Brix/Specific Gravity Refractometer w/ATC

SKU: 7462
Rating
39 Review(s)

A refractometer instantly reads gravity, in Brix, of unfermented wort or fruit juice by measuring the degree that light passing through the sample is bent. Unlike a hydrometer, only a few drops are required for a sample. To use, apply 2-3 drops to the prism face, close cover, and look through the eyepiece while aiming your refractometer at a light source.

Our refractometers measure from 0-32° Brix, with an accuracy of +/- 0.2° Brix. They also include automatic temperature compensation for temperatures between 50-86° F, which eliminates the need to consult temperature correction charts.

Brix Specific Gravity Refractometer with ATC

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Making life simpler, and wasting less wort Review by levi
Rating
I wanted one of these for a while, but couldn't justify dropping $50 when I already own multiple hydrometers. When NB put together the package deal where you got a free refractometer with the purchase of a steel head pump, I was all over it. I see a lot of reviews that said they paid too much, is free too much?

I love it. It's simple to use and easy to read and in the long run you waste less wort. (Posted on 9/12/13)
Great product Review by Jon
Rating
Works as advertised. Reads easy simple to use (Posted on 9/10/13)
Much easier to use Review by Brian
Rating
I have a hydrometer but I never used it because it just wasn't very convenient and I have come across varying correction factors for temperature so I didn't really trust it. I admit, I have not cross checked my refractometer with distilled water or against other devices but this is easy to read and MUCH easier to use. I will certainly be using it in the future. (Posted on 9/2/13)
Homebrewer Must Have Review by Russell
Rating
I dealt with the hydrometer for years and finally broke down and bought this refractometer. With the hydrometer I felt like I was always guessing at the gravity readings due but with the refractometer I feel that I'm getting pretty spot on.

NOTE: NB says that these are calibrated before they leave the factory; however, I had to calibrate mine when it reached my house. It was really easy so it wasn't a big deal. I would recommend to other homebrewers. (Posted on 8/26/13)
Great Review by Bobbybob
Rating
Works great for me! I read the reviews and tested as soon I got it. (Posted on 8/23/13)
Metrics Review by David
Rating
Any tool that creates useful data will improve your brew (Posted on 8/21/13)
Cool Tool Review by Mark
Rating
I like it. It is simple to use. In fact, I have friends that had never used a refractometer before that were able to pick it right up and figure it out. Glad to have that tool in my tool belt. (Posted on 8/20/13)
Beautiful instrument, accurate and so easy to use. Review by Karen
Rating
I never thought using this instrument would be so easy to use and to clean. Nice hardcase included.
Thanks again N.B. Your company rocks! (Posted on 7/12/13)
Don't judge by the pics Review by Lee
Rating
As it's been mentioned before, the scales are not accurate in the pictures. However, the actual refractometer's scales are correct (mine reads 1.084 at 20, not 1.078). As with all refractometers, the ATC doesn't do anything - I get very different readings at 60, 70 & 80 degrees. I find it's very accurate if you get it with 3 or 4 degrees of the calibration temp, but no more than that. (Posted on 4/1/13)
Good for the money Review by Daniel
Rating
As a poster below noted you can find this much cheaper . .try $35 cheaper elsewhere on the web though be patient with shipping =)

To get it calibrated use distilled water and bring adjustment screw to 0 brix/ 1.000 sg . . . simple as that. Use the chart included to temp correct but check more than once to be sure. This is the best way to avoid losing precious wort and beer. (Posted on 8/9/12)

Items 21 to 30 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register