Wyeast 1945 NB NeoBritannia

SKU: Y1945
Rating
29 Review(s)
This traditional English ale strain works well for a wide range of beer styles, from low-gravity bitters and milds to strong stouts, porters, and old ales. Due to the cells’ chain-forming characteristics, it is an excellent top-cropping yeast. Moderate ester profile makes it a great match for hop-driven beers like bitter and pale ale, but attenuative enough to handle higher-gravity malty styles. Excellent flocculation yields clear beer and allows for cask-conditioning. Ferment at the lower end of the temperature range for a cleaner finish, or utilize the upper end to enhance low-gravity beers with a more assertive ester profile. Apparent attenuation: 72-77%. Flocculation: medium-high. Optimum temp: 66°-74° F.

Availability: Out of stock

Wyeast 1945 NB Neobritannia Yeast

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 29 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
i would like to have tried this! Review by steve c
Rating
i heard this is a good yeast for Nut Brown Ale. i did not get to try this mine came dead :( . i ordered this friday befor the 4th of july , since the 4th was on a thursday it sat in 100 degree + weather tell the following monday july 8th. even tryed a starter and no luck.. thank the beer Gods i had a Safale S-04 on hand.
The yeast being dead was not my fault nor Northern Brewer's fault. this stuff just happens sometimes. N.B. Customer Service was just awsome in takeing care of the problem!

Thanks again N.B. staff! (Posted on 7/27/13)
Won't use anything else. Review by tim
Rating
Have used this yeast on imperial stouts, british strong ales, a holiday ale, and my last 3 nut browns. Wyeast 1945 has allowed me to consistently brew one tastey beer after another. Thanks Northern Brewer !! (Posted on 12/30/12)
Work horse Review by Knox
Rating
Just bottled my oatmeal cookie brown, flat and out of the primary it tastes better than any beer I've made yet. Really pleasant esters, great nutty flavor, 10 days in the primary with NO off flavors. My beer went from 1.068 to 1.011, yet still has a full creamy body. I will use this yeast for all my British ales from now on. Tastes and performs better than any yeast I've tried in 7 years of brewing. (Posted on 12/7/12)
Four Comparisons Review by Axton Brewing
Rating
We have used the NeoBrittania yeast four times where we split the batch, half getting one yeast half the other yeast.

Test 1
In a British Mild (IBU 13, OG 1.036) v London Ale 1028. The Neo was definitely the better choice.

Test 2
In a British Best Bitter (IBU 35, OG 1.045) v Whitbread Ale 1099. The Neo has a slightly sweeter start and a nice smooth, bitter finish.

Test 3
In an English ESB (IBU 44, OG 1.052) v Bedford British WLP Platinum. The Neo had a nice bitter flavor, the Bedford was a little chalkly.

Test 4
In an English IPA (IBU 53, OG 1.054) v Bedford British WLP Platinum. At this level of bitterness the chalkly flavor of the Bedford was our preference. The Neo was noticeably more bitter.

We will definitely use this yeast again. (Posted on 4/28/12)
So so Review by Wade
Rating
Not particularly impressed. Maybe just not my style of yeast. Different results with different batches . I will probably try again to see if it was anything I did. (Posted on 1/29/12)
Good to reuse for a variety of styles Review by GeneralSpecific
Rating
Great yeast.
I brewed a low gravity Bitter with it and then harvested the yeast to reuse. I was able to wake it up 6 months later and make a great beer!

I have made a British Bitter, Irish Stout, Nut Brown, and Mild Ale with this same batch of yeast and they have all turned out well.

It is easy to top crop. The krausen seems to stick around forever.

One batch got too hot, about 80, but the beer still turned out with a clean flavor-after I cooled it down and let it age a little.

I am going to see how long I can keep using this yeast! (Posted on 1/27/12)
Nice 1056 substitute Review by dukemartini
Rating
I recently brewed the Robust Porter recipe in Brewing classic styles but subbed the 1945 for the 1056 the recipe called for with great results. All the attenuation plus a nice "Britishy" yeast flavor contribution. So good I brewed the same recipe again but bottled so I could store some away. Can't wait to try it in another recipe. (Posted on 1/15/12)
Extremely vigorous fermentation Review by MattN
Rating
I do like the ales this yeast produces, but I generally stick to making Browns with it. Fermentation is so vigorous I almost always have to use the blowoff tube with it. Despite that, it makes a fantastic English Brown Ale. Just have the blowoff tube ready!!! (Posted on 11/20/11)
Weak Body Review by AmandaK
Rating
I used this with the NB Oatmeal Stout kit. Flavors are great, but the body is greatly lacking. I mashed at 153* and it stopped at 1.014, but it is still remarkably thin. Probably will not be using this again. (Posted on 11/10/11)
Great Yeast! Review by larry
I just used this yeast to brew a mild. The yeast started quick and was not extremely vigorous. Beer settled out quickly and there were absolutely no off flavors.

I will be using this yeast whenever I can. (Posted on 8/28/11)

Items 11 to 20 of 29 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register