Fermcap-S 1 oz.

SKU: 9152
Rating
28 Review(s)

An anti-foam agent that can be used during fermentation to eliminate messy blowoff. As soon as fermentation is over, this insoluble compound settles out and remains behind when the beer is racked. It will not affect the finished beers flavor, appearance or head retention. Can also be added during the boil to reduce the risk of boilovers. Use a few drops per gallon for boil, or two drops per gallon for fermentation. Comes in a one ounce eyedropper bottle. Keep refrigerated until use.

9152

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 28 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
I never brew without this stuff! Review by Matt
Rating
I was very skeptical when I first bought my little bottle of Fermcap but holy cow does it work! No more boil-overs, no more blowoff; even when using a well-developed yeast starter, a few drops of this stuff and your blowoff worries are over. Helps when it comes time to clean your carboys too, there's a LOT less gunk to clean off your primary. (Posted on 10/27/14)
i would not brew with out this Review by jon doe
Rating
This stuff is awesome no fear of boilovers and no geysers blasting out of my carboys i have used this with all most all of my twenty plus brews and it is a steal for the time and trouble it saves . That being said there is only one thing that concerns me is i open the bottle twice for every brew and a bad batch gave me the fear of contamination and that was one of the few thoughts that crossed my mind luckily it was not that. just use caution in the handling of this and you should be fine (Posted on 8/28/14)
It saves marriages!!! Review by Andy
Rating
I travel for work almost constantly. So, after the third blow off my wife cleaned up because I was out of town, she kindly "suggested" I start using this stuff.

I use it on every beer I brew now and it works wonders...oh, and I'm still married, so I have that going for me, which is nice? (Posted on 8/11/14)
Just Works Review by Chris Graham
Rating
It seems like almost every component of the homebrew process has its pros and cons, but with this stuff there's no downside so I would recommend it to any homebrewer of any level without hesitation. During the boil it makes boil-over a non-concern, so you can get your ingredients in efficiently without having to worry about cleaning burnt wort off your burners afterwards. If you make a yeast starter (which you probably should be doing), you can make a big starter that barely fits in your flask and not have to worry about it making a mess on your counter. And once you've got everything in the fermenter, you can have your yeast be as fast and active as you want and not have to deal with a blowoff tube. All of that from just a few drops of this stuff, and by the time you serve the finished beer it will have settled out with the yeast and other particulates. Overall it helps you avoid some of the most annoying and common ways that brewing can get messy with no effort at all, so that you can focus on making tasty beer and having fun doing it. (Posted on 6/16/14)
Works Great Review by Matthew
Rating
Works great for reducing the possibility of a boil over!! (Posted on 12/16/13)
Awesome Product Review by Roger
Rating
I was getting sick of boil overs of wort and this product eliminated them. It also made it much easier to make my yeast starter on the stove. No more boil overs there as well! (Posted on 11/23/13)
Never brew without it Review by Dane
Rating
I first tried adding this stuff to the primary fermentor with a rising krausen an inch from the airlock. I left to find the blowoff tube, and came back two minutes later. The foam was already down to a dense 5/8" layer and it never rose again. Awesome stuff. I'll never brew without it again. (Posted on 9/28/13)
great for lessening blowoff in fermentation Review by PhilipCT
Rating
Added a few drops to fermenter post-chill. This was the first time I was able to run the aeration pump and stone for 30 minutes without stopping to let the fom subside, so this was a great result.

After, I had a really active fermentation, but I believe the Fermcap kept the krausen from going too crazy and travelling up the blowoff tube, as has happened to me the last few brews.

Checked my SG after 2 weeks of fermentation and we're down to 1.002 (not a typo!). So, I'd say the Wyeast Saison Yeast 3711 was unaffected by the Fermcap, which had been my only concern.
(Posted on 9/12/13)
Awesome Review by GetFunky
Rating
1st time user, it prevent boil over at hot break, and saved me a lot of clean up time. Well worth the price and effort. (Posted on 9/9/13)
It works! Review by Nick
Rating
I can't believe it took so long for me to use this, knocks heat break right down to help prevent boil overs. (Posted on 7/12/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 28 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register