Carmelite Triple-Grain Tripel Partial Mash

SKU: U0380
Rating
25 Review(s)
A monastic ale that wears the agrarian roots of the brewing arts on its sleeve: three grains from northern European fields, an ancient yeast, a gift of flowers from the hop vine. Oats and wheat support a body built up by malted barley and undercut by sugar for “digestibility” (a more elegant term than the co-opted “drinkability”... thanks, InBev). The alchemy of yeast, hops, temperature, and time yields beguiling aromas and flavors of tropical fruit, earth, herbs, malt, alcohol, and wild honey. Burnished gold with a tight white glass-coating lacework.. Before you uncork your first bottle of this ponderous 8% abv sipper, we'd like to remind you that beer is food – treat your Triple-Grain Tripel accordingly and have it for dinner with some artisanal blue cheese or butter-basted roast chicken.

Pic of U0380

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 25 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Best Trippel Yet Review by Al
Rating
This is a keeper- brewed in Dec 2013, two weeks in primary, 2 months in secondary. Put in keg about 3 weeks ago and it is really becoming a great beer. Very fuity and light for the amount of alcohol present. Used the dry yeast Safebrew T58 and turned out excellent. Would recomment it. Nice taste and body feel. Will bottle and age some of this one to see how it turns out in a year! Highly recommend. (Posted on 2/20/14)
Very smooth tripel Review by piercho
Rating
I pitched over 400 billion of the recommended Ardennes and my final gravity was 1.01. Bottled result after one week is mildly estery, mildly spicey, with notable smoothness from the oatmeal. You'll need a bottling yeast for this one unless you keg. I expect to brew this one every summer when temps are suitable for the Ardennes, on par with the very best Tripels, highly recommended. (Posted on 1/31/14)
Great beer! Review by Andrew
Rating
Great overall beer, kit came with everything needed except I used a 1L yeast starter to help with assure the 8% ABV is attained. Will definitely buy again! (Posted on 1/20/14)
The best recipe NB has to offer Review by Benoit
Rating
Full taste on the palate and very long in complex fruity flavors. Full body develops after 12 weeks bottle conditioning, still a perfect score after 1 year in bottles. (Posted on 12/24/13)
"She's sexy and smooth....and leaves you wanting her more." Review by PhillyMac
Rating
I don't know why I've only done this beer once. I've converted wine drinkers into lovers of beer with this recipe. Let her sit in the secondary for over 2 months, waiting patiently but when she arrived she was the hit of the party. I guess I've stayed away because our first encounter was so magical...didn't see how I could improve on that. Ended up naming her "Carmen Jones" as an ode to Harry Belafonte'. I will capture her elusive beauty again. Of that, I have no doubt. (Posted on 11/16/13)
Simply Excellent Review by Paul
Rating
I agree with all the positive reviews here, and I very rarely give anything 5 stars. Complex and malty, "alcoholly" yet kind of light at the same time. Spices, floral, honey, vanilla tastes. So good. I fermented for 4 weeks, followed by secondary for 7, and then transferred to a keg and carbonated. It was excellent right away. I can't wait to see if it gets even better with a bit of age. (Posted on 9/8/13)
Still Aging Review by Alex
Rating
Beer is currently on its second week of aging, don't know how I will wait 2 more months. Starting gravity was a little low. I think it is because there was so much grain in the bag. (Posted on 8/8/13)
My first partial mash. Could not be happier! Review by Mark
Rating
Just followed the instructions as best that I could. Hit the expected OG on the head. I did ferment in the primary for 3 weeks as fermentation was not over after 2. This beer is everything that I wanted: opulent with quite an alcohol kick! Going fast, so I must reorder. (Posted on 3/23/13)
Best beer I ever brewed Review by JohnZZ
Rating
This is a fantastic tripel - better than any commercial brand that I have purchased. It gets better and better as the months go by (i.e., let it age beyond the recommendations!). It is Northern Brewer's best recipe, and I have tried a lot. (Posted on 12/29/12)
Rich and Delicious! Review by Lance
Rating
OG was 1.088 and FG was 1.006 at 10.75% alcohol. Talk about a winter warmer..this Triple is so complex and rich, that i cant believe I brewed it! I've been drinking the best triples (according to BA) lately in-order to prepare for cracking open this Carmelite and found that this is much more complex. I started fermenting it at higher temps like 73deg for 3 weeks and moved it to 67deg for the rest of the 4 month process. I returned to NB to buy another strong Belgian because this one will go fast. Dammmm Good! (Posted on 11/2/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 25 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register