Dead Ringer™ IPA Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1530
Rating
177 Review(s)
Dead Ringer™ is a larger-than-life American IPA with a hop aroma so thick you can almost see it. American base malt and crystal malt create the big body and supporting grainy sweetness, while charge after charge of 100% Centennial hops deliver pronounced bitterness with a dominant citrus aroma and flavor. In the glass you get a pale amber color, hop intensity and malt density - substance with the soul of a session beer. April 2011: Same recipe, new name - Dead Ringer™ is an homage to a benchmark of the American IPA style that’s brewed in Michigan. This kit has been a customer favorite for a decade, but this spring we had to change the name after receiving a letter from a lawyer representing the brewery. While the name may be new to our customers, the recipe is exactly the same and is still the same kit that’s close to your hearts. Recommended: 2-stage fermentation and yeast starter.

Dead Ringer IPA Extract Kit with Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 177 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18
UNBELIEVABLY GOOD!!! Review by Brian
Rating
I have had the "Two Hearted Ale" and liked it. It was good. This however is a LOT BETTER. I have NEVER had an IPA that tasted as good as this! The sweetness of the malt is PERFECTLY balanced by the hops. I seriously don't think I'll ever have a better IPA, and this will definitely be brewed again and again. I love it. SG was 1.062. I left it in the primary for 14 days and then dry hopped for 7 days in the secondary. The FG was 1.010 and the ABV is 6.8%. (Posted on 2/24/15)
Outstanding Review by Andy
Rating
This was my second batch ever, but it turned out excellent. My dad said he's never had a better beer. All my friends had nothing but good things to say. However, I need to learn to be patient... I started enjoying after only 10 days bottle conditioning but the beer kept getting better with time. Will definitely brew this again! (Posted on 2/23/15)
1st Homebrew Review by Christopher
Rating
Got this kit with an essential starter kit. Did a few things wrong since I didnt know any better. Have a few brews under my belt now and have done alot of research so have ironed out the details. Regardless, this beer turned out absolutely amazing. When I found out that a local pub had two-hearted on draft, I took a bomber along and split it with the bartender so we could compare side by side. Even after my blunders, the dead ringer was still better. I cant praise this kit enough, and cannot wait to brew it again properly. (Posted on 2/15/15)
My first brew Review by Brad
Rating
NB provided great directions. This was my first homebrew and it came out great. (Posted on 2/13/15)
Absolutely Amazing Review by Lane
Rating
This was only the second batch I've ever brewed and it is already on my list to brew again. The balance of the maltiness and hops is perfect! The only thing that would make this beer better is another ounce of the centennial hops during the dry hop process. Overall a GREAT tasting beer! (Posted on 1/24/15)
Great flavor!! Review by Garth
Rating
I thought this brew was going to be bad because of the way it acted after the yeast when into it. Well after the prescibed amount of time, I had the fist bottle and a few after, and it is just one of the best flavors of beer from NB yet!! Lovi' it!! :) (Posted on 12/26/14)
As a Two Hearted Ale fan, I approve. Review by Caleb
Rating
This brew turned out excellent. Brewing, fermentation, and bottling all went very smoothly. However, after conditioning, I (like some others in the reviews) found the beer to be a little flat. I got a bag of conditioning caplets from my local homebrew store and opened all of the bottles and dropped two caplets in each bottle and recapped. After letting them sit for another week, this beer tastes almost identical to, and possibly better than, its Bell's inspiration. (Posted on 12/19/14)
A Truely Amazing IPA Brew! Review by Brad
Rating
What else is there to say. I agree with everyone else on this review board on this one. This is be a regular on my brew schedule from now on. Even my hop head friend couldn't get enough of this! All around a very balanced IPA. Full of malty flavor with nice hop kick. I can't wait to get another batch going! Used one pack of Safale US-05. I was a little under target for my OG which in turned got me a little above %5 ABV. Turned out great! Will be trying to shoot for a higher OG next time. (Posted on 11/27/14)
Best beer ever Review by Matthew
Rating
This was only the second all grain beer I had ever made. I had made tons of extract and partial kits over the years. My first all grain batch was a failure, it tasted terrible. This however was the best beer I have ever made. I would with out a doubt make a special trip to pay for beer that good. I poured it in a glass next to a glass of the real thing and they looked different but equally good. The people that took the blind taste test were split 2 out of 3 thought my beer was the one I went and bought at the liquor store. (Posted on 9/30/14)
EXPLOSIVE! Review by Craig
Rating
Great beer, tastes like an IPA should, but what I didnt count on (and this could be my error) was the explosive nature of this. Ive had 2 bottle bombs, and you have to handle this stuff like nitro glycerin, then carefully open over the sink. Once it breathes and foam settles a bit its delicious. I think less priming sugar may be in order? (Posted on 8/22/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 177 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 18

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register