Patersbier Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1740
Rating
66 Review(s)
Stan Hieronymus (author of Brew Like a Monk) and Kristen England (BJCP Continuing Education Director) bring you this very special kit. "Brouwerij'ed" on the left side of the Belgian town Malle solely for consumption by the reverent Cistercian brothers. This ale is not served or sold to the public, making it one of the rarest beers in the world. Made only from pilsner malt, hops, and yeast, the complexity that results from these simple ingredients is staggering: perfumey floral hops, ripe pear fruit, sour apple, spicy cloves, candied citrus and a slight biscuit character on the drying finish ... a monk's session beer. Note: If you wish to achieve a level of carbonation similar to the commercial examples of this beer, add an additional 1 to 2 oz plain table sugar to the priming solution.

Pic of U1740

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 66 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7
Where did the flavor come from? Review by DrG
Rating
It's a very simple recipe, but WOW there's a lot of flavor in this beer. The WY3787 is a must have for this kit, the fruity esters that it produces make this beer what it is. This one is sure to please a large crowd, from the snobbiest beer snobs to the "I drink beer in a blue can with lite on the side of it" crowd. This one is going into my starting rotation. Thanks NB!!! (Posted on 4/20/15)
Great simple brew Review by James
Rating
Brewed it with the Wyeast option and followed the directions with the exception of leaving it in the secondary for an extra 3 weeks. I had the problem of no available keg. Came out exceptionally clear. Will recommend and probably put in my rotation. (Posted on 4/6/15)
Light, fruity, delicious Review by Aaron
Rating
I really enjoy this beer. It's light, refreshing, fruity, and delicious. Very easy to make. A real crowd pleaser. (Posted on 1/29/15)
Magnificent Belgian Pilsner Review by Tattoodrew
Rating
This beer is special! I'm always looking for a beer that has a nice floral aroma. I like to please the relatives that visit over the holidays as well. Let's just say they aren't hop heads. I didn't expect the apple or clove to come through but it does so wonderfully, nor powerfully. I will have this in a keg year round now. The trappist yeast is imperative with this brew but be careful! I came home to a carboy ready to blow! Thankfully I saved it. Do yourself a favor and add 10-16 ounces of Belgian candi. It just adds a drier finish and a little alcohol. Exquisiteness! This is a unique Belgian. I gave up on Pilsners...this brought me back! Thank you NB! Salud! (Posted on 1/7/15)
new favorite Belgian recipe? Review by mlk
Rating
Brewed it with the Wyeast liquid yeast. As advertised, turned out complex but not overpowring Belgian flavors (very floral) from simple ingredients. Simply a delicious beer. (Posted on 8/20/14)
Great summer beer Review by Jeff
Rating
I tend to drink a lot of IPAs during the hot summer months here in SC and was looking for an alternative. The Patersbier is a great option. I have positive feedback from all that have sampled.

This beer works for craft beer drinkers who can appreciate the simplicity and aromas/taste from the Belgian yeast. I have also found that is is very popular with many who tend to prefer those large commercial offerings as it is not hop forward.

A great summer beer! (Posted on 6/24/14)
incredible summer brew Review by Patrick
Rating
This beer is awesome! I am a huge fan of belgians, but i wanted a brew for summer that wouldn't totally put you an your butt. The patersbier is perfect for this. It is a very simple beer with huge flavor. High krausen is pretty nuts. i would highly recommend a blow off for this. I fermented in the primary for 3 weeks. Started out at 68F and let it rise to 70F over the 3 weeks. Highly recommend this beer. This wil be in my regular rotation without a doubt! (Posted on 5/31/14)
Excellent Early Summer Brew Review by Chuck
Rating
First time using a yeast starter and stir plate, results were outstanding. I added a little local honey at the boil out. First fermentation very active, produced a creamy and bubbly kreuzen, 18 days. Second fermentation had some activity for about a week, again in carboy for 18 days. Gave it a week to carb at 20 psi. 3 weeks later all I can say is that it has a full bodied head and a nice light crisp taste. Very happy with the results (Posted on 5/28/14)
Great Taste & Easy to Make Review by David
Rating
I'm a novice, this being only my second batch to brew, and this was very easy. Being easy to brew doesn't mean that the beer had a simple taste though. I made this before Christmas and gave it out to family and friends and they all loved it. I will definitely try this one again soon. (Posted on 4/8/14)
Warning: Be on the lookout for blowoff! Review by Mark
Rating
I haven't had a chance to taste this beer yet as I am currently on my second attempt to brew a batch. I lost the first batch when I had major blowoff when I was away from my house for the day, resulting in a solidly clogged airlock and a lost batch (for safety). So, I have started this project again with fresh ingredients in a 6.5 gal acid carboy (instead of the 6 gal I had used before) and it came very very close to blowoff, even with the additional headroom. All this activity is all within the first 12-48 hours. So - if you buy this kit just beware that you watch the primary fermentation like a hawk, or just setup a blowoff hose from the start. (Posted on 1/17/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 66 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register