Wyeast 1945 NB NeoBritannia

SKU: Y1945
Rating
29 Review(s)
This traditional English ale strain works well for a wide range of beer styles, from low-gravity bitters and milds to strong stouts, porters, and old ales. Due to the cells’ chain-forming characteristics, it is an excellent top-cropping yeast. Moderate ester profile makes it a great match for hop-driven beers like bitter and pale ale, but attenuative enough to handle higher-gravity malty styles. Excellent flocculation yields clear beer and allows for cask-conditioning. Ferment at the lower end of the temperature range for a cleaner finish, or utilize the upper end to enhance low-gravity beers with a more assertive ester profile. Apparent attenuation: 72-77%. Flocculation: medium-high. Optimum temp: 66°-74° F.

Wyeast 1945 NB Neobritannia Yeast

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 29 of 29 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Really good stuff Review by Tim
Rating
Brewed a blond ale with 1945 and am very happy with my new brew. This yeast is a great all - around ale yeast. Gotta try it in my next nut brown . (Posted on 7/16/11)
Not as good as some other Wyeast British Ales Review by John
Rating
Thinner in body than 1028 and 1099 Wyeast strains. Okay, but not my favorite. (Posted on 6/7/11)
Great stuff ! Review by Tim
Rating
Used 1945 in my Imperial bourbon barrel stout ( 8.3 abv.) , and my English strong ale ( 7.7 abv. ) , and am very impressed on the flavor development of them so far. Ferments very cleanly. Will be using this yeast in other batches as well !! (Posted on 5/21/11)
Great! Review by Joey
Rating
Love it, used it in a chocolate stout and a nut brown and it's done great both times. Getting geared up to brew two more chocolate stouts and a nut brown because of this year. (Posted on 4/6/11)
I Like It! Review by MATT
Rating
I brewed a basic bitter. It fermented at 66 for almost 3 weeks and then it dropped clear. Had a thick krausen for the entire time. It's a pretty clean flavor with a hint of esters. I will use it again. (Posted on 12/24/10)
Quickly Clear Beer Review by elkook
Rating
Like ShrimpCreole I brew mild quite often. I am a big fan of 1275 Thames Valley.

That being said, I will be using the 1945 for my milds from here on out. The brew was spot on at 3.5 weeks from brewday. The taste is very similar to, if not better than my batches with 1275 - AND it's already crystal clear with only Irish moss in the kettle.

FWIW, the ferment was a rather consistent 68°F, and I keg with serving temps around 43°-45°F.

I will be brewing a nut brown with 1945 next and hope that I can report the same satisfaction.

Cheers on the yeast NB! (Posted on 12/9/10)
Verry dissappointing Review by ShrimpCreole
Rating
Agree with Jbug in that it was very strong but REALLY did not like the results. Used it in both a bitter and mild. I brew both frequently and it produced the worst tasting batch of both brews. I love NB's kits, think the customer service is suberb but man, do I dislike this yeast. Sorry guys! (Posted on 11/13/10)
Interesting! Review by ormus
This yeast keeps on fermenting. I made a 1.070 porter and a 1.043 English bitter and both fermented very well, the porter down below 1.015, and the bitter is still fermenting at 1.010. (Posted on 10/4/10)
A+++ Review by Jbug
Rating
Great yeast! Very strong, working well with the pale ale I'm fermenting now! (Posted on 9/4/10)

Items 21 to 29 of 29 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register