Fermcap-S 1 oz.

SKU: 9152
Rating
25 Review(s)

An anti-foam agent that can be used during fermentation to eliminate messy blowoff. As soon as fermentation is over, this insoluble compound settles out and remains behind when the beer is racked. It will not affect the finished beers flavor, appearance or head retention. Can also be added during the boil to reduce the risk of boilovers. Use a few drops per gallon for boil, or two drops per gallon for fermentation. Comes in a one ounce eyedropper bottle. Keep refrigerated until use.

9152

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 25 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Just Works Review by Chris Graham
Rating
It seems like almost every component of the homebrew process has its pros and cons, but with this stuff there's no downside so I would recommend it to any homebrewer of any level without hesitation. During the boil it makes boil-over a non-concern, so you can get your ingredients in efficiently without having to worry about cleaning burnt wort off your burners afterwards. If you make a yeast starter (which you probably should be doing), you can make a big starter that barely fits in your flask and not have to worry about it making a mess on your counter. And once you've got everything in the fermenter, you can have your yeast be as fast and active as you want and not have to deal with a blowoff tube. All of that from just a few drops of this stuff, and by the time you serve the finished beer it will have settled out with the yeast and other particulates. Overall it helps you avoid some of the most annoying and common ways that brewing can get messy with no effort at all, so that you can focus on making tasty beer and having fun doing it. (Posted on 6/16/14)
Works Great Review by Matthew
Rating
Works great for reducing the possibility of a boil over!! (Posted on 12/16/13)
Awesome Product Review by Roger
Rating
I was getting sick of boil overs of wort and this product eliminated them. It also made it much easier to make my yeast starter on the stove. No more boil overs there as well! (Posted on 11/23/13)
Never brew without it Review by Dane
Rating
I first tried adding this stuff to the primary fermentor with a rising krausen an inch from the airlock. I left to find the blowoff tube, and came back two minutes later. The foam was already down to a dense 5/8" layer and it never rose again. Awesome stuff. I'll never brew without it again. (Posted on 9/28/13)
great for lessening blowoff in fermentation Review by PhilipCT
Rating
Added a few drops to fermenter post-chill. This was the first time I was able to run the aeration pump and stone for 30 minutes without stopping to let the fom subside, so this was a great result.

After, I had a really active fermentation, but I believe the Fermcap kept the krausen from going too crazy and travelling up the blowoff tube, as has happened to me the last few brews.

Checked my SG after 2 weeks of fermentation and we're down to 1.002 (not a typo!). So, I'd say the Wyeast Saison Yeast 3711 was unaffected by the Fermcap, which had been my only concern.
(Posted on 9/12/13)
Awesome Review by GetFunky
Rating
1st time user, it prevent boil over at hot break, and saved me a lot of clean up time. Well worth the price and effort. (Posted on 9/9/13)
It works! Review by Nick
Rating
I can't believe it took so long for me to use this, knocks heat break right down to help prevent boil overs. (Posted on 7/12/13)
Incredible stuff Review by Kevin
Rating
I use it in my starters, at the hot break and before primary fermentation. Zero boil-overs and no more need for a blow-off tube. I will always keep this on hand.

Thanks for the great recommendation from the MSP store staff! (Posted on 4/27/13)
Amazing..absolutely amazing! Review by Ian
Rating
I'm brewing a 5.5 gallon ESB as I type this. It's behind me, with my back to the kettle and I'm three minutes into the boil. I have an 8 gallon kettle, and collected 7.25 gallons of runnings. Yep, that means I"m at a full boil with 7.25 gallons, .75 gallons to spare and I'm not even watching it.

Absolutely amazing! Neither I, nor Northern Brewer endorse the stupidity I'm displaying at this moment - but wow this is amazing stuff! (Posted on 2/11/13)
Works as advertised Review by OPJohn
Rating
Fantastic product. I use 1 drop per gallon during the hot break and an additional drop per gallon just after pitching the yeast. Even on monster high gravity beers with aggressive yeast strains, it's kept the krausen of my beers at or below 1" in my primary fermenters. Kiss your blow off tubes goodbye. (Posted on 12/23/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 25 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register