Smashing Pumpkin Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U0130
Rating
170 Review(s)
Autumn, and a homebrewer's thoughts turn to capturing the sensory experience of the season ... crisp nights, colorful leaves, and ripe gourds being turned into pie. We're often asked for pumpkin beer recipes at this time of year, and it's easy to understand why: sipping this spiced amber ale is like drinking a slice of pie. Smashing Pumpkin Ale is clean and sweetly malty with just enough hop bitterness to balance and no hop aroma to mask the spices. A dose at the shutdown of the boil imbues the beer with a complex, lingering spice profile full of nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger that persists from the pour to the last swish in the pint glass.

If you want to incorporate actual vegetables in this pumpkin beer recipe, you'll need to purchase an additional 2 or 3 pounds of Rahr 6-row (#G002) and provide your own 8 to 10 pound pumpkin (winter squash like butternut or acorn will work if pumpkin is out of season). Cut up the gourd, discard the innards, and roast or microwave the pieces until soft and cooked through, then peel. Mash the peeled, cooked pumpkin flesh with the 6-row and the included grains at 152°F for 1 hour before sparging and proceeding with the boil.

Smashing Pumpkin Ale Recipe - Ingredient List & Instructions

Smashing Pumpkin Ale Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 170 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17
Excellent Kit! Review by Eric
Rating
This is the first beer kit I've ever brewed and the results were incredible! I decided to switch from brewing hard cider to beer and it is one of the best choices I've made in regard to homebrewing. I followed the instructions to the letter and added one large can of pumpkin filling per the video link. The results were two bottled cases of Smashing Pumpkin Ale that completely disappeared during the Christmas Holiday. Thanks! (Posted on 2/8/15)
Everyone Enjoys this beer Review by Ken
Rating
I am not a pumpkin fan but all that try this love it. This was my second brew ever done and will brew again next fall. Highly recommend. (Posted on 1/22/15)
Perfect blend of spices Review by Brandon
Rating
I followed the instructions for this kit exactly. Didn't want to add any extra spices because I thought it would turn our overpowering.

Brought this to Thanksgiving with my family and it was a huge hit! It had the perfect blend of spices for my taste, I might make another batch next fall! (Posted on 1/10/15)
Good but recommend adding ingredients Review by Dustin
Rating
I added the extra grains and pumpkin as mentioned in the recipe, but I wish I had added more spices too. Overall a good kit. (Posted on 1/9/15)
Awesome Review by Adam
Rating
I went the mini-mash route with 2 cans of pumpkin and 2lb of 2-row. This one came out phenomenal. I've never been much of a pumpkin ale fan because all the ones that I've had tasted like carbonated pumpkin syrup. But I brewed this one for the fiance and it has changed my mind. Up-front the flavor is very malty and rich. At the end, there's a light spice/pumpkin-pie flavor that's spot on for me. Color is a beautiful dark copper hue. I would highly recommend this one. (Posted on 1/5/15)
Nice Holiday Brew outstanding CS BY curtis Review by Chuck
Rating
Had an issue, in the packing there was a slit in the extract bottle and it leaked out throughout the interior of my box. It also contaminated my Stout order. I called NB
Spoke to Curtis in Customer Service, next day both were shipped, no fuss no hassle. This gentleman is a pro's pro. Thanks for a job well done.
All my holiday guests liked the results, a definite for next year (Posted on 12/15/14)
3.5? 4? Review by Steve
Rating
This one is very hard to rate. Like a favorite suit that just doesn't fit quite right. Brewed on 7/31/14 and is my 20th batch. Roasted 2-20oz cans of pumkin and added to the boil in a paint strainer bag. I also took the advise of adding 2lbs of Rahr 6-Row with the specialty grains and added another tsp of spices at the end of the boil. OG was 1.066 and fermented in the primary for 2 weeks. Put this in a secondary so I could free up a primary. Let it sit for three weeks, FG at 1.014, and bottled. At this time the taste was mediciny, tart, and spicy on the end. Now, it is pumkin spice spicy, is undercarbonated, but does have a wonderful clear orange-ish color to it. Compared to other pumkin ales I think it stands up to them, I guess I'm just not a pumkin ale guy. Glad I tried it, enjoy drinking it, probably won't do again. Never say never though! (Posted on 11/16/14)
Great Brew Review by William
Rating
Great Fall brew. I added 3 lbs of no preservative pumpkin, doubled the pumpkin pie spice, and 3 lbs of 6-row. I covered the pumkin with brown sugar and roasted at 350 for about an hour. Steeped the specialty grains, pumpkin and 6-row for about 25 minutes at 155-165. Beer has a great mouth feel and an ABV of 8.5. Great Halloween brew! (Posted on 11/13/14)
Best Pumpkin Ale Review by James
Rating
Like many others, I tried a bunch of pumpkin ales from various breweries with mixed thoughts. I wanted to do a seasonal beer for the family, and since this one got such good reviews, I had to try it.

I modded the recipe a bit - I spread 3 15oz cans of organic pumpkin on a sheet pan, sprinkled 2tsp of pumpkin pie seasoning on top, and baked for around 35-40 minutes. I then mashed with 2 lbs of 6-row (158* for an hour). I followed the recipe instructions after this point.

Primary - 1wk
Secondary - 3wks
Kegged/force carbed.

This is, by far, the best pumpkin beer I've every had. Nothing that I purchased from the store comes close. I haven't had anyone say anything bad about this one - I've even converted a couple people that thought pumpkin beers were gross. Get this kit. Nuff' said. (Posted on 11/6/14)
Good Until I Ruined It Review by Justin
Rating
Well I had a great time brewing this and did a mini mash with a 29oz can of pumpkin and 2lbs of 6 row. Good aroma and flavor going to primary and the sample when I transferred to secondary was really good but then I made the mistake of thinking I should add cinnamon. I added a couple of small cinnamon sticks into secondary and wow...my pumpkin beer turned into cinnamon beer. Pretty unfortunate because it's pretty overwhelming and hard to drink. My fiancé says she likes it but she might just be saying that. I would like to try brewing this again but definitely without the cinnamon!

OG was 1.064 and FG was 1.013 for an ABV of 6.7% so even if it isn't to my liking, it will still do the job. Still giving it five stars because up until the cinnamon it was really tasty. (Posted on 11/4/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 170 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 17

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register