Black IPA All-Grain Kit

SKU: U0164
Rating
46 Review(s)
Your inner cynic says: "Wait, wait ... isn't this just an Imperial Stout?" Well, let's answer your inner cynic's question with another question: "Isn't a Dunkelweizen just a darker, maltier Hefeweizen?" The answer is both yes and no. There you go, inner cynic. Incubated in West Coast craft breweries and brewpubs (the same folks who brought you American Pale Ale, American Amber Ale, and Imperial IPA – they weren't always established styles, either!), these hefty concoctions throw all pretense at subtlety right out the window. An ebony pint with a beige head is surrounded by an aromatic citrus-and-pine force field, backed by a smooth roastiness redolent of cocoa and French roast coffee. Full-bodied, hop-bitter, and boozy, this beer is compelling enough to both fuel and quash the argument of its stylistic integrity, and it goes great with a blue-cheese stuffed sirloin burger or steak. Recommended: 2-stage fermentation and yeast starter.

Black IPA All-Grain Beer Recipe Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 46 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Excellent! Review by christopher
Rating
My best beer to date by far.. did this recipe BIAB, got an OG of 1.084, FG 1.014, calculated that to be 9.2% abv! You would never know that considering how easy it goes down. Aromas of hops and roasted malts, taste follows with a nice dry bitter finish. This keg will not last long at all. This is the 2nd best black ipa i have ever tasted, second to stone 15th anniversary. That's pretty awesome considering i made this in my backyard! (Posted on 8/28/14)
Easily one of the Best! Review by Andy
Rating
I brewed this recipe earlier this year and loved it. It strikes a surprising balance between the hop bitterness and the roasted notes of the Carafa III and the Chocolate Malt. When I brewed it, I had never tried a commercial Black IPA. Now, having tried several, I actually like this one better!

I can't wait to brew it again. I'll probably increase the dry hops, but otherwise, it is good as is. (Posted on 12/17/13)
Dark and mild-hop Review by Keith
Rating
Easy to brew, I feared it was going to be way hoppie but it turned out really smooth. (Posted on 12/6/13)
Very bright hop flavor Review by eagle83
Rating
This was exactly what I was hoping for. I get a very bright pine flavor from the chinook in mine with a little bit of roasted malt mixed in. The chinook definitely took center stage though.

I ordered an extra oz of chinook, and may make a small hop tea if the flavor starts to fade. Right now it's perfect though! (Posted on 12/3/13)
Great BIPA but looking for more hops Review by Tom
Rating
I'm a hophead, plain and simple. The base of this recipe seems to be excellent but I was surprised to see only a single ounce of dry hopping. Once I tasted the finished beer, I was impressed but also left wanting a bit more hops in the aroma to push it over the top. So I kicked in three more ounces (1 each of Citra, Amarillo and Simcoe) and that did the trick for me. The malt bill is great, with just a hint of roastiness that I like in a Black IPA. It's nothing like a stout, of course; rather, just a hint of roast from the Carafa. (Posted on 11/27/13)
Fan Favorite!! Review by David
Rating
This is an awesome beer! I usually keep 3 different kegs, and this one always goes quick. Like crossing the darkness of a stout with a hoppy IPA. One of my favorites. (Posted on 11/8/13)
A great product Review by Fairsir
Rating
This is one of the most requested brews that my friends ask for. This is a solid ipa built with a body to fill you up in the cooler months as well. A must try for any ipa enthusiast. Also if you want to shake it up a bit, play around with the dry hopping. You can get some incredible flavors! (Posted on 11/4/13)
Fantastic kit! Review by Joshua
Rating
This beer is still in the primary but fermentation was fast and intense. The smell was incredible and I can't wait to try this hop bomb. OG was 1.072. (Posted on 10/20/13)
Big Beer, smooth and hoppy Review by Bob
Rating
Great IPA, well balanced. Farly new to all grain, great kit, clean and long finish. I had to open one after only 6 days in the bottle, still a little flat, but excellent flavor. Well be great by thanksgiving, if there is any left. This will be on the list for a revisit! Suggest using the spent grains for bread, it makes great dinner rolls. (Posted on 10/13/13)
Exceptional Brew Review by Jeremy
Rating
I originally brewed the extract version and was smitten but having switched to all-grain I decided to brew it again to compare. This has a well balanced, roasty and bitter profile with great hop aroma and character. It is the best of the dark and hoppy worlds, making it tough to keep in the keg. A must brew for anyone who loves BIPA/CDAs. (Posted on 8/25/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 46 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register