Dead Ringer™ IPA Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1530
Rating
185 Review(s)
Dead Ringer™ is a larger-than-life American IPA with a hop aroma so thick you can almost see it. American base malt and crystal malt create the big body and supporting grainy sweetness, while charge after charge of 100% Centennial hops deliver pronounced bitterness with a dominant citrus aroma and flavor. In the glass you get a pale amber color, hop intensity and malt density - substance with the soul of a session beer. April 2011: Same recipe, new name - Dead Ringer™ is an homage to a benchmark of the American IPA style that’s brewed in Michigan. This kit has been a customer favorite for a decade, but this spring we had to change the name after receiving a letter from a lawyer representing the brewery. While the name may be new to our customers, the recipe is exactly the same and is still the same kit that’s close to your hearts. Recommended: 2-stage fermentation and yeast starter.

Dead Ringer IPA Extract Kit with Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 185 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 19
Excellent Kit Review by David
Rating
My first attempt at home brewing. Doubled up two kits and did a 10 gallon batch. Came out better than expected for first attempt. Used safe ale dry yeast, did not use a starter. Went with the fermentors favorite fizz drops. I'm on the west coast, never tried the original beer, so I don't know how it compares. This kit is delicious, will def brew it again. (Posted on 3/29/15)
Sweet Session to Slowly Sip Review by spencer
Rating
First off, Northern Brewer has thorough instructions and fresh ingredients. Secondly, this beer kit is the best IPA I've brewed, thanks to NB. I'm always intrigued as to how "clone" kits pair up to the original... in this case, Bell's 2-hearted. Tasting the original, I wanted something a little sweeter and less dry. As a result, I added .5 lb of amber DME to the boil. Just had my first bottle after 2 weeks carbing, and I couldn't resist a second! It's definitely taken on the amber/ruby red color but stays true to Dead Ringer's onslaught of Centennial hops. Thankfully, this onslaught is well-balanced between bitterness and aroma, and I applaud Northern Brewer!! Cheers (Posted on 3/25/15)
Great Taste easy first time brew Review by Edward
Rating
I'm glad I started off with this brew. It came out great and my friends and I enjoyed it very much. I will be doing this one again. I just wish I knew what was in the mesh bag so that I can brew this without following the kit. (Posted on 3/23/15)
It's a dead ringer Review by Ryan
Rating
Tastes just like its namesake. This one is a keeper. Will put in my permanent rotation. Used us-05 yeast and followed recipe. Started fermentation within 3 hours! (Posted on 3/17/15)
Excellent IPA for people who don't like IPAs! Review by Jim
Rating
I don't like a lot of IPAs (too bitter/hoppy for my taste), but thought I'd give it a try. Brewed & fermented for a week, racked to carboy for 3 weeks (didn't dry hop…didn't want to muck up my carboy with hop pellet sludge, plus wanted to limit the hoppiness). Then I kegged. VERY good. Malty with hops, compared favorably with a can of Bell's Two Hearted IPA I found here in AZ. My hop head buddy likes it, as does my wife. It'll definitely go into my brewing rotation! (Posted on 3/13/15)
Excellent! Review by Jim
Rating
Started brewing again last Fall after a 10 year hiatus. Got this kit to try. I don't really care for a lot of the IPAs I've tried, because they're a bit too hoppy for my taste. I brewed & fermented in primary for a week, racked to a carboy for 3 weeks (didn't dry hop, because I didn't want an overpowering hoppiness, and because I didn't want to muck up the secondary with hop sludge). Then I kegged it. Outstanding! My buddy is a hop head, & he liked it too, as does my wife. It's definitely on my rotating brew list. I actually found some cans of Bell's Two Hearted IPA here in AZ, & they compare favorably. (Posted on 3/13/15)
Yep - it's that good Review by Joe McD
Rating
This will sound like a previous post:
- my 2nd batch
- dry hopped only 5 days after reading benefits of keeping it short
- Grolsh flip top Bottles; about 1/2 the sugar for carb after over carbing the first batch (lesson learned)
- a couple of friends going nuts over it, especially the die-hard 2 Hearted fans
- each one I've had I'm diggin more n more (Posted on 3/11/15)
Best beer I've done so far! Review by Jesse
Rating
This is only my second brew so I know I'm not saying much by that, but it came out tasting amazing. I am not set up for secondary fermenting so it sat for three weeks in the primary fermenter with the ambient temperature around 65-68F. From there it went into the bottling bucket. Only primed with half the bag of priming sugar that came with it and into Grolsch bottles and the carbonation is perfect. After a month in the bottle it tastes even better. The hop flavor is awesome and after a few days in the fridge it's a very clear healthy looking pint. Will do this one again someday. (Posted on 3/3/15)
UNBELIEVABLY GOOD!!! Review by Brian
Rating
I have had the "Two Hearted Ale" and liked it. It was good. This however is a LOT BETTER. I have NEVER had an IPA that tasted as good as this! The sweetness of the malt is PERFECTLY balanced by the hops. I seriously don't think I'll ever have a better IPA, and this will definitely be brewed again and again. I love it. SG was 1.062. I left it in the primary for 14 days and then dry hopped for 7 days in the secondary. The FG was 1.010 and the ABV is 6.8%. (Posted on 2/24/15)
Outstanding Review by Andy
Rating
This was my second batch ever, but it turned out excellent. My dad said he's never had a better beer. All my friends had nothing but good things to say. However, I need to learn to be patient... I started enjoying after only 10 days bottle conditioning but the beer kept getting better with time. Will definitely brew this again! (Posted on 2/23/15)

Items 1 to 10 of 185 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 19

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register