Cream Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1390
Rating
179 Review(s)
An ale version of the light, fizzy American lager style, cream ale is a specialty of the eastern US. Our Cream Ale is medium-bodied and smooth, gold in color and low in bitterness; the specialty grain blend adds some complexity with a clean, sweet malt profile and a hint of buttered toast in the aroma and flavor. A homebrewed “lawnmower beer” is pretty hard to beat as a summertime thirst-quencher.

Cream Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 179 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
1st time brewing, smooth and crisp beer Review by Eric
Rating
This is my 1st brew, so I was expecting it to be decent. I was surprised at how good it came out. Kit was simple to follow. I did a late extract addition and also used a large enough kettle for a full volume boil. I adjusted the hop additions accordingly using BeerSmith. This beer came out light, with floral notes and a crisp finish with just a hint of hops at the end. A great summer beer! Will definitely brew again. The late extract addition kept the color light and close to the depiction on this page. Leave it in the fermenter at least 2 weeks, you will be rewarded with better beer. (Posted on 7/16/14)
Love this kit Review by William
Rating
I've brewed this twice, and each time I added 1 oz of Citra hops with 10 minutes left in the boil. It added a slight hoppy/grapefruit finish that everybody LOVES! I will be ordering kit #3 soon! (Posted on 7/10/14)
Good beer, easy to brew Review by David
Rating
This kit was easy to make and turned out great! Very good summer-type beer. My only addition was a pound of honey at the end of the boil. Added a bit of extra fermenting time but did not rack to a secondary. Let it bottle condition for a month and seems just about right on the timing. Nice color and head.

This was my first Northern Brewer (NB) kit and one of my first brews, after making fruit wine for a number of years. NB has great products and they seem always willing to help. In my experience making beer and wine, freshness of ingredients is critical to quality. NB appears to agree. Will be a repeat customer! (Posted on 7/3/14)
Amazing beer Review by Jonathan
Rating
This blows away all the light non offensive craft brew ale offerings here in California, some of which dominate the shelves in all the stores here, this is definitely going to keep me busy brewing this for all my friends, if your tired of all the ipa fad and want a beer that goes down easy but has flavor, this is the beer for you. (Posted on 6/21/14)
Mixing it up Review by Shogan
Rating
Well, added 1lb Belgium clear candy and fermented with WLP530 Abbey Ale Yeast. I'd share but I think you should try it out for yourself. Fermentation temperature was at 78 degrees for 9 days. Transferred to a secondary over a layer of 4 lbs of Mango puree the wife and I made and let it sit for two weeks, kegged for two weeks and it was fantastic. Basically no longer a Cream Ale...

FYI 6.32 gallon boil. (Posted on 6/11/14)
REALLY DELICIOUS Review by Abigail
Rating
This brew turned out so great! Low hops, nice fresh creamy finish that leaves you wanting more. This is a great go to beer for after mowing the lawn or just to drink with a burger. Love this one, even a little more than the caribou slobber. (Posted on 6/8/14)
Great Summer Beer, won't last long Review by Robert I.
Rating
This was my 2nd brew and boy was I glad I did it. I think the reviews this site offers come in really handy because I took the advise of other home brewers and added 2 lbs of Orange blossom honey and I also did a tincture of 1 vanilla bean and 1 oz of sweet orange peel while it was fermenting and added it when I kegged it. I think the vanilla made it slightly sweet but after it sat for a week it died down, either way it was still an awesome beer. Unfortunately the beer only lasted 3 weeks so it didn't even get sufficient time to condition. I already re-ordered this to kit to brew this weekend. This time I'll be taking the advise of other brewers and adding citra hops at 15 min. Can't wait to see how it turns out, beersmith says I'll be at 49 IBU, but we will see. (Posted on 5/30/14)
happy with Review by James
Rating
Brewed this about a month and a half ago. Did roughly 2.5 weeks in primary then about a week , week and a half in secondary. Final gravity was 1.012 or 1.010. Tried one at 10 days in bottle, tasted good but no carbonation.. tried one four days later and was fully carbd. I think NB does a good job with their summary, a good tasting lighter cream ale, but with a more buttered taste flavor. (Posted on 3/20/14)
ol faithful be cautious Review by John
Rating
So this is advertised as a 4 week brew.....id say give it more time in the fermented and weigh out your corn sugar if you are bottling it......this will minimize any potential for an old faithful occurrence. Otherwise tastes great....had one a year after I brewed it and tasted fantastic (Posted on 2/24/14)
Great beer. Could drink this all day and night! Review by Tony
Rating
I normally prefer darker beers but I absolutely love this ale. Light like a lager but with a nice tang that I really enjoy. It goes with just about any food and is also great for sipping in front of the TV. The kit really is an "Easy Brew" as advertised. Very vigorous fermentation was over in 3-5 days. No need for secondary and ready to drink in less than a month. Will definitely make this one again. (Posted on 1/23/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 179 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register