Blichmann TopTier Modular Brewing Stand

SKU: U074
Rating
15 Review(s)

The TopTier is the next generation of brewstand! A completely modular design that is compatible with brewpots from all manufacturers, converted kegs, and round or rectangular coolers. Awesome flexibility at an unbeatable price, plus it ships FedEx ground – not by truck!

The black powder coated legs, 100% stainless steel burner frames and support structure, and anodized aluminum post are not only attractive but designed to last a lifetime. Since the shelf/burner locations are infinitely adjustable and can be placed on all four sides of the main support post, your TopTier will grow with you as your brewing techniques, equipment, and batch sizes evolve over your lifetime.

Due to its versatility, the TopTier is sold by components – you choose the configuration that works best for your system and brewing techniques. Purchase the base stand and add the desired quantity of burners or shelves for each of the three tiers.

About TopTier burners: Blichmann Engineering has done extensive testing and tuning of the TopTier burners, regulators, orifices, and wind guards to maximize efficiency and improve flame stability outdoors. The result is a burner that is whisper quiet, uses less fuel, and heats significantly faster than any similar burner on the market! And it’s virtually impossible to flame-out in windy conditions. Add features like the ability to safely support a keg, safety retaining bars for brewpots, a hole in the burner frame for ignition, a quality adjustable regulator for fine tuning the flame, and stainless braided hose, and you have the ultimate homebrewing burner.

Update: September 1, 2009. Blichmann Engineering has sourced fittings for the gas manifold. Effective immediately, all stands and burner tiers will ship with a black iron tee, brass flare adapter for each tier, and a plug to cap off the top of the manifold. You will only have to provide the straight lengths of pipe which are readily available in a variety of lengths - or you can piece together with couplings. Alternately, many home improvement and hardware stores will cut and thread your pipe to length for free or for a small fee.

Additionally, the pipe size has been changed from 3/8" to 1/2", which should be easier to locate; and the manual has been updated with many detailed pics and suggestions for typical installations. For an instructional video on setting up your TopTier Modular Brewing Stand, Click Here!

How to Order a TopTier Buy the base stand. The base includes: legs, main support post, 3 pairs of shelf arms (to support the burners/shelves), regulator, wheel kit and hardware. Add tiers Mix and match, up to three tiers total. Tiers can be burners or shelves – if you brew with two coolers and a kettle, choose two shelves (for the coolers) and a burner (for the kettle). If your HLT and mash/lauter tun are kettles or converted kegs, choose three burners to direct-fire all vessels. Both types of tiers include hardware to mount them to the base stand. Burners include a stainless flex hose; you will need to provide 1/2” pipe to make a gas manifold to hook them up to your fuel source. Add extra equipment such as the Pump Mounting Bracket or Utility Stand. Submit your order

This item ships directly from the manufacturer and takes 1-3 weeks for delivery.

Blichmann TopTier Modular Brewing Stand

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 15 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
construction Review by dom
Rating
I KNEW I WAS BUYING QUALITY BUT THE QUALITY OF THIS PRODUCT GREATLY SURPASSED MY EXPECTATIONS (Posted on 7/13/14)
Top Notch Review by Jeff
Rating
Great system, portability, ease of construction, buy this system! (Posted on 11/10/13)
Pretty Awesome Review by Dom
Rating
Came in 5 days via FedEx, shipping for the whole thing was $120 for the stand and tower of power and 3 burners (not too bad compared to morebeer's system).

The thing is rock solid and easy to put together, you really have to get the torque wrench. Plan it out well as the pieces have to go on the stand in the correct order. The gas manifold was no problem, Home Depot had all the short lengths and connectors needed. Took about 3 days (with my kids in the way).

If you get this with TOP, get the extension leg to permanently mount the TOP to the stand. Watching the online YouTube video for assembly more informative than reading the instructions. Waiting for plumber to wire this thing into my house nat gas and dry run with water. Go the extra mile and get the stainless quick connects completes the package. (Posted on 8/10/13)
Very happy Review by sol
Rating
My setup- top burner 15G HLT, mid shelf w/ 5 gal cooler, lower burner 8G BK. Chugger pump wired to side mounted outdoor switch.

This has taken my 6hr AG brew day down to 4hrs. I only use the pump to xfer water up to HLT and plate chilling at the end. Gravity does the rest. 2 burners and not having to do the kettle shuffle really speeds things up. I highly recommend getting a pump if you use a HLT burner on the top. You can just pour water into your BK and pump it up. If not you will have to haus a filled HLT kettle 6 feet up or get even higher to pour it in.

Construction is SOLID. My back patio slab is angled and I was able to easily level the stand as well as level all the tiers. There is no wobble or flimsy flam, just rock solid.

