Bavarian Hefeweizen All-Grain Kit

SKU: U1254
Rating
17 Review(s)
One of the signature brews of Bavaria, Hefeweizen is a medium-bodied, effervescent ale practically exploding with yeast and wheat malt character – kind of like a liquid multigrain bread. Our kit is 100% traditional—cloudy, malty, and spicy, with a smooth mouthfeel and dense, whipped-cream head. Serve in a tall glass “mit hefe” - swirl the bottle to make sure you get all the yeast!

Pic of U1254

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 17 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Must have done something wrong Review by Rob
Rating
My results were in line with a few others here in terms of color and body- lighter than I expected. I didn't bother to measure the OG, tap water ph, or test for starch conversion so I don't have the data to see where I went wrong. I read that wheat malt is ph pickier than others- maybe that was it. Live and learn. That said, after 3 weeks in the keg, the flavor has really picked up and the alcohol is close to where it should be. I'll try this batch again before I fully judge. (Posted on 1/4/14)
Best beer I've brewed, will be a regular Review by Kyle
Rating
I brewed this a few batches in to AG and it has been one of my best batches yet. Used the Weihenstephan yeast and fermented around 70, maybe as high as 72. Bit of a sulfur taste early on in the bottle, but after 3-4 weeks there was a nice banana flavor with a bit of clove and it is easily my favorite hefeweizens. Everyone at work loved it, will definitely be brewing again (Posted on 10/7/13)
Secondary Fermentation Advised Review by Peter
Rating
First off, this was my first all-grain batch, 2nd ever home brewing, and first utilizing the BIAB method. The process went very well, with a slightly tortured fermentation due to severe temperature fluctuations thanks to summer heat waves and near-freezes, so I gave the primary a three week duration followed by a three week bottle conditioning.
However, there is a stupendous amount of yeast in the bottom of each bottle! I really wish I had done a secondary to help settle out even more yeasts, but other than that, with a bit of orange, the heffeweizen is a pretty darn good drop of beer. (Posted on 9/26/13)
A+ all the way Review by Darrell
Rating
My favorite summer time beer.
Everyone that tries it loves it.
Brew it, you won't regret it. (Posted on 9/20/13)
Great Beer Review by Finley
Rating
Fantastic beer, do a double decoction for some truly spectacular results. If you treat this beer with care and don't rush the fermentation it will reward you generously. This easily blows away the commerical examples that you will find at Total Wine or the grocery store. (Posted on 9/26/12)
Just OK Review by Jason
Rating
I would put the color at 4 SRM, which is much lighter than the picture provided. The beer tastes fine, but has very little banana flavor. I will taste it again in a few weeks and see if I change my opinion. (Posted on 8/22/12)
Not great... but not terrible Review by opxus
Rating
Much lighter than the photo provided. Not a whole lot of flavor, very light. Still MUCH better than a lot of the very popular commercial "wheat beers" on the market, you know the ones. Still a good beer, but not a great beer. Obviously this beer is much better as it warms up or if you just dont chill it too long in the fridge. I prefer drinking it straight from storage in my basement around 60-62 degrees. (Posted on 6/28/12)
Just in time for summer! Review by Mike Robroo
Rating
Having spent 12 years in Germany (military), German weizenbiers have always been a favorite of mine, especially in summer. This was my third all grain beer and my first attempt at brew in a bag method. I especially wanted to use BIAB for the wheat to prevent stuck sparges that I have heard about with wheat. I boiled the brew for an extra hour before hopping because I came in a little low on the OG in the mash, maybe because of reduced efficiency using BIAB (although I did batch sparge the bag after mashing after toying around with the recipe in Beersmith software). When preparing my yeast starter (Wyeast 3068 Weihenstephan Wheat), I used gold DME and poured off the excess and tasted it. I was very impressed by the taste of the starter and realized that weizens get their distinct flavor from the yeast, not from the wheat as I had always thought. I drank up all the excess from the yeast starter! I poured my first finished beer today and it was great! Color and head is just like the picture on NB. Taste was citrusy, crisp, and refreshing. I would brew this again! (Posted on 6/25/12)
Wasn't my favorite Review by Matt
Rating
Not sure if I messed something up because it was my second AG recipe and the multi-step rest could have been too advanced. Didn't get as much wheat flavor as I hoped and it was very light bodied. I'll give it a chance some other time. (Posted on 5/22/12)
not bad Review by Karl
Rating
smells like butt is right but finished nicely (Posted on 4/15/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 17 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register