Smashing Pumpkin Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U0130
Rating
150 Review(s)
Autumn, and a homebrewer's thoughts turn to capturing the sensory experience of the season ... crisp nights, colorful leaves, and ripe gourds being turned into pie. We're often asked for pumpkin beer recipes at this time of year, and it's easy to understand why: sipping this spiced amber ale is like drinking a slice of pie. Smashing Pumpkin Ale is clean and sweetly malty with just enough hop bitterness to balance and no hop aroma to mask the spices. A dose at the shutdown of the boil imbues the beer with a complex, lingering spice profile full of nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger that persists from the pour to the last swish in the pint glass.

If you want to incorporate actual vegetables in this pumpkin beer recipe, you'll need to purchase an additional 2 or 3 pounds of Rahr 6-row (#G002) and provide your own 8 to 10 pound pumpkin (winter squash like butternut or acorn will work if pumpkin is out of season). Cut up the gourd, discard the innards, and roast or microwave the pieces until soft and cooked through, then peel. Mash the peeled, cooked pumpkin flesh with the 6-row and the included grains at 152°F for 1 hour before sparging and proceeding with the boil.

Smashing Pumpkin Ale Recipe - Ingredient List & Instructions

Smashing Pumpkin Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 150 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 15
Surprisingly great beer! Review by Scott
Rating
This was my first attempt at a pumpkin ale. I did a mini-mash with a few cans of pumpkin and some extra malt. I did not add any extra spices. Strong ferment - definitely needed a blow off tube!. Racked to secondary and bottled. A few weeks later (we missed Thanksgiving, but it was ready for Christmas), it was gone! People were fighting over the last few bottles at my Christmas party! (Posted on 2/25/14)
Awesome beer Review by steven
Rating
Second time I have brewed this beer. I added 3 cans of pumpkin the last 10 minutes of the boil. 2 weeks in Primary and 3 weeks in the secondary. For two of the 3 weeks in the secondary I added french oak chips and 2 vanilla beans. (Posted on 2/17/14)
Awesome Review by Justin
Rating
Brewed this a couple of months ago with 2 cans of pumpkin. Turned out very full and smooth. Just finished the keg last night. Will definitely brew this again. (Posted on 1/29/14)
Brilliant with fresh pumpkin Review by Jared
Rating
I made this with ten pounds of roasted pie pumpkin and the extra grain in the recipe. The sweet pumpkin character is perfectly balanced by the extra kick from the 6.4% alcohol. If you prefer a sitter character, double pitch to jack up the alcohol even higher. (Posted on 1/25/14)
Very nice Review by Ruckus99ss
Rating
I am a fan of pumpkin beer and despite being the end of the season I decided to make this as my first brew. Very happy with the results and taste. I did add a hint more cinnamon, clove, and nutmeg since I love the "pumpkin spice" mixture. My dogs even loved the peanut butter dog bones I made with the specialty grains. (Posted on 1/14/14)
One of my best seasonals Review by Darrin
Rating
I couldn't keep this beer away from anyone. I may have a couple bottles stashed somewhere. This beer is malty and mildly spicy. I added 2 cans of organic pumpkin(that I roasted) to the mash. The beer is rich, dark and the slightest shade of orange, a definite crowd pleaser. I will have to do a double batch next year for the season. (Posted on 1/9/14)
Good brew Review by Ryan
Rating
This is my first review...about 13 batches in...every one of my northern brewer batches have been descent. But I've noticed one thing, the longer you let them sit in the bottles the better. Tonight, I drank one of my "smashing Pumpkin Ales" (I tweaked the recipe a bit by adding a little more cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice and canned pumpkin)..and I gotta tell you...this became a quality beer. I planned it so it would be ready by Halloween...and when I tried it..it was descent. But now, almost new years eve now...tried another one and it's no lie one of the best pumpkins I've had. Patience is a virtue...especially with home brew is the lesson I've learned from this. (Posted on 12/29/13)
Fantastic brew Review by Colin
Rating
I brewed the smashing pumpkin ale to be ready just after Halloween and it was a huge hit. i added some real pumpkins for the extra flavor with no regrets. wonderful color and nice. aroma of pumpkin. flavor was spicy without overwhelming the pumpkin or grains. definitly will brew again (Posted on 12/28/13)
Fantastic Review by Michael
Rating
This NB Pumpkin Spice ale beats all store-bought pumpkin ales hands down. My friend drank some and loves it. He wants more, but I need to keep a few to have on hand through the winter months. I will probably brew this at least twice each year, if not more often, Great job, NB! (Posted on 12/25/13)
Great Brew Review by Kevin
Rating
Easy to brew and tastes great. Definitely will brew again. (Posted on 12/16/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 150 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 15

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register