Petite Saison d'Ete Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U1940
Rating
65 Review(s)
This session-strength Saison of summer pours tawny-gold and perfumes the air with tangy yeast and pungent hop aromas. The flavor is lightly earthy with spicy, flowery hops and a grain-and-bread malt character; caramel malt dukes it out with Saaz and Styrian Goldings through the middle before a palate-cleansingly dry finish.

Pic of U1940

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 65 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7
Great Beer Review by Aaron
Rating
I made this kit but substituted Danstar Belle Saison for the listed choices. Fermented at 76-78 for two weeks. Bottled one week, and tasted great. Just like you expect from a saison - fruity, a bit funky, incredibly refreshing. I could drink it all day. My friends are big fans of this one. (Posted on 7/7/14)
You Better Get This One! Review by Scott
Rating
I usually like a darker beer like Irish Ales and even IPAs. I wanted to try a lighter beer for the summer season. I read through many of the reviews for Saisons and wandered upon this Petite Saison. It sounded a little dainty for me, but I gave it a shot. WOW!
You have got to get this beer kit. The recipe was a little more difficult than what I'm used to doing. However, I followed the directions to the tee and I was blown away with the outcome.
It was hoppy, but not like an IPA. It has a great head and laces wonderfully. Great carbonation. I don't have any complaint about this beer. I am ordering another one this week to make sure I don't run out of this beer.

Great job, Northern Brewer! (Posted on 6/19/14)
What a delightful surprise Review by Greg
Rating
I bought this kit on a whim looking for a light summer style beer to have ready once the warm weather rolled into Pittsburgh. Well the weather is here and I just poured myself one of these and wow is it fantastic.

I did a 3 gallon boil as my megapot hadn't arrived yet back in April. I did one week primary and then decided, in the interest of clarity for a summer beer, to do a brief secondary. I did a 1 week secondary and then kegged. The beer has been sitting under pressure for a little over two weeks and I had some when it was only under pressure for 3 days and it was ok but after 2+ weeks of conditioning and 85+ degrees here in pittsburgh this one is PERFECT. Buy it now, brew it now, and you'll thank me in July. (Posted on 6/1/14)
Good, and ready soooo quick! Review by Bruce
Rating
I've done a handful of brews now, but I'm still a novice. I have to say, this kit really impressed me. I followed the instructions completely, the only tweak I made was I added a 1/2 pound of clear Belgian candi sugar that I had lying around. as I saw a few people say the ABV was pretty low on this. Mine came out almost exactly on 5% ABV with the candi sugar. 2 weeks in the primary, bottled after that, it was fully carbonated after a week at room temp, didn't taste green or anything. Fully drinkable 3 weeks after brewing. Mine came out tasting a little more witbier-like, very similar taste to Hoegaarden, but with less pronounced floral notes. Pale yellow/beige color, slight haze, few islands of foamy head which hang around, nice carbonation with 4oz of dextrose in a 5 gallon batch.

Overall, this came out seeming like it should've taken a lot more time and effort to make, but it didn't! Great job NB!
(Posted on 5/30/14)
Blue Moon Review by Shemp
Rating
If you like Blue Moon, you'll like this. Very similar. (Posted on 5/22/14)
Smooth Review by Chuck
Rating
I stumbled into brewing this brew. I intended on doing the petite orange but accidentally grabbed this because I was talking to someone. I've been making homebrew for about a year now and this is one of my best kits, not a lot of ingredients but still produces a distinctive taste. There's a peppery taste on the back end which I questioned if I would enjoy but I do very much. My batch yielded a higher ABV then I expected (around 5.5). It's also the lightest brew that I have made. I will be brewing this again because it won't last. (Posted on 3/29/14)
Simple and delicious Review by Alex
Rating
This beer was one of my first 5 brews. Simple to make. I followed the printed recipe while brewing, but let the beer sit for an additional week after bottling. The 5 gallons went quickly... I never found anyone who didn't like the brew. Even my wife, who doesn't like beer, found this Saison to be good! (Posted on 12/30/13)
Great for a first timer.... Review by Jared
Rating
This was my first brew kit ever! I brewed this during the Summer and switched yeasts to the Wyeast Belgian Ardennes strain due to high apartment temperatures (82-89f). I went to Ireland for two weeks the day after I put this in the fermenter, when we came back it had a nice golden brown color to it. Probably my fault by accidentally caramelizing the malt by not stirring the wort during the boil.

Now I'm not sure what the original or final gravity was but I do know that two of these would give you a solid buzz. I tried to let them condition for two weeks but by the end of the first week they were fully carbonated from priming sugar and tasted frigging awesome. This was an all around winner for my friends and family. Everyone loved this one including my fiance who is finicky about which beers she drinks. I will definitely make this again. This batch did not make it three weeks out of the fermenter. (Posted on 11/11/13)
I love this beer! Review by Thomas
Rating
This is my favorite beer I have brewed. This is in fact one of my favorite beers I have ever drunk. Quick and easy to brew, came out surprisingly clear with a great flavor profile. I think it taste somewhat like a mix between a traditional Saison and Leffe. This is the beer I want to drink when I've had a hard day at work and just want to relax. I will be brewing this beer year round. I intend to keep a batch on hand at all times. (Posted on 10/7/13)
Perfect Summer Brew Review by Gage
Rating
My fiancee is addicted to saisons, so we decided to make the Petite Saison d'Ete as our second batch. It was very easy, fermented great with Wyeast 3711, and, most importantly, went down smooth (and fast). We were pretty upset when we cleaned out our stock of the saison so fast, and it didn't help that our family and friends loved it as well. It went over so well that we're planning on brewing a batch for our wedding next summer. Highly recommended, even without any additions! (Posted on 9/27/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 65 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register