Brix/Specific Gravity Refractometer w/ATC

SKU: 7462
Rating
39 Review(s)

A refractometer instantly reads gravity, in Brix, of unfermented wort or fruit juice by measuring the degree that light passing through the sample is bent. Unlike a hydrometer, only a few drops are required for a sample. To use, apply 2-3 drops to the prism face, close cover, and look through the eyepiece while aiming your refractometer at a light source.

Our refractometers measure from 0-32° Brix, with an accuracy of +/- 0.2° Brix. They also include automatic temperature compensation for temperatures between 50-86° F, which eliminates the need to consult temperature correction charts.

Brix Specific Gravity Refractometer with ATC

Customer Reviews

Items 31 to 39 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Better prices elsewhere Review by Matthew
Rating
Bought this and then found out you can find this exact same refractometer for a good $15 less (incl. shipping) if you shop elsewhere online... (Posted on 7/22/12)
inaccurate conversion? Review by Anonymousbrew
Rating
i'm a little confused by the conversion from Brix/SG. I cant however find a calculator that gives me the same conversion at higher gravities as this tool. (ie - 20 = 1083 vs 1078).

I''m worried that i'm getting inaccurate readings through some ranges. I'm sure maybe one side is accurate - but which one? the whole reason i bought it was so i wouldnt have to do the calculations between Brix and SG - but with all the calculators i'm using, i'm geting 1-2 off in the low range up to 6 off at 20 brix.

thoughts?
(Posted on 2/10/12)
Wrong scale Review by Dane
Rating
I've been having odd results in my brews for months after buying this refractometer, and relying on the SG scale. The SG scale on this device is completely wrong. Looking at the pictures above, the device shows that 20% Brix is equal to 1.077 SG. Using the calculator at the link provided in the product details states that it should be 1.083 SG, which follows every equation I've been able to find. Why is this so far off the mark!? (Posted on 12/11/11)
unique refractometer Review by Nina Zhang
This is an unique refractometer,with both brix and Specific Gravity,it use very convenient. (Posted on 5/4/11)
Fantastic Review by Eric
Rating
Works great for taking readings during the boil to help hit your target gravity. Just be sure to take a couple of readings and stir between them - I've seen a lot of difference between two samples taken within seconds of each other. (Posted on 4/29/11)
Cool toy! Review by Matthew
Rating
I like the minimal amount of wort sampling needed for this. Saves on beer and the possibility of contaminant exposure.

I also found this great link if you also want to try to use this for F.G. readings:

http://seanterrill.com/2010/07/20/toward-a-better-refractometer-correlation/

(Posted on 11/11/10)
Awesome for wort sampling Review by Hooch
Rating
Great for knowing when you should stop boiling, by checking your OG before shutting the burners off. And when to stop sparging too, by following the stop at 1.012 rule. Love my new toy! Thanks guys for carrying this in SG scale. (Posted on 9/10/10)
A great product Review by Jeff
Rating
For general homebrewing use this product works great. Having the Brix scale as well as SG units is handy. It is quality made and should hold up to regular use. I wouldn't stuff this in my pocket or throw it around, but for brewing every weekend or so, it is accurate and worth the price. Tired of breaking hydrometers? This is a great solution. Only needing a couple of drops is a great advantage over hydrometers as well. (Posted on 7/8/10)
Awesome! Review by The Power
I used this for the first time today. It makes a huge difference. It's incredibly easy to read. Just read off the scale. I always had problems with the hydrometer due to foam, meniscus and plus it always seemed that the hydrometer would "stick" to the side of the test container. With this, I just put a couple of drops on it and read the number off the scale. Very simple and clear. Plus I could take a few drops today while I was boiling and test. When I hit my target gravity, I just turned off the burner. The past several brews, I've boiled too long and overshot gravity and had to top off with water. Which wastes, propane, time and introduces the potential for contamination from the top off water.

I thought this would only be useful on brew say since introducing alcohol during the ferment can throw off the reading. But More Beer has a spreadsheet available at http://morebeer.com/learn_vids/vids_refract that takes that into account.

(Posted on 5/2/10)

Items 31 to 39 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register