The only flaw that I found was the rusting of the gas T fittings that were included. You supply the main gas line pipe which will develop ugly surface rust as well. It was an easy fix. Just took a wire wheel and knocked off rust(unnecessary if it is new) then primed and pained the gas lines/fittings with some rustolium black. Do this before assembly to avoid this issue. I live in a high humidity area and it is setup outside uncovered. So far there is no corrosion or rust on any of the top tier system parts ie tiers, center column, and leg assembly.

I was torn between a single tier and this top tier. I chose this and I am very happy with my decision. The price is well justified due to the quality of the materials and design.

(Posted on 8/30/12)
quality Review by Amnestic
Rating
I do not review often, however, I feel as though I should review this product as I Love it so. To start...the assembly took longer than I thought. With that being said, I did enjoy the process as I felt it drew me closer to the piece of equipment that I will use often and may need to trouble shoot during a brew session. I casually assembled it over two days taking my time and making sure everything was precise. I did not know what to expect with the assemble of this item but it was fairly simple, straight forward instruction and at every turn I was impressed with the quality of material. I like the fact that this can be set up as a gravity system as I have done and am sure that Sir Isaac Newton would have done right?????FREE energy. I had to go buy a few pieces of gas plumbing but seriously that is not a big deal and if the plumbing came with this system it would be all F'ed up because this is the beauty of the Blichmann.....it is a custon system. Literally nobodies system will look quite the same. Is that not cool. Custom brewery. No big deal going to home depot for a few pieces of custom length pipe that cost me a few bucks and allowed me to do whatever to the height's of my brew tiers. I got all the bells and whistles as in the shelf and the therminator and pump brackets and they work great. Very nice all together. If I could change a few things about Blichmann it would not be with the top tier system. I would change the fact that he chose to go with threaded MPT hose barbs and adaptors instead of ALL tri clover. This should at least be an option on everything as it is with the Fermentor. Nice product. Good value. I am happy with it. Thanks. (Posted on 1/11/12)
Rock solid and happy with purchase Review by Tony
Rating
I ordered the Top Tier with 3 burners, therminator mounting bracket and march pump mounting bracket and have brewed one batch on it and I am completely satisfied with the purchase

Installation was fairly straight forward if you are somewhat handy already. It is certainly a solid piece of equipment. What took me the longest was assembly of the burners/brackets and figuring out how to arrange them, but it was from me thinking about things before acting and having to redo things.

The instructions require the use of a torque wrench which I had to purchase separately. Since your dealing with 10+ gallons of hot liquid I'd recommend using the torque wrench to ensure everything is tightened appropriately, but it will run you a few more dollars than a regular wrench, ~ $65.

Assembly of the base stand was an easy one person job along with assembly of the burners, however actually putting the burners on is a job I'd recommend having a extra set of hands help with.

The gas manifold was easy to assembly and I easily found the parts needed at home depot so I can't fault Blichmann for not including them since they were easy to get.

(Posted on 4/26/11)
Top Tier review Review by Roberto
Rating
First of all, I can not see how anyone can give a review of this product if they have not purchased or used this product; so their opinion should not matter much. I personally own this system for about a year, and I have to say it's a great product. I have burners on all three levels because I do not want to lift any liquids. If you want a pump to recirulate or pump hot wort out to your carboy- then great. This is a beautifully built gravity system that will last the test of time. If you want a system with more bells and whistles so you can watch the system make beer for you then go buy that product. The only thing I could complain about is that even with wheels its awfully heavy to move around. (Posted on 12/13/10)
Instructional Video Review by azbrewer
Rating
This is a great product, I was a bit hesitant to buy it at first, but I went for it and bought the 3 burner option. I was glad I bought it after my first brew, worth every penny.

I found a great video on how to build the stand here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmhubUMqmD4 (Posted on 12/8/10)
There are other Options Review by Chuckie
Rating
I have brewed on this first hand... It is a nice quality system and offers a lot of custom options in regards to heights, shelves, burners, etc. However, it is pricy when all is added up... 3 burners, 15 gal HLT, 15 gal MT w/ false bottom, and 15 gal Brew Kettle, not to mention the numerous other componets needed to fulfill the "typical" brewery equipment. Nice peice, however, my money will probably go with the competitors who have all that included in 1 price with custom options... Keep up the good work though NB! (Posted on 12/8/10)
Top Tier is a well thought out and versatile system! Review by Matt
Rating
Configuration: 3 burners, Shelf, March Pump Mount, Therminator Mount, Natural gas converted.

Stand assembly was easy. For the manifold, piping was a cinch. Pipes at Home Depot are threaded and with enough different lengths to mix and match for whatever your configuration. Manifold assembly was no more difficult than the rest of the stand. Easy to wheel out of the garage and over to the patio.

I brew 10 gallon batches. I can heat my strike & sparge water simultaneously, put a little heat on the mash if needed, and start heating up the wort once I’ve sparged a few gallons.

Utility Shelf is great to have to place little things (or a beer) in reach while brewing.

Overall, Top Tier is a well thought out and versatile system!
(Posted on 11/9/10)

Items 1 to 10 of 15 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register