Surly Furious Pro Series All Grain Beer Recipe Kit

SKU: U0493
Rating
12 Review(s)
A tempest on the tongue, or a moment of pure hop bliss? Brewed with a dazzling blend of American hops and Scottish malt, this crimson-hued ale delivers waves of citrus, pine and caramel-toffee. For those who favor flavor, Furious has the hop-fire your taste buds have been screeching for. Note: The absolutely insane 8.5 oz of dry hops (not to mention the 4.5 oz of boil addition hops) make the hop aroma of this beer off the charts. Simcoe, Amarillo, Warrior, and Ahtanum combine to make a pine-y citrus whirlwind that can be detected a few feet away from the glass. You may wish to purchase some Muslin Mesh grain/hop Bags or Fine Mesh Hop Straining bags to contain the massive load of dry hops.

A note on yeast: Surly uses White Labs WLP007 Dry English Ale; with Surly's blessing, we suggest Wyeast 1335 as the default option so customers (especially mail order customers) can more easily evaluate viability before brewing.

Recommended: 2-stage fermentation and yeast starter.

Availability: Out of stock

0490

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Amazing! Review by Kevin
Rating
I brewed this and one other kit as my first transitions over to all-grain brewing. I couldn't be happier with the results from this. The aroma you get as it pours out of the tap into the glass is enough to make any hop-head happy and the taste is smooth and amazingly well-balanced for something with such a hoppy aroma. Will definitely be brewing this one again. (Posted on 2/14/13)
reeeeeeeediculous Review by David
Rating
I just ordered this again 2 minutes ago. Fantastic.

(Posted on 9/21/12)
Furious clone competition Review by Steven P
Rating
I used the NB kit for our club Furious clone comp and came in 1st place for best IPA.

There was another entry that came closer to the canned version in the judges opinion regarding color and hop punch and won for closest clone. I belive it may have been filled from a keg instead of bottle conditioned for a month like mine was.

One note, dropping a half pound of hops into secondary for dry-hopping will stain a bucket green. I recommend a keg if you can swing it.

Regardless, this kit nails Furious on the head and I give it 5 +++ stars. (Posted on 8/30/12)
Had to Piece it together but... Mmmmm Mmmm Good Review by Chuck
Rating
Ok so I have finally sampled from my keg the Furious Clone that I had to piece together from 3 different Brew Shops, but it was well worth the wait. I like the way that when I pour it out there is an immediate blast of hops. the bite in the taste is not as BIG as I expected but VERY Drinkable I will brew it again.
Thanks again (Posted on 3/29/12)
Very Good Review by Marty
Rating
One piece of advice *Use hop bags*, look they put it in the kit description for a reason.

You'll lose a lot of wort if you don't. I even clogged my keg's bev out tube. (Posted on 2/24/12)
Awesome brew Review by sk
Rating
I love the factory version of Surely Furious and have to say this brew is darn close. I think the factory version has just a touch more malt characteristic, but maybe that was just an inefficient mash on my part. Either way, it still is an amazing beer that I will brew again. I had a party last weekend and this beer was the favorite among everyone there. (Posted on 6/21/11)
Awesome Review by Poonix
Rating
Really Matthew? The kit does actually say what's in it at the store.

I brewed it a month and change ago, and on a whim submitted it to the Wisconsin State Fair home brew competition. Ended up taking first place in IPA. It's that good. The beer is amazing when you have a good head on it, keeps the hop aroma around and brightens it up. (Posted on 5/26/11)
Excellent Furious Recipe Review by Piper
Rating
I've brewed multiple all grain furious "clones" and while all have been great, I would say this one is EXCELLENT! Thank you Surly and Northern Brewer for putting this one together! (Posted on 4/19/11)
Best Northern Brewer Kit Yet! Review by Mike
Rating
I've brewed many all-grain kits from Northern Brewer. I have to say that this is by far the best one. Really a great IPA. Awesome flavor and hop aroma, with a perfectly balanced alcohol content. I will definitely brew this one again. (Posted on 4/14/11)
Awwesome brew! Review by Frank
Rating
This was my first all grain batch as well. I have been looking for an IPA that has a nice malt characteristic like this beer. The amount of dry hops you add to this brew is insane! You will have to dry hop it in a wide mouth bucket since you will be putting 8.5 ozs of hops in it. I also reccomend you buy a muslin bag to hold all the hops. I would get a couple so they have plenty of room to expand. Another tip I may add is cold crashing. I would try and cold crash this beer a couple of days before you transfer to your keg. It really helped clarify the beer and the hops settled to the bottom.

Beer is done and starting to condition. A little grassy flavored but its mellowing out for sure. I fermented this brew for 2 weeks, dry hopped for 10 days, and kegged for one week. (Posted on 4/13/11)

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register