Honey Kolsch Extract Kit

SKU: U1610
Rating
42 Review(s)
A variation on our extremely popular Kölsch recipe with the addition of honey and a new yeast strain for a lighter body and flavor. Like our original Kölsch kit, this recipe features a pale color, light body, and smooth mouthfeel. Honey adds subtle floral character and lightens the body by fermenting to dryness. Really nice as a summer brew for barbecues and picnics, or to wean your friends off watery mass-produced lagers.

Pic of U1610

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 42 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Use Your Own Honey! Review by aufrankie
Rating
Not sure where NB got their honey depot and it's good but if you want a touch of local, find your own pound of wildflower, clover, etc. Look up local apiaries and brew with it. Makes a profound difference. Great balanced light "conversion" beer for the BMC crowd. Put mine up against Rogue's, Leinie's and a few others and this one won hands down on aroma, taste, appearance. Have this on hand/tap for those that just aren't sure about Homebrewers. (Posted on 3/30/14)
my first time Review by steve
Rating
pretty much says it all ! this is my first time brewing this beer and it turned out great ! i did just like it said in the recipe. i did dump this batch on a yeast cake (Safale US-05 Ale Yeast) no problem with off taste or anything .. fermented at 64-66. now its on tap and tasting good! (Posted on 12/11/13)
Very refreshing Review by Dave
Rating
Not a particularly complex beer, but we loved it. One of our first beers to keg and it was gone way too fast. A good simple summer beer. We substituted local honey and put in a full 16 ounces, just to customize it a bit. We will definitely repeat for next summer. I prefer darker, richer beers in the winter. (Posted on 10/13/13)
Easy to Brew Review by jra173
Rating
I brewed this in Sept. and fermented next to an air conditioner in my basement. I ended up adding almost 4 gal of water to my boil to increase flavor. Turned out closer to an amber color but still good. (Posted on 10/1/13)
Nice Beer Review by Jim
Rating
We've enjoyed a couple of styles with honey, and it makes a nice touch to this kolsch. I also made a tincture with dried lavender and added that. It makes a refreshing sipping beer on the deck in the back, and it's getting good reviews from the folks I shared some 22's with. (Posted on 6/16/13)
Very good beer Review by Gary
Rating
This was my second batch of honey kolsch. It turned out good, as I expected. Next time, I'm going to add a second pound of honey. (Posted on 5/25/13)
Just right and not too sweet! Review by Polk
Rating
This was one of the first batches and I shared it with friends after kegging! I followed the recipe to the letter!

They loved it and drank every bit of the 3 gallons!

This being the first time I have "kegged" so I really wasn't sure how it would turn out! It turned out great!
Ordering another "Honey Kolsch" kit today!
(Posted on 4/29/13)
Excellent summer beer Review by Samuel
Rating
Both this and the regular kolsch are very crisp and have a modest enough alcohol content that you can have a few and maintain your balance. This one has a nice hint of honey; not sweet or overpowering. (Posted on 9/27/12)
Great session beer Review by Scott
Rating
Very drinkable and well balanced blonde type ale. It ranks up there with my other favorite light colored kit - cream ale. I always have a blonde and an amber on tap and the Honey Kolsch will be on tap often. I have brewed it three times now and it goes way too fast. (Posted on 9/3/12)
Excellent summer beer Review by Aaron
Rating
So i got my girlfriend into brewing; this worked out perfectly as not only does she share my beer obsession, but it gives us a project to do together every brew day. Her second ever batch was the honey Kolsch extract kit. She used white labs WLP029 German ale/Kolsch with a yeast starter, followed the recipe down to the letter, and cold crashed it during the last week of secondary fermentation. After 4 weeks of bottle conditioning this turned out to be one of my most favorite homebrews ever. The only thing I've ever brewed that topped it was an AG speckled heifer. But this honey Kolsch shares the easy drinking qualities of the heif, with added floral notes from the honey, and even a lager-like quality of smoothness possibly as a result of the cold crashing. Or maybe that's just how amazing this kit tastes. Either way, it is on our permanent short list of beers to make again. (Posted on 7/31/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 42 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register