Smashing Pumpkin Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U0130
Rating
165 Review(s)
Autumn, and a homebrewer's thoughts turn to capturing the sensory experience of the season ... crisp nights, colorful leaves, and ripe gourds being turned into pie. We're often asked for pumpkin beer recipes at this time of year, and it's easy to understand why: sipping this spiced amber ale is like drinking a slice of pie. Smashing Pumpkin Ale is clean and sweetly malty with just enough hop bitterness to balance and no hop aroma to mask the spices. A dose at the shutdown of the boil imbues the beer with a complex, lingering spice profile full of nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger that persists from the pour to the last swish in the pint glass.

If you want to incorporate actual vegetables in this pumpkin beer recipe, you'll need to purchase an additional 2 or 3 pounds of Rahr 6-row (#G002) and provide your own 8 to 10 pound pumpkin (winter squash like butternut or acorn will work if pumpkin is out of season). Cut up the gourd, discard the innards, and roast or microwave the pieces until soft and cooked through, then peel. Mash the peeled, cooked pumpkin flesh with the 6-row and the included grains at 152°F for 1 hour before sparging and proceeding with the boil.

Smashing Pumpkin Ale Recipe - Ingredient List & Instructions

Smashing Pumpkin Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 165 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17
Nice Holiday Brew outstanding CS BY curtis Review by Chuck
Rating
Had an issue, in the packing there was a slit in the extract bottle and it leaked out throughout the interior of my box. It also contaminated my Stout order. I called NB
Spoke to Curtis in Customer Service, next day both were shipped, no fuss no hassle. This gentleman is a pro's pro. Thanks for a job well done.
All my holiday guests liked the results, a definite for next year (Posted on 12/15/14)
3.5? 4? Review by Steve
Rating
This one is very hard to rate. Like a favorite suit that just doesn't fit quite right. Brewed on 7/31/14 and is my 20th batch. Roasted 2-20oz cans of pumkin and added to the boil in a paint strainer bag. I also took the advise of adding 2lbs of Rahr 6-Row with the specialty grains and added another tsp of spices at the end of the boil. OG was 1.066 and fermented in the primary for 2 weeks. Put this in a secondary so I could free up a primary. Let it sit for three weeks, FG at 1.014, and bottled. At this time the taste was mediciny, tart, and spicy on the end. Now, it is pumkin spice spicy, is undercarbonated, but does have a wonderful clear orange-ish color to it. Compared to other pumkin ales I think it stands up to them, I guess I'm just not a pumkin ale guy. Glad I tried it, enjoy drinking it, probably won't do again. Never say never though! (Posted on 11/16/14)
Great Brew Review by William
Rating
Great Fall brew. I added 3 lbs of no preservative pumpkin, doubled the pumpkin pie spice, and 3 lbs of 6-row. I covered the pumkin with brown sugar and roasted at 350 for about an hour. Steeped the specialty grains, pumpkin and 6-row for about 25 minutes at 155-165. Beer has a great mouth feel and an ABV of 8.5. Great Halloween brew! (Posted on 11/13/14)
Best Pumpkin Ale Review by James
Rating
Like many others, I tried a bunch of pumpkin ales from various breweries with mixed thoughts. I wanted to do a seasonal beer for the family, and since this one got such good reviews, I had to try it.

I modded the recipe a bit - I spread 3 15oz cans of organic pumpkin on a sheet pan, sprinkled 2tsp of pumpkin pie seasoning on top, and baked for around 35-40 minutes. I then mashed with 2 lbs of 6-row (158* for an hour). I followed the recipe instructions after this point.

Primary - 1wk
Secondary - 3wks
Kegged/force carbed.

