Brix/Specific Gravity Refractometer w/ATC

SKU: 7462
Rating
39 Review(s)

A refractometer instantly reads gravity, in Brix, of unfermented wort or fruit juice by measuring the degree that light passing through the sample is bent. Unlike a hydrometer, only a few drops are required for a sample. To use, apply 2-3 drops to the prism face, close cover, and look through the eyepiece while aiming your refractometer at a light source.

Our refractometers measure from 0-32° Brix, with an accuracy of +/- 0.2° Brix. They also include automatic temperature compensation for temperatures between 50-86° F, which eliminates the need to consult temperature correction charts.

Brix Specific Gravity Refractometer with ATC

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Very Accurate Product Review by Tim
Rating
Glad to finally get this product. Very accurate and easy to use. Much easier and less messy as other methods of measuring gravity. (Posted on 12/10/13)
Best purchase ever Review by Coprolite
Rating
Maybe a little melodramatic, but this might be the best piece of brewing equipment I've bought. Yes, it's not as accurate as a hydrometer. Yes, you have to correct for the presence of alcohol. But it's so simple to take a reading that there's no reason not to measure gravity every time you have to touch the brew. For curiosity, I've correlated it to a hydrometer and it's close enough as far as I'm concerned. (Posted on 12/8/13)
great product Review by baurrie
Rating
Great product for checking gravities (Posted on 12/2/13)
Performed as advertised Review by Paige
Rating
A quality instrument. The unit was calibrated at the factory as verified using distilled water after taking delivery. Unfortunately, the refractometer cannot do it all, and a hydrometer is still necessary for truly accurate measuring of ABV. I use it to get OG levels before pitching yeast IMO, not a necessity, but rather a luxury. (Posted on 11/24/13)
Great Tool for All-Grain Review by Grant
Rating
I added this to my brew kit a little bit ago and glad I made the purchase. Perfect for checking gravity during the boil. I still use a hydrometer after fermentation. (Posted on 11/10/13)
Greater Specificity without Beer Loss Review by Timothy
Rating
I've always got some beers in cask so instruments that allow me measure gravity or PH with minimal invasion are fantastic. The precision is really good, but agree with Russell on calibrating, always a good idea. (Posted on 11/1/13)
Every ounce counts Review by Eric
Rating
Before getting this I used the mad brewer kit and every time I filled that giant test tube to check specific gravity I shuddered to think I just wasted a beer checking original and final gravity. This thing uses only a drop and is way easier to read and you'll never need to do any temp calculations ever again. It is a bit costly but over a lifetime of brewing it'll pay for itself one bottle of beer per batch at a time... :) (Posted on 10/26/13)
Accurate and Easy Review by Nick
Rating
I don't know why I waited so long to buy a refractometer. For a long time I was in the dark ages trying to measure my pre and post boil gravity using a traditional hydrometer waiting for the wort to cool down and ultimately getting inaccurate data or sometimes forgetting to come back and record the data. The refractometer makes this step super quick, easy, and pretty accurate! Do yourself a favor and buy one of these :) (Posted on 10/25/13)
Excellent Quality Review by Leon
Rating
I got this refractometer for sever reasons: 1) I have obtained different reading using two different hydrometers while testing the same wort; 2) I'm new to this game and based on previous reviews by others, this was a must have item; and 3) did I mention that I need all the help I can get?

Great product. I would recommend you invest in this piece of equipment. Also, it will spare some wort/wine. (Posted on 9/26/13)
beer saver! Review by Shawn
Rating
Incredibly easy to use - calibration was dead-on out of the box.

I play with alot of 1 gallon batches, so the ability to take DROPS of wort instead of OUNCES to get OG measurements is a big plus to me. Brix conversion is relatively simple as there are a number of conversion programs out there to do the work for you!

The only downside is I no longer have a 2-3 oz sample to savor after I get my gravity readings! (Posted on 9/15/13)

Items 11 to 20 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register