Wyeast 1945 NB NeoBritannia

SKU: Y1945
Rating
29 Review(s)
This traditional English ale strain works well for a wide range of beer styles, from low-gravity bitters and milds to strong stouts, porters, and old ales. Due to the cells’ chain-forming characteristics, it is an excellent top-cropping yeast. Moderate ester profile makes it a great match for hop-driven beers like bitter and pale ale, but attenuative enough to handle higher-gravity malty styles. Excellent flocculation yields clear beer and allows for cask-conditioning. Ferment at the lower end of the temperature range for a cleaner finish, or utilize the upper end to enhance low-gravity beers with a more assertive ester profile. Apparent attenuation: 72-77%. Flocculation: medium-high. Optimum temp: 66°-74° F.

Availability: Out of stock

Wyeast 1945 NB Neobritannia Yeast

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 29 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Neo FTW! Review by ChuckD76
Rating
Nice yeast that, as others have stated, is good for more than just English ales.
Have used it for stouts, porters, IPA's, bitters and American pales. Anytime you need a little bit of estery goodness to give a beer just a little something extra. (Posted on 1/29/14)
Excellent flavor and flocculation Review by Zeb
Rating
I've used this twice on the same Robust Porter recipe, and both times the yeast has done a great job of cleanly fermenting and making a good, compact yeast trub. The yeast is an aggressive fermentor, so plan headspace accordingly. Great yeast that I will use again. (Posted on 1/11/14)
Great for english brew Review by Stephen
Rating
Good clean fermenter, useful for ESBs and the like. (Posted on 1/7/14)
Great yeast Review by David
Rating
Good strong activity, no off flavors. I have used this several times with no problems

(Posted on 12/26/13)
fast Review by matthew
Rating
This yeast rocks, its a go to yeast for any ale that has bready character. I use it often with maris otter, it is a good yeast for hoppy beers as well (Posted on 12/25/13)
Superb every time Review by Robert
Rating
I am a mid-experienced brewer with enough knowledge to know that I "do not know it all" but I surely have experienced enough brewing yeasts to understand that each yeast strain has its own unique characteristics. This 1945 is a perfect middle-of-the-road yeast which can do it all. I love the mild flavor, its heavily productive but not explosive early ferment, its settling out, and its superb reliability as long as the brewer treats it properly; ease up on the reins you fellow brewers and let this 1945 take you on the brewing journey you so dream about! (Posted on 11/19/13)
Good when you don't have the time Review by Tyler
Rating
First time wyeast user here. Also coincidentally the first time I've ordered from northern brewer. I like how this makes it easy to make some "starter" for the wort. Yes a bit pricier but worth it IMHO. I started it the night before brew day and slept with it to keep it warm. Weird? Nope I love beer so I'll sleep with my yeast thank you very much. Seems to be handling my 1.062 OG wort so far. I'd keep the wort around 70 degrees to keep everything going. Mines around 66-68 and it seems a bit sluggish. Will buy wyeast again. (Posted on 11/11/13)
My British Go To Review by Tate
Rating
I use this in everything from little Bitters to Big Gnarly Barley Wines. It chews through all that you feed it and churns out a solid product. I have noticed that I have to raise my mash temps on the lower gravity ales to keep the body but it is a small price to pay for the flavor. (Posted on 10/28/13)
Super Yeast Review by Larry
Rating
I recently brewed an oatmeal stout and a sweet stout using this yeast. I had two of the most vigorous fermentatioins I have ever had. These two beers came out great and will use it again. (Posted on 10/12/13)
Not just for English ales! Review by Brad
Rating
Used this for NB's sweet stout, as a starter for NB's Barley Wine, and both were excellent. Now it's time for some more Barley Wine, and I've been using this yeast for a few brews leading up to it. So far I've finished NB's Speckled Heifer and Honey Wheat, and both have turned out great. Love the body and taste profile in both.

Overall a great yeast, could easily make the short list of house yeast strains, and not only for lovers of English ales. (Posted on 8/11/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 29 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register