This is, by far, the best pumpkin beer I've every had. Nothing that I purchased from the store comes close. I haven't had anyone say anything bad about this one - I've even converted a couple people that thought pumpkin beers were gross. Get this kit. Nuff' said. (Posted on 11/6/14)
Good Until I Ruined It Review by Justin
Rating
Well I had a great time brewing this and did a mini mash with a 29oz can of pumpkin and 2lbs of 6 row. Good aroma and flavor going to primary and the sample when I transferred to secondary was really good but then I made the mistake of thinking I should add cinnamon. I added a couple of small cinnamon sticks into secondary and wow...my pumpkin beer turned into cinnamon beer. Pretty unfortunate because it's pretty overwhelming and hard to drink. My fiancé says she likes it but she might just be saying that. I would like to try brewing this again but definitely without the cinnamon!

OG was 1.064 and FG was 1.013 for an ABV of 6.7% so even if it isn't to my liking, it will still do the job. Still giving it five stars because up until the cinnamon it was really tasty. (Posted on 11/4/14)
Delicious Pumpkin Ale Review by Matt
Rating
Baked 3 lbs Libby's canned pumpkin with brown sugar and cinnamon sugar at 350 for 45 mins. Did a partial mash with the pumpkin, 2 lbs of 6 row, 1 lb caramel 40L, and 1/2 lb biscuit. Added 2 vanilla beans split, scraped, and quartered in vodka for one week, added mixture to secondary fermenter one week before kegging. This beer turned out excellent! Mine finished at 7.5% ABV, nice orange hue, nice pumpkin flavor, very drinkable fall beer. Highly recommend to pumpkin beer fans. (Posted on 11/4/14)
Skip the Secondary and give it time Review by Affa
Rating
This is my second time brewing this - first review. Last years batch brought out the neighbors and neighbors friends who blasted through the two case batch in record time. This year I began getting requests for it as early as Labor day.

As last year, I did the partial mash kit update with two cans of organic pumpkin and 2 pounds of Rahr 6-row. Added an additional tsp. of store bought "Marketplace" pumpkin spice at flame-out. Fermentation done in 6 days at around 70F and kept in the primary for another 2 weeks to let the yeast to clear things up, no secondary. Then went straight to the keg. Carbed at 15 PSI for 5 days for a taste test, OK clarity but retained some of the early pumpkin bitterness. Reduced down to 10 PSI for another 5 days and at another check, very good clarity and most of the bitterness gone. 5 days later and 15 total days in the keg it's "all growns up", coming into its own - already consumed by the neighborhood. Early bitterness aged away now blends into a malty and spiced glass of fall perfection - and excellent clarity.

Moral is secondary isn't required to get a great tasting, clear (for an extract) beer out of this kit. A bit of patience in either the keg or bottle along with a bit more pumpkin spice will grant you a wonderful fall beer. And if people you know find out what you've made - brew more than one batch if you want to keep around for more than a weekend. (Posted on 11/3/14)
Good, Not Great Review by Brian
Rating
First off, I really liked this beer. It was fun to make and drink. I used canned pumpkin and did a mini mash. It had a nice flavor but I feel like the spice profile was a bit too far in the background. to clarify, I don't love super spicy pumpkin ales, but the spice was more than subtle. If I were to do this brew again, I would see if NB could provide the exact spice blend so I could add another 3rd of the spices. (Posted on 10/31/14)
amazing! Review by Michael
Rating
So my first attempt at pumpkin ale was an epic fail! It tasted good. Just not like pumpkin ale...so not a total loss :). I read reviews and decided to try smashing pumpkin. I just kegged it and omg it was amazing! My wife is a huge pumpkin fan and she loved it. I will brew again for sure! (Posted on 10/21/14)
Fall never tasted so good Review by Ed
Rating
I think in the dozen or so N. Brewer kits I've done I'm most happy with this beer. I followed their instructions about adding the canned pumpkin and the added grains. It made for a longer brew day, but I'm never in a hurry when I brew - we all enjoy it, right?

The flavor is amazing and I am proud to have all my friends sample this brew. It has been met by rave reviews by all who have tried it.

I used dry yeast and went 2 weeks primary and 3 in secondary. The beer is killer. The hardest part will be making this batch last until Thanksgiving - good thing I've got other brews lined up! (Posted on 10/8/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 165 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register