Honey Kolsch Extract Kit

SKU: U1610
Rating
43 Review(s)
A variation on our extremely popular Kölsch recipe with the addition of honey and a new yeast strain for a lighter body and flavor. Like our original Kölsch kit, this recipe features a pale color, light body, and smooth mouthfeel. Honey adds subtle floral character and lightens the body by fermenting to dryness. Really nice as a summer brew for barbecues and picnics, or to wean your friends off watery mass-produced lagers.

Pic of U1610

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 43 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Best 1st brew Review by Mark
Rating
Back again for the 3rd time purchasing this kit. Very light and the easiest beer to brew in a pinch. Make sure you use the blow off tube as suggested! (Posted on 8/27/14)
Use Your Own Honey! Review by aufrankie
Rating
Not sure where NB got their honey depot and it's good but if you want a touch of local, find your own pound of wildflower, clover, etc. Look up local apiaries and brew with it. Makes a profound difference. Great balanced light "conversion" beer for the BMC crowd. Put mine up against Rogue's, Leinie's and a few others and this one won hands down on aroma, taste, appearance. Have this on hand/tap for those that just aren't sure about Homebrewers. (Posted on 3/30/14)
my first time Review by steve
Rating
pretty much says it all ! this is my first time brewing this beer and it turned out great ! i did just like it said in the recipe. i did dump this batch on a yeast cake (Safale US-05 Ale Yeast) no problem with off taste or anything .. fermented at 64-66. now its on tap and tasting good! (Posted on 12/11/13)
Very refreshing Review by Dave
Rating
Not a particularly complex beer, but we loved it. One of our first beers to keg and it was gone way too fast. A good simple summer beer. We substituted local honey and put in a full 16 ounces, just to customize it a bit. We will definitely repeat for next summer. I prefer darker, richer beers in the winter. (Posted on 10/13/13)
Easy to Brew Review by jra173
Rating
I brewed this in Sept. and fermented next to an air conditioner in my basement. I ended up adding almost 4 gal of water to my boil to increase flavor. Turned out closer to an amber color but still good. (Posted on 10/1/13)
Nice Beer Review by Jim
Rating
We've enjoyed a couple of styles with honey, and it makes a nice touch to this kolsch. I also made a tincture with dried lavender and added that. It makes a refreshing sipping beer on the deck in the back, and it's getting good reviews from the folks I shared some 22's with. (Posted on 6/16/13)
Very good beer Review by Gary
Rating
This was my second batch of honey kolsch. It turned out good, as I expected. Next time, I'm going to add a second pound of honey. (Posted on 5/25/13)
Just right and not too sweet! Review by Polk
Rating
This was one of the first batches and I shared it with friends after kegging! I followed the recipe to the letter!

They loved it and drank every bit of the 3 gallons!

This being the first time I have "kegged" so I really wasn't sure how it would turn out! It turned out great!
Ordering another "Honey Kolsch" kit today!
(Posted on 4/29/13)
Excellent summer beer Review by Samuel
Rating
Both this and the regular kolsch are very crisp and have a modest enough alcohol content that you can have a few and maintain your balance. This one has a nice hint of honey; not sweet or overpowering. (Posted on 9/27/12)
Great session beer Review by Scott
Rating
Very drinkable and well balanced blonde type ale. It ranks up there with my other favorite light colored kit - cream ale. I always have a blonde and an amber on tap and the Honey Kolsch will be on tap often. I have brewed it three times now and it goes way too fast. (Posted on 9/3/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 43 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register