Midnight Beatdown Wheaten Porter Partial Mash Kit

SKU: U0410
Rating
49 Review(s)
The diabolically luxurious companion beer to T-Can and Bearcat's Wheaten Beatdown is a robust porter that conceals a barbed wire-wrapped fist under soft and sexy velvet. Its chocolate malted milkshake flavors, ultra-dense mouthfeel, silky texture, and even its moonless-night-sky color are the result of lots and lots of wheat, malted and flaked and roasted. So you're thinking: "hey, this is really, really easy to drink!" But sneaking up from behind while you're distracted is the 6.3% abv and a citrus-kissed blackjack of hop bitterness: this is the Bond villainess of porters.

Pic of U0410

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 49 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
My best brew yet Review by Thad
Rating
I've brewed about 16-18 beers so far and would have to say that this is my best yet. I love porters and I've recently become a hop head so I especially love that this beer offers the rich smoothness of a porter with a little hoppiness at the end. This makes for a year 'round porter that is just as good in the summer as it is in the winter. Great recipe...will probably brew this one twice a year. (Posted on 6/12/14)
You can't lose with this one. Review by Scott
Rating
I confess that I didn't brew this one to recipe - I messed with the hop schedule - but this is one awesome recipe that I will be brewing again (converting to all-grain). I took it to share with my homebrew club and every single member commented on how great it was. (Posted on 2/17/14)
Amazing Kit That Does Not Dissapoint Review by Madison
Rating
I have been brewing for a few year now and have had a lot of successes but this beer came out above the rest. Nice thick head with a delicious richness. A must brew for porter fans! (Posted on 12/27/13)
Wonderful Review by Ray
Rating
This was my third attempt at partial mash brewing, and I finally felt confident with my result, hitting the mash temp on the dot and using a warm oven to hold it. One week in primary, 1 month in secondary. I tried one two weeks after bottling and it was absolutely flat. Swirled the bottles and stored at 70 degrees for another 2 weeks and then it easily produced a nice head. The taste was everything I hoped it would be: smooth and complex. After another 2 weeks the taste mellowed out even further. It is the type of beer that can be enjoyed slowly with the flavor enhanced by its warming, much like a big stout. Just the thing to have on hand as the cooler weather hits. I have a sense that it will continue to improve with age and expect it to be a big hit at the Holidays. (Posted on 11/9/13)
Worth the time, every time Review by Squankdog
Rating
The amazing thing about this porter is that while it has a substantial mouthfeel and a respectable ABV, it is smoooooooooth--a real pleasure to drink. As others have noted, don't rush this one. I brew this one in late Aug/early Sept to have ready for Christmas. It is worth the wait, a great cold-weather brew.
Beware of the smoothness, this one will sneak up on you. (Posted on 9/25/13)
Holy $#!+ Review by Aaron
Rating
This is DELICIOUS!!! Not much more to say, great mouth feel, great flavor, will be ordering this one again!!! (Posted on 7/16/13)
Balanced Review by Scott
Rating
I don't often give anything top reviews, but this is an outstanding beer! 10 days primary, 14 secondary, 3 weeks in bottle. Full mouthfeel, but not heavy - sweet and malty, with a bitter hop bite at the finish. Great balance. I've always loved porters, Founders especially, and have'nt found one in a kit I liked to make............. till now. (Posted on 2/27/13)
Truly awesome! Review by slcdawg
Rating
This is the latest NB brew I have on tap. It is undoubtably my favorite batch so far - after about a dozen. It is a hearty porter, almost a stout. Chocolately and smooth. If you like porters like Deschutes Black Butte, you'll dig this. (Posted on 2/12/13)
creamy and delicious Review by josh
Rating
This beer just hit 7 weeks, and it just keeps getting better! I let it ferment for 3 weeks (s-05), then kegged it. Great head, fantastic hoppy smell. Damn good. This was my first partial mash and it was too easy. Order it! (Posted on 12/28/12)
Best PM on Nothernbrewer.com Review by Jay
Rating
I've made a number of the Partial Mash kits from Northernbrewer and this one is by far my favorite.

Nice complex flavor. My keg of it lasted all of 2 weeks before it got kicked. (Posted on 10/27/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 49 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register