Dead Ringer™ IPA Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1530
Rating
170 Review(s)
Dead Ringer™ is a larger-than-life American IPA with a hop aroma so thick you can almost see it. American base malt and crystal malt create the big body and supporting grainy sweetness, while charge after charge of 100% Centennial hops deliver pronounced bitterness with a dominant citrus aroma and flavor. In the glass you get a pale amber color, hop intensity and malt density - substance with the soul of a session beer. April 2011: Same recipe, new name - Dead Ringer™ is an homage to a benchmark of the American IPA style that’s brewed in Michigan. This kit has been a customer favorite for a decade, but this spring we had to change the name after receiving a letter from a lawyer representing the brewery. While the name may be new to our customers, the recipe is exactly the same and is still the same kit that’s close to your hearts. Recommended: 2-stage fermentation and yeast starter.

Dead Ringer IPA Extract Kit with Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 170 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17
A Truely Amazing IPA Brew! Review by Brad
Rating
What else is there to say. I agree with everyone else on this review board on this one. This is be a regular on my brew schedule from now on. Even my hop head friend couldn't get enough of this! All around a very balanced IPA. Full of malty flavor with nice hop kick. I can't wait to get another batch going! Used one pack of Safale US-05. I was a little under target for my OG which in turned got me a little above %5 ABV. Turned out great! Will be trying to shoot for a higher OG next time. (Posted on 11/27/14)
Best beer ever Review by Matthew
Rating
This was only the second all grain beer I had ever made. I had made tons of extract and partial kits over the years. My first all grain batch was a failure, it tasted terrible. This however was the best beer I have ever made. I would with out a doubt make a special trip to pay for beer that good. I poured it in a glass next to a glass of the real thing and they looked different but equally good. The people that took the blind taste test were split 2 out of 3 thought my beer was the one I went and bought at the liquor store. (Posted on 9/30/14)
EXPLOSIVE! Review by Craig
Rating
Great beer, tastes like an IPA should, but what I didnt count on (and this could be my error) was the explosive nature of this. Ive had 2 bottle bombs, and you have to handle this stuff like nitro glycerin, then carefully open over the sink. Once it breathes and foam settles a bit its delicious. I think less priming sugar may be in order? (Posted on 8/22/14)
Great taste, not much aroma Review by Aaron
Rating
This is a great tasting beer, and it may even be better than the beer it's based on. Nice maltiness, good hoppy bitterness. The only issue I had was a lack of hop aroma. One ounce of dry hopping isn't enough - an extra ounce might have helped. (Posted on 8/13/14)
Just Amazing Review by David
Rating
This is my favorite brew so far. I kicked the keg way too early because it was just so good. It is an IPA that can satisfy IPA lovers as well as those who aren't too crazy about them. I followed directions and it came out amazing. I would much rather have this over a store bought IPA any day of the week. (Posted on 7/27/14)
Incredible IPA Review by Wayne
Rating
Kegged this one only 8 days ago and had to tap it quick (it was on the set it and forget it forced carbonation routine - 42 Deg F @ 12 psi - but I could not forget any longer!) since my 5 gallon keg of West Coast Radical Red (btw it was awesome) ran dry in less than 2 weeks time. The intensity of the Centennial hops is amazing, very smooth drinking, excellent flavor, and packs quite a nice buzz. Once slight problem however, as I am afraid this won't last very long. This Northern IPA rocks big time. I'll be sure to brew this one at least a million more times!!! (Posted on 7/8/14)
Awesome 1st Home Brew Review by Carl
Rating
My first attempt at home brewing. Had a few too many while brewing and screwed up the hop drops a bit and dry-hopped with 2oz of Cascades instead of one. I was really disappointed with the first bottle because it had such a strong pine taste. Waited another 2 weeks, and WOW!! Completely different character. The pine taste had totally mellowed, and a few completely different flavors emerged. I'm going to enjoy the remainder of this batch, but hide a few bottles (from myself) to see what a year of bottle conditioning does to the character. Excellent beer!
(Posted on 7/4/14)
Delicious beer Review by John
Rating
I dry hopped this in the keg. I have 4 taps and this one is getting the most pulls at the moment. I would brew this again. (Posted on 6/17/14)
My New Favorite Review by Chandler
Rating
Left this in my fermenting bucket for three weeks before adding the dry hops for another two weeks. Bottled and tasted after 1 week. My favorite kit so far. This beer is delicious and strong. (Posted on 6/1/14)
Great taste and easy to brew Review by Fernando
Rating
First homebrew and it came out amazing! (Posted on 5/20/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 170 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register