Blichmann AutoSparge

SKU: 40618
Rating
21 Review(s)

Finally a sparging system that's a "set-it-and-forget-it" design! This elegantly simple sparge mechanism automatically sets the hot liquor flow rate and liquid level in your mash / lauter tun. As you change the sparge rate into your boil kettle, the AutoSparge™ automatically responds by increasing or decreasing your hot liquor flow to compensate and keeps a constant level in your tun. Awesome for RIMS systems!

Works great with gravity systems OR with pumps! Wort gently rotates on top of grain bed to reduce channeling, oxygen pick-up, and to increase extraction efficiency. WIth a constant hot liquor level over your grain bed, complicated rotating sparge arms are unnecessary complications!

Valve body and float ball with rod are 100% stainless steel. Includes 18" silicone hose and stainless hose float. Requires a 13/16 mounting hole. Threads accept a 1/2" female NPT fitting.

Fits any pot larger than 12" in diameter including converted kegs. Adaptable to coolers.

Availability: Out of stock

Blichmann AutoSparge

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 21 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Doesn't work for me Review by rick
Rating
I tried this during 5 brew sessions as RIMS and for sparging. Used a March pump rated max 5psi. It spews liquid around the valve and air enters when valve opens/closes or when pump output reduced. Pump loses its prime and lots of time wasted regaining temps and stopping sparge to reprime. Nothing auto about this thing. I have returned mine. (Posted on 5/6/11)
works better if gravity fed Review by dad'slackey
Rating
I have used this product for 25 batches - until this last batch I used a March pump to supply water and had to mess with the darn thing during the sparge - For this last batch, I removed the pump from the equation and it worked exactly like I had always wanted. I have not had a single issue with a sticking valve. I would like to be able to set the float level a little lower, maybe now with a gravity fed syatem, I'll be able to do that. It sure does take ALOT of the hassle out of sparging (Posted on 2/4/11)
Works well the first two batches...but then. Review by Thomas Dobson
Rating
Works well initially but then begin to stick. Save your money. Balance the flow in and flow out manually. (Posted on 1/30/11)
Great Product Review by Jeremy
Rating
This piece of equipment quickly won me over after using it for the first time. I can't say I wasn't a little puzzled about he it was supposed to work until I actually had it in my hands. It has been love ever since. Fly sparging has never been so easy. (Posted on 1/4/11)
Don't even use the float feature Review by Cam
Rating
I've had the autospare and have brewed more than 10 batches of beer using this piece of equipment. I have never had a problem with the valve sticking, but I always found it a burden to set the float. I would want it to maintain level about 2 inches above the grain bed, so I would always try to set it towards the end of my first runnings. I found that very frustrating, so now I just keep the lid on my pot to maintain the heat inside and set my sparge rate using the outlet valve of my HLT. I have found this to be much easier, so I don't even use the float feature. I don't think I would purchase this product again if given the choice. (Posted on 12/29/10)
Set it and forget it. Review by Matthew
Rating
I've used this since I started AG brewing. I get consistent efficiency results every time making sparging one of my easiest tasks while brewing.

I measure out how much sparge water I need and the AutoSparge primarily acts to not overflow my mash tun, maintaining 2-3 inches above the grain bed until my hot liquor tun is empty.

When done cleaning I dry it and give the piston chamber a few blasts of compressed air to dry. This seems to prevent any corrosion or piston action issues for me.

Don’t think I would sparge without it!
(Posted on 11/9/10)
Total Waste of Money Review by Brian
Rating
The system worked in a lmited way initially but eventually started leaking so much I had to buy a gasket kit. That didn't work and I have thrown it into the corner. If you want to try this, buy one from someone who bought it and doesn't use it. A total waste of money. Poorly constructed and bad engineering. (Posted on 10/30/10)
Great for one or two brew days Review by Beerman
Rating
When first used, this is pretty accurate and resourceful compared to what is available. However, after a few brew sessions, the piston begins to cease during sparging, which leads to less than accurate sparging or a dry grain bed...great concept, horrible construction. It's a horrible investment and doesn't function properly consistently. Save your money! (Posted on 9/16/10)
Works Great Review by david
This has made the process so much easier. My auto sparge is new and I have only used it twice. However, both times it did its job, automate the sparge and let me sit back without worrying about matching the water flow between the Mash Tun and the Boiler.

My only issues are that you must preset the heigth of the arm above the grain bed. Otherwise, you'll struggle to adjust it at 170 degrees during the sparge, which is painful. Also, if your grain bed is too low due to a deep mash tun, it doesn't work. The solution is to purchase a longer "float arm" online at a plumming supply store. Check with Northern Brewer to see if they carry it. I didn't see one, but you never know unless you ask.

Cool tool,
David Lester
Maltose Falcons (Posted on 9/5/10)
Works well initially but.... Review by NeuroJoe
Rating
Even after cleaning the mash/lautertun thoroughly after each batch, the piston and cylinder inside the brass valve oxidizes, which prevents the piston from moving smoothly. So even if the float wants to rise and shut off the flow of water from your hot liquor tank, the sticking piston prevents this and water continues to fill the mash/lautertun. (Posted on 7/30/10)

Items 11 to 20 of 21 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register