Blichmann AutoSparge

SKU: 40618
Rating
22 Review(s)

Finally a sparging system that's a "set-it-and-forget-it" design! This elegantly simple sparge mechanism automatically sets the hot liquor flow rate and liquid level in your mash / lauter tun. As you change the sparge rate into your boil kettle, the AutoSparge™ automatically responds by increasing or decreasing your hot liquor flow to compensate and keeps a constant level in your tun. Awesome for RIMS systems!

Works great with gravity systems OR with pumps! Wort gently rotates on top of grain bed to reduce channeling, oxygen pick-up, and to increase extraction efficiency. WIth a constant hot liquor level over your grain bed, complicated rotating sparge arms are unnecessary complications!

Valve body and float ball with rod are 100% stainless steel. Includes 18" silicone hose and stainless hose float. Requires a 13/16 mounting hole. Threads accept a 1/2" female NPT fitting.

Fits any pot larger than 12" in diameter including converted kegs. Adaptable to coolers.

Availability: Out of stock

Blichmann AutoSparge

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 22 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
I love it, others may not. Review by Daniel
Rating
While I totally understand the perspective of the negative reviews for the Autosparge, I have had nothing but good experiences after twenty plus batches using it. For a fly-sparge setup it is exactly what I needed to implement a low-maintenance system for controlling the flow from my HLT without constantly monitoring the valve. It has allowed me to focus on other things like runoff SG, kettle volume, and pH instead of constantly worrying about under/over-filling the mashtun. Thanks for a great design, Blichmann. I wish I could afford more than just your accessories, but you still rock. (Posted on 11/6/14)
works great! Review by SpotTab
Rating
I use mine for gravity-fed sparge water and it works like a champ. I can leave my RIMS system unattended for 40 minutes during sparge, and it’s foolproof. My only quibble is the same as Ken’s (4 posts below): the threads are 1/2" straight, not NPT as advertised. John was helpful when I emailed him about this, but I think it would be a better unit with tapered threads that would work with any old NPT fitting. Fortunately, I have access to a machine shop at work so I just zipped mine through an NPT die to correct the problem. Otherwise, a great product and much better than trying to adapt a toilet float valve to a brewing application. (Posted on 12/7/12)
Do not use with a pump Review by fxbghokie
Rating
I could not restrict the pump flow enough to keep liquid from blowing past the shutoff valve. It might work better gravity fed. Blichmann should make that clear in the description. I own several Blichmann products and this is the only one I do not recommend. (Posted on 6/20/12)
Shaft too short!! Review by DonPippins
Rating
Brewing 13 gallons in a Blichmann 20 gallon pot last week end. The autosparge was connected into the pot near the rim and the rod was much too short to reach the grain bed and still float. Looking for a longer rod !!!
If you're brewing less than 15gal in a 20 gallon pot you'll have to find a longer rod too ! Or find some other way to adjust the height where it is installed ??!! (Posted on 4/26/12)
Second time was a charm Review by Jeremy @ Geaux Brewing
Rating
After talking with Blichmann Engineering when we first purchased this and not getting the results we wanted, we returned it. Decided to give it another try and buy it again to use on our last brew session and it worked darn near flawlessly. Even using a March 809 HS at wide open, there was very little leakage.

While I used to hold the same opinion of some of the negative reviews here, I can now say that the AutoSparge has found a permanent place in our brew rig. (Posted on 4/21/12)
Love it Review by Ken
Rating
I have done many batches and it works just great. Creating a nice slow whirlpool about the bed. I use a March pump and a tee and ball valve before the AutoSparge valve. The ball valve to cut down pressure/flow to Autosparge which stops the valve leakage. Then the other port of the tee is a return line to the HLT. Keeps water in the continuously flowing return loop hot as the flow into mash is low. I maintain about 1" of water above bed. Keeps a perfect level. Another trick is the AutoSparge threads are 1/2" straight and not normal tapered pipe threads. Use the Blichmann quick connects which have matching threads and you get more turns on the AutoSparge then just a few turns using a tapered fitting. (Posted on 3/2/12)
Clarification on operation Review by Blichmann Engineering
Rating
Hello all. John here from Blichmann Engineering. It is normal for some wort to leak out the end of the unit during operation. The clearance is intentional and no rubber seals are used to prevent the piston from sticking from wort and grain particles. This wort just drains onto the top of the mash bed so is not an issue. It will still fully shut off and control flow as needed as the float rises.

If you have an earlier model with seals in them simply remove them and any sticking issues should be resolved.

If you are still experiencing sticking this is not normal. Please contact us at feedback@blichmannengineering.com and we'll work with you to get it resolved. (Posted on 12/15/11)
Worked good the first 8 uses, then failed & broke Review by CrudeBrewCrew David
Rating
I love the idea of it, & the first 8 times I used it... it worked great! Unfortunately, it broke & is now missing internal parts (which probably got thrown out in the last spent grain mash) and now just freely flows out water... I think the idea is there, but needs more work! (Posted on 11/30/11)
DO NOT BUY THIS! Review by Brian
Rating
This is a complete waste of money, the valve sticks after a few times and it leaked. I rebuilt it but continued to have probelems. It never worked as described. A complete waste of time and money. (Posted on 9/1/11)
Poor engineering. Review by Charlie
In theory this is a great idea. I tried to use this on my system to recirculate as well as sparging, but on my first attempt at using it, it leaked out of the front where the shaft moves in and out to control the flow more than out of the hose. I'm glad I put a ball valve in front of it so I could control the flow manually. I'm heading down to Home Depot tomorrow to look for a toilet float and valve to replace this with. Man I'm am so disappointed with Blichmann Engineering. (Posted on 9/1/11)

Items 1 to 10 of 22 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register