Midnight Beatdown Wheaten Porter Partial Mash Kit

SKU: U0410
Rating
50 Review(s)
The diabolically luxurious companion beer to T-Can and Bearcat's Wheaten Beatdown is a robust porter that conceals a barbed wire-wrapped fist under soft and sexy velvet. Its chocolate malted milkshake flavors, ultra-dense mouthfeel, silky texture, and even its moonless-night-sky color are the result of lots and lots of wheat, malted and flaked and roasted. So you're thinking: "hey, this is really, really easy to drink!" But sneaking up from behind while you're distracted is the 6.3% abv and a citrus-kissed blackjack of hop bitterness: this is the Bond villainess of porters.

Pic of U0410

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 50 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Amazing Review by Matt
Rating
This was my first attempt at a partial mash kit so I was a bit nervous about it. It wasn't as scary as I was leading myself to believe. I did the partial mash on my stove and with a little bit of tweaking managed to keep the temp right in the recommended range. I have since learned that keeping the pot in the oven and letting it get up to 150 twice over the course of the hour mash works even better than fiddling with the stovetop.

This beer reminds me very much of a black IPA which is one of my favorite styles of beer but it has very nice deep flavor behind the hoppy bite. In short this is one of my favorite beers I have made from NB and I will definitely be making it again. (Posted on 12/1/14)
My best brew yet Review by Thad
Rating
I've brewed about 16-18 beers so far and would have to say that this is my best yet. I love porters and I've recently become a hop head so I especially love that this beer offers the rich smoothness of a porter with a little hoppiness at the end. This makes for a year 'round porter that is just as good in the summer as it is in the winter. Great recipe...will probably brew this one twice a year. (Posted on 6/12/14)
You can't lose with this one. Review by Scott
Rating
I confess that I didn't brew this one to recipe - I messed with the hop schedule - but this is one awesome recipe that I will be brewing again (converting to all-grain). I took it to share with my homebrew club and every single member commented on how great it was. (Posted on 2/17/14)
Amazing Kit That Does Not Dissapoint Review by Madison
Rating
I have been brewing for a few year now and have had a lot of successes but this beer came out above the rest. Nice thick head with a delicious richness. A must brew for porter fans! (Posted on 12/27/13)
Wonderful Review by Ray
Rating
This was my third attempt at partial mash brewing, and I finally felt confident with my result, hitting the mash temp on the dot and using a warm oven to hold it. One week in primary, 1 month in secondary. I tried one two weeks after bottling and it was absolutely flat. Swirled the bottles and stored at 70 degrees for another 2 weeks and then it easily produced a nice head. The taste was everything I hoped it would be: smooth and complex. After another 2 weeks the taste mellowed out even further. It is the type of beer that can be enjoyed slowly with the flavor enhanced by its warming, much like a big stout. Just the thing to have on hand as the cooler weather hits. I have a sense that it will continue to improve with age and expect it to be a big hit at the Holidays. (Posted on 11/9/13)
Worth the time, every time Review by Squankdog
Rating
The amazing thing about this porter is that while it has a substantial mouthfeel and a respectable ABV, it is smoooooooooth--a real pleasure to drink. As others have noted, don't rush this one. I brew this one in late Aug/early Sept to have ready for Christmas. It is worth the wait, a great cold-weather brew.
Beware of the smoothness, this one will sneak up on you. (Posted on 9/25/13)
Holy $#!+ Review by Aaron
Rating
This is DELICIOUS!!! Not much more to say, great mouth feel, great flavor, will be ordering this one again!!! (Posted on 7/16/13)
Balanced Review by Scott
Rating
I don't often give anything top reviews, but this is an outstanding beer! 10 days primary, 14 secondary, 3 weeks in bottle. Full mouthfeel, but not heavy - sweet and malty, with a bitter hop bite at the finish. Great balance. I've always loved porters, Founders especially, and have'nt found one in a kit I liked to make............. till now. (Posted on 2/27/13)
Truly awesome! Review by slcdawg
Rating
This is the latest NB brew I have on tap. It is undoubtably my favorite batch so far - after about a dozen. It is a hearty porter, almost a stout. Chocolately and smooth. If you like porters like Deschutes Black Butte, you'll dig this. (Posted on 2/12/13)
creamy and delicious Review by josh
Rating
This beer just hit 7 weeks, and it just keeps getting better! I let it ferment for 3 weeks (s-05), then kegged it. Great head, fantastic hoppy smell. Damn good. This was my first partial mash and it was too easy. Order it! (Posted on 12/28/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 50 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register