something is not quite right... Review by dvb
Something is not quite right with this kit. Adding water to bring the total volume to 5 gallons, as indicated on the inventory sheet, resulted in an OG of 1.044 and a reading of 1.008 when racking to secondary. The result? A pale, watery, slightly astringent mess that ended up in the drain. If I were to make this again, I would not simply top off the wort to 5 gallons in the fermenter. Rather, I would add water to the kettle after cooling until I reached the anticipated original gravity of 1.049. (Posted on 3/20/11)
A little disappointed Review by Greg
Rating
I think the recipe needs some tweeking - maybe some specialty grains to add character in addition to the LME . My batch looked like a pale ale and tasted more like a hefeweizen. A nice glass of "liquid dark bread" is what I'm after and although drinkable, this recipe falls short in my opinion. (Posted on 1/23/11)
solid Review by Dennis P
Rating
Solid beer..Light on the flavor originally but really grows well with age.... a good wheat beer...I couldn't get much carbonation on this one from the keg but maybe its just me....again, solid wheat beer that ages very well (Posted on 1/6/11)
A croud pleaser Review by Jimz
Rating
I made this and added a few 'extras' an extra lb. of wheat DME, 1 oz. bitter orange peel, and a few whole cloves. It turned out great! Unfortunatly it went way to fast!! I will brew this one again in the near future. (Posted on 12/31/10)
My Husband's Favorite Review by St Paul Gal
Rating
If you're expecting Franziskaner, this is not it, but it's a great beer. I brewed this in September and we've been drinking it all winter. Easy to brew, and every time I share some with my husband, he says, "Yeah, that IS good beer...is there another bottle?" Let it sit for at least 4 weeks in the bottle. (Posted on 12/28/10)
too similar to hefeweizen Review by JBmadtown
Rating
I brewed the hefeweizen and then two months later brewed the dunkelweizen. The color difference is minimal and I use the late extract addition method to keep my extract beers from getting too dark.

The banana, clove, and bread of the wy3068 have come out nicely. However, I was hoping for a richer maltiness that isn't coming through yet. (Posted on 12/22/10)
Good, not great (yet?) Review by K. Boswell
Rating
So I brewed this kit for my brother-in-law as a holiday gift. His favorite beer is one that is modeled after, Franziskaner [sp]. Two weeks after bottling, here is what I get out of it:

Amazing aroma, reminiscent of warm banana bread; a clean and very forward initial taste and mouth feel; but then, poor head retention. And most (potentially disappointing) lack of malt bill and body throughout the taste. When my wife sampled it, she echoed my first assumption: "It tastes watery, or something"

Maybe it is still young, perhaps I fouled something up, perhaps the recipe needs some crushed grain instead of using all malt syrup...I just don't know. Overall, I would say the jury is still out on this one... (Posted on 12/5/10)
Winner! Review by J_to_the_B
Rating
So this one didn't turn as as dunkel as I would have thought.... but it was still quite good. I used White Labs 380 yeast, which imparted a lot of pleasant banana notes. I entered this beer in a local homebrew comp and won 1st Place in it's category! (Posted on 11/16/10)
A good spring dunkel Review by The brewing goat
Rating
Brewed this last mothers day, it was tasty. If you enjoy a solid dunkel here you go. (Posted on 11/2/10)
First Batch, Not Perfect But Darn Good Review by Brian
Rating
As the summary noted this was my first batch of beer and I brewed it with a neighbors kit and assistance. Overall, I'm really happy with the beer and more importantly my wife was impressed and I can get my own gear (thanks honey).. This is week 2 of bottle conditioning and there is carbonation but there isn't much head to the beer (probably my mistake somewhere). This beer goes down smooth and has nice flavors (we used the upgraded yeast). Will brew again. (Posted on 10/28/10)

Items 21 to 30 of 31 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register