Honey Kolsch Extract Kit

SKU: U1610
Rating
45 Review(s)
A variation on our extremely popular Kölsch recipe with the addition of honey and a new yeast strain for a lighter body and flavor. Like our original Kölsch kit, this recipe features a pale color, light body, and smooth mouthfeel. Honey adds subtle floral character and lightens the body by fermenting to dryness. Really nice as a summer brew for barbecues and picnics, or to wean your friends off watery mass-produced lagers.

Pic of U1610

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 45 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Let it Age Review by John
Rating
This beer was a little bland at first but with time it developed a balanced body with a great head. Definitely has a distinctive finish. A good beer but not my favorite. Probably won't order again. (Posted on 12/7/14)
I threw it out Review by Robert C
Rating
I read that it could be fermented as an ale so I bought it. Big mistake, it formed a pelicule of what apparently a bacteria called "bruce" for short. I read elsewhere that this can happen if some beers are fermented at higher than 60 degrees. Customer service said it's OK but may turn sour in time. All of my fermenters are soaked in oxyclean after each batch, then washed with soap and water afterward, then washed again and sanitized before the next batch. Have never had any problems. (Posted on 11/15/14)
Best 1st brew Review by Mark
Rating
Back again for the 3rd time purchasing this kit. Very light and the easiest beer to brew in a pinch. Make sure you use the blow off tube as suggested! (Posted on 8/27/14)
Use Your Own Honey! Review by aufrankie
Rating
Not sure where NB got their honey depot and it's good but if you want a touch of local, find your own pound of wildflower, clover, etc. Look up local apiaries and brew with it. Makes a profound difference. Great balanced light "conversion" beer for the BMC crowd. Put mine up against Rogue's, Leinie's and a few others and this one won hands down on aroma, taste, appearance. Have this on hand/tap for those that just aren't sure about Homebrewers. (Posted on 3/30/14)
my first time Review by steve
Rating
pretty much says it all ! this is my first time brewing this beer and it turned out great ! i did just like it said in the recipe. i did dump this batch on a yeast cake (Safale US-05 Ale Yeast) no problem with off taste or anything .. fermented at 64-66. now its on tap and tasting good! (Posted on 12/11/13)
Very refreshing Review by Dave
Rating
Not a particularly complex beer, but we loved it. One of our first beers to keg and it was gone way too fast. A good simple summer beer. We substituted local honey and put in a full 16 ounces, just to customize it a bit. We will definitely repeat for next summer. I prefer darker, richer beers in the winter. (Posted on 10/13/13)
Easy to Brew Review by jra173
Rating
I brewed this in Sept. and fermented next to an air conditioner in my basement. I ended up adding almost 4 gal of water to my boil to increase flavor. Turned out closer to an amber color but still good. (Posted on 10/1/13)
Nice Beer Review by Jim
Rating
We've enjoyed a couple of styles with honey, and it makes a nice touch to this kolsch. I also made a tincture with dried lavender and added that. It makes a refreshing sipping beer on the deck in the back, and it's getting good reviews from the folks I shared some 22's with. (Posted on 6/16/13)
Very good beer Review by Gary
Rating
This was my second batch of honey kolsch. It turned out good, as I expected. Next time, I'm going to add a second pound of honey. (Posted on 5/25/13)
Just right and not too sweet! Review by Polk
Rating
This was one of the first batches and I shared it with friends after kegging! I followed the recipe to the letter!

They loved it and drank every bit of the 3 gallons!

This being the first time I have "kegged" so I really wasn't sure how it would turn out! It turned out great!
Ordering another "Honey Kolsch" kit today!
(Posted on 4/29/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 45 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register