Bavarian Dunkel Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1430
Rating
16 Review(s)
Dark without being roasty or bitter, full-bodied and malty without being syrupy ... Dunkel is another signature lager from Bavaria. The copper color and profound complexity comes from high-kilned Munich malt, with its toasty, bready aroma and full flavor. Our kit is rounded out with German hops and an authentic yeast strain to yield a smooth and satisfying dark lager. Serve alongside rye bread, cheese and mustard. Recommended: 2-stage cold fermentation and yeast starter.

Bavarian Dunkel Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 16 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
One f the best Dunkels I've ever had! Review by Philip
Rating
I'm a huge Dunkel fan. This is my 4th time I've brewed a Dunkel. The first time I have brewed using NB Dunkel kit. The results are fabulous. The best Dunkel I've ever brewed and one of the best I have ever drank. Equal to the German Dunkels I drank in Germany several months ago. I allowed 3 months conditioning in a keg before serving. Brewed in Feb served in June. Fantastic!! (Posted on 6/27/14)
True To Character Review by Robert J
Rating
Still lagering in my fermentor but the hydrometer sample tasted great and the aroma was spot on! Original gravity was right on at 1.052 and the fermentation was working in 4 hours with a 2 litre yeast starter. Looking forward to this one after a 12 week lager.
(Posted on 11/26/13)
Tasty Review by AJ
Rating
After coming home from Germany, my friend and I wanted to start brewing our own beer. We picked up this kit and used an ale yeast (wyeast 1007) as we didn't have a way to control the temperature for a lager. It has a good taste to it, but I feel like we messed it up a bit and added too much water. I want to try this one again as a lager. (Posted on 11/6/13)
Beno's Dark Review by Scot
Rating
I brewed this for a wedding, and this was the groom's beer. I was aiming for Schell's Dark, so I called it Beno's Dark, but I came out more like negro modelo. Not a bad thing, but much darker than I expected. 2 weeks primary, at 50 degrees, which was colder than the directions said. I followed the temperature on the yeast, and learned that I should follow my directions. It was my first lager, so I knew it wouldn't go perfectly. It was at 1%abv, but I racked it and kept it at 50 for 4 weeks and it got to 5%abv, so I was happy with that. 2 weeks carbonating, chilled overnight, and it was great. Dark, balanced, slightly sweet, slightly bitter, great head retention. I'm going to brew this again and be more careful to keep my temperature within the guidelines. (Posted on 1/15/13)
one of my Favorite NB kits! Review by Melody
Rating
I've made a lot NB kits and loved them all. This was my first Lager attempt. Followed the directions and the beer turned out exactly as stated. It was good as soon as it was finished sweet and malty. I keg my beers these days, and somehow the Dunkel got pushed to the back of our cold storage fridge. It rested there for for 3 more months. we pulled it out for a party last week, and the guests drank it dry. Out of 4 choices and a bunch of bottled craft beers, this Lager ran out. To me that says a lot. My friends are all craft beer drinkers and they favored this one. I will be adding this to the regular rotation. In fact, that why I here to re-order. :) Thanks for crafting such a yummy recipe. (Posted on 12/8/12)
Great Beer! Review by Terrance
Rating
I was surprised by this, I had not made a Lager before and was rather afraid of what I might have created, I luckily had just purchased a temp controller for my fridge so I set it up, fermented for 2 weeks, swapped to secondary and lagered for 2 weeks, put in a keg, hit it with 30psi first then lowered to 12 for a couple days, and bam, it tastes great! (Posted on 12/7/12)
LAGER, not an ALE; needs COLD temps during WINTER Review by Mark
Rating
Wish the actual name were listed as "Bavarian Dunkel LAGER"; I wasn't prepared to provide the necessary colder temps in August. My wort chiller could only get it down to 64F, because it was coming out of the Northern Michigan ground (city water, not well) at 62F today. Luckily I have a basement, but w/ Summer 2012 temps, even my basement isn't the desired 46-56F... that wouldn't be possible until Winter.

I suspect it will taste great - the hydrometer sample tasted good (only 1.048 vs. predicted 1.052), but maybe will end up more like an ale at these fermentation temps? Also, I didn't notice any special instructions on the NB Yeast starter FAQ about making the Wyeast lager starter at lower temps - I suspect that should also be done eh? (Posted on 8/2/12)
BREWED WITH ALE YEAST AT ALE TEMPS: Saflager US-05 Ale Yeast Works fine Review by Justin
Rating
I made this kit to try the beers that are less hoppy and more malty, and was not dissapointed. Since I didn't have the ability to use lager yeast, I tried it with Saflager US-05 yeast and it came out great. A bit sweet soon after bottling, took a while to really get good and malty and clean, but it turned out excellent. Good enough that I would make it the same way. Very good beer, relatively light body with great malt flavor. Used Irish moss at 15 left, and got an ABV of 5.8% (1.052/1.008). Fermented at 75deg for 14 days. (Posted on 8/1/12)
5 stars Review by Kate
Rating
This was our first lager and it's exactly what we were looking for: dark, malty, clear with a caramel undertone. The longer it sits in the bottle, the more blended and better the taste. (Posted on 6/13/12)
Wow! Loved it. Review by Marc
Rating
Awesome malty character with just enough hops to keep it honest. Brewed in the fall and drank it most of the winter and spring. Great tasting dark lager. This one goes in the permanent rotation. (Posted on 6/9/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 16 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register