Cream Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1390
Rating
172 Review(s)
An ale version of the light, fizzy American lager style, cream ale is a specialty of the eastern US. Our Cream Ale is medium-bodied and smooth, gold in color and low in bitterness; the specialty grain blend adds some complexity with a clean, sweet malt profile and a hint of buttered toast in the aroma and flavor. A homebrewed “lawnmower beer” is pretty hard to beat as a summertime thirst-quencher.

Cream Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 172 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
happy with Review by James
Rating
Brewed this about a month and a half ago. Did roughly 2.5 weeks in primary then about a week , week and a half in secondary. Final gravity was 1.012 or 1.010. Tried one at 10 days in bottle, tasted good but no carbonation.. tried one four days later and was fully carbd. I think NB does a good job with their summary, a good tasting lighter cream ale, but with a more buttered taste flavor. (Posted on 3/20/14)
ol faithful be cautious Review by John
Rating
So this is advertised as a 4 week brew.....id say give it more time in the fermented and weigh out your corn sugar if you are bottling it......this will minimize any potential for an old faithful occurrence. Otherwise tastes great....had one a year after I brewed it and tasted fantastic (Posted on 2/24/14)
Great beer. Could drink this all day and night! Review by Tony
Rating
I normally prefer darker beers but I absolutely love this ale. Light like a lager but with a nice tang that I really enjoy. It goes with just about any food and is also great for sipping in front of the TV. The kit really is an "Easy Brew" as advertised. Very vigorous fermentation was over in 3-5 days. No need for secondary and ready to drink in less than a month. Will definitely make this one again. (Posted on 1/23/14)
Nice smooth light beer Review by David
Rating
2nd time I've brewed this one for 2013. One of my favorites.
I brew it as directed, seems to taste best at 4 weeks + in the bottle. (Posted on 1/12/14)
The kit was easy yet I screwed it up. Review by Mike
Rating
Never walk away from a brew pot. I managed to burn the grain bag to the pot. I'll try again (Posted on 1/10/14)
Excellent Brew Review by Kelly
Rating
This is the first time I used NB for a Cream Ale. Started with a OG of 1.041 and finished with a FG of 1.007. I had it in the primary for 1 week, secondary for 2 weeks, and cold conditioned 1 week under pressure. This is a nice light easy dinking beer. I will be keeping this one in the rotation. I normally don't give a high rating to anything because there is always room for improvement, but not this time. (Posted on 1/6/14)
awesome beer Review by terry
Rating
add 3 lbs of orange blossom honey at beginning of boil, 1 week primary, 2 weeks secondary, started drinking after 2 weeks bottle conditioning but had its best test at 2 months in the bottle. My friends swear that I used bananas since they could taste them. At 2 months bottle conditioning, beer had a nice smooth creamy taste and due to the 3 lbs of honey at beginning of boil much higher ABV (Posted on 1/1/14)
What more can you ask for? Review by Ryan
Rating
This kit came out great! I used WLP001 with a starter and added 1 lb of orange blossom honey at flameout to sweeten it up a tad and up the ABV. Everything else I did was exactly as the recipe instructed. I fermented 2 weeks in the primary, controlling temp at ~64* F for the first 5-7 days, then let it climb up to room temp for the remaining week or so. Bottled with 2/3 cup corn sugar as instructed.

The beer turned out a bit darker than the photo. I'm guessing that's mostly due to all the LME, but the honey may have contributed a little to that too. The only way I can describe this beer is that it smells and tastes "beery". It's like your run of the mill yellow lager from the grocery store but with more balls, body and flavor. And it has a nice dry finish that I absolutely adore (that may be thanks to the WLP001 w/starter). I'm a snobby craft beer nerd and I've been guzzling this stuff down like mad. But at the same time, my wife, who is not a craft beer fan, has been drinking this just as much as me.

I don't like handing out 5-star reviews because I don't believe in perfection, but this kit deserves it. It's cheap, quick, easy, delicious and makes a great base for experimentation. What more can you ask for? (Posted on 12/27/13)
great easy brew Review by jonathan
Rating
every one loves it nice light beer easy to brew (Posted on 12/17/13)
Clean finish... Review by Peter
Rating
Not my favorite style, personally, but this was brewed as a Christmas gift for my father--I think the kit turned out exactly as it was supposed to. In fact, I was worried that brewing such a light beer would allow the "LME tang" to shine through, but this beer finished up very clean and nice. I think a nice big yeast starter helped it clean up so nicely--the fermentation was so vigorous it poured out of the airlock for almost two days! Overall, nice product, if cream ales is what you are looking for. (Posted on 12/9/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 172 